We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have travaled a lot and out of all my hotels this is my best one the breakfast hade everything u could think of the design of the place was very nice and peacefull another good thing was the staff was very nice with my son they used to give him popcorn all the time I am very happy that I went and I will love to go again they should turn it into a 5 star thank you estin

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank King786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear King786

Thank you for your very kind review of the Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya & for giving us your vote of confidence .

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our extensive breakfast spread . I am equally delighted that your son had a regular supply of our freshly made popcorn .

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to another stay at our hotel soon.

Warm Regards

Jane Suppiah
General Manager
Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    287
    124
    17
    15
See reviews for
91
88
52
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was my 2nd stay, last time I landed there because of my bad experieince at the hotel I booked and this time I booked at my will. Will be precise in evaluating.

Faced 2 issues: 1st morning the hot water wast availabe to have shower, reported it and things were rectified by next day. The Room safe was not functional, was too lazy to report so dint and thus cant comment on housekeeping attentivness.

Good - Fantastic Room, Spacious Hotel, Nice Breakfast, Acceptable Staff, Nice WI-FI, Multi linguial front desk staff

Can be better - Sitting Space in the lobby

Not up to the mark - Gym Facility, very small, no trainer/attendent, just has 2 treadmill (one working and one out of order), a bench and few dumbells (not even a multi gym) and a gym ball

Looking at the price, it seems to be the a good value for money though. A thumbs up for me.

Room Tip: Higher floor the better as the hptel is surrounded by high rise buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BDPharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear BDPharma

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel & bring to my attention the issues you faced .

On a positive note , I am happy you found our room "fantastic " & the hotel "spacious" with nice WIFI. All guestrooms come inclusive of complimentary WIFI.

I am sorry about the hot water issue and evnethough it was fixed the next day , it should have been identified & rectified before you checked in . Our housekeeping staff have been alerted to be extra thorough in their room checks which should have also picked out the dysfunctional room safe.

My sincere apologies for both of the above inconveniences .

With regards to your comment on the gym , I am pleased to advise that plans are in the offing to renovate & relocate our gym to an alternative, larger location on the 3rd floor (close to the tennis courts & overlooking the pool) . The gym should be completed over the next 3 months . Hotel guests can also look forward to new & an expanded range of gym equipment.

I sincerely hope you will visit the Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya soon to experience the changes that have been made with regards to the gym.

Warm Regards

Jane Suppiah
General Manager
Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

On 17th Apr, at your reception I was asked whether to deposit a sum amount in order for me consume the room's mini bar (Is this still a business hotel?). I said no as I assumed I would not consume, but if to consume then only paid upon checking out. The moment I entered the room, the room service knocked my door and asked permission to 'remove' all the mini bar items with a big plastic bag. I get insulted in a business hotel like this. I called the guest service with couple of attempts as no one was picking up the phone, to address my concern, just with apologies but no understanding to ask whether the minibar should be refilled, apparently the pre-paid RM150 mini bar consumption policy can't be breached, regardless the guest's feeling, you got to pay before consume. I told the guest service, it's an insult to a business traveler on such policy and the removal practice when guest was in the room. No reaction or rather untrained guest service to confirm with me again whether the mini-bar needs to be refilled. My credit card particular was with you, even my identity. This is a terrible incident I never experienced and hard to believe it occurs in your hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean_LeeKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Sean_LeeKS

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel .

As a procedure all guests who check in are asked to place a MYR 150 deposit to cover any incidental charges (which may include mini bar charges , room service/restaurant bills , telepehone calls ) . In the event no deposit is placed, then the mini -bar is cleared to avoid any inconvenience to guest that might arise if bills are disputed on check-out and all other transacttions are on a cash basis..

The incidental charge deposit is a standard practice in most if not all hotels be it business or leisure .

If this information was not clearly explained to you , please do accept my sincere apologies . Our Front Office team has been alerted to this & will ensure that messages are being conveyed in a clear & precise manner to guests at check in . Please rest assured it was not our intention to insult you .

I have also alerted the front desk to ensure that telephone calls are being picked up promptly .

Once again , please accept my sincere apologies & I hope you will return to stay with the Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya .

Warm Regards

Jane Suppiah
General Manager
Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed at the Eastin Petaling Jaya on the 4th weekend of March 2013, while on a business trip to Kuala Lumpur. It was the same weekend which has two major events in KL: the F1 race at Sepang and the Malaysia Open golf tournament. The room situation was tight so my colleagues and I were lucky to get accommodation at a fairly reasonable rate.

The hotel is located outside KL city centre but suited us as we were moving in the Petaling Jaya area. Check in was efficient, the room was spacious, comfortable bed, wifi was reliable and fast.

I had lunch and one breakfast at the hotel's coffee house. Quality of food was above average. The gym was tiny and basic. I'd decided to go out and jog at the residential neighbourhood behind the hotel (the area is known as Section 16). What surprises me was that the hotel's Concierge did not have a local neighbourhood map. I asked for one before the jog just so I can find my way back to the hotel but was disappointed that it was not available.

Check out was smooth and overall the stay was pleasant.

I would recommend Eastin PJ, provided your movement is in the PJ area. If you need to be in KLCC most of the time then it will be more convenient to stay in the city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for room that faces the residential area of Section 16. They are quieter. I enjoyed the views in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Jelapang

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel .

I am delighted you found the hotel to be to your satisfaction. I would like to let you know that plans are in the offing to renovate & relocate our gym to an alternative, larger location on the 3rd floor (close to the tennis courts & overlooking the pool) . The gym should be completed over the next 3 months . Hotel guests can also look forward to new & an expanded range of gym equipment.

We do have a map showing our location in relation to access to and from the main highways & other landmarks located in the viscinity of the hotel . Your comments with regards to the location map for the neighbourhood is a point we will defintely look into .

I hope I will have pleasure of meeting & welcoming to the Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya soon .

Warm Regards

Jane Suppiah
General Manager
Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

A comfortable stay, neat rooms. But this might also be because it’s one of the newer hotels in PJ. Otherwise, extremely inept staff. While the language difference is pervasive in Malaysia, I don’t attribute their extremely offhandish attitude to people’s request, to that. They would nod when you tell them ‘strictly vegetarian’ and still offer up ‘ham and bacon’. A vegetarian Mexican salad gets confused for Lettuce and crisps, steaming hot water gets confused for water without ice. A one-time can be condoned, but over and over again deserves severe rebuke. Internet is erratic. Difficult to reach concierge, room service or housekeeping without trying many times. It stands tall, amongst other few buildings, overlooking the highway. There’s little green or little else, in terms of options to eat and see, that it can offer. Internet is erratic, but that's a common problem, with other hotels such as the Royal Bintang, the Curve. Overall can be missed, in favour of some other more hospitable options around in Petaling Jaya.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuruchiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear SuruchiB

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us .

Please accept my sincere apologies for the attitude of the staff on duty . The lack in understanding your reqirements has been highlighted to both the heads of Food & Beverage & Kitchen for immediate action and improvement.

It is crucial that service levels are maintained at high standards and I would like to once again thank you for bringing this to my attention.

I sincerely hope you will give us another oportunity to be of service and stay at the Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya.

Warm Regards

Jane Suppiah
General Manager
Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya

A comfortable stay, neat rooms. But this might also be because it’s one of the newer hotels in PJ. Otherwise, extremely inept staff. While the language difference is pervasive in Malaysia, I don’t attribute their extremely offhandish attitude to people’s request, to that. They would nod when you tell them ‘strictly vegetarian’ and still offer up ‘ham and bacon’. A vegetarian Mexican salad gets confused for Lettuce and crisps, steaming hot water gets confused for water without ice. A one-time can be condoned, but over and over again deserves severe rebuke. Internet is erratic. Difficult to reach concierge, room service or housekeeping without trying many times. It stands tall, amongst other few buildings, overlooking the highway. There’s little green or little else, in terms of options to eat and see, that it can offer. Internet is erratic, but that's a common problem, with other hotels such as the Royal Bintang, the Curve. Overall can be missed, in favour of some other more hospitable options around in Petaling Jaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Eastin hotel is an amazing hotel..great hotel, great service, great food, though I would not call the Cappuccino a cappuccino due to its excessive foam but generally the food was good. Location is a bit off but easily accessible.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faeez1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Faeez1204

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel . I am delighted you think we are an "amazing Hotel".
I have taken note of your comments on the cappucinno & will pass it on to our Food & Beverage team .

We hope it won't be too long before your travels bring you back to the Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya.

Warm Regards

Jane Suppiah
General Manager
Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

It has a lobby that is not too large but presentable. The staff are friendly and committed, even went to the extent to knock at your door to wake you up when you fail to answer their morning call.Rooms are clean and spacious,with big plate of fruits to welcome us on arrival.Free wifi is available everywhere. Breakfast covers a very wide variety of food with quality.The only setback is that there is no shopping malls that are within walking distance.

Room Tip: High floor non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Lan1964

Thank you for your taking the time to review our hotel and for the positive feedback received with regards to the service provided by our team members .

With regards to shopping malls , the closest shopping malls are Tropicana Shopping Mall - & Bangsar Shopping Centre which are 3 minutes & 5 minutes drive away resepctively . Both destinations are serviced by our prescheduled shuttle service which leaves the hotel at regular intervals .

We hope you will return to stay with us in the very near future and look forward to being of service to you again .

Warm Regards

Jane Suppiah
General Manager
Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
2.4 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#4 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Petaling Jaya
Best Western Petaling Jaya
#11 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Qliq Damansara
Qliq Damansara
#8 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Royale Chulan Damansara
The Royale Chulan Damansara
#7 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 13 Jalan 16/11 | Pusat Dagang Seksyen 16, Petaling Jaya 46350, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#3 Best Value Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#4 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur hotel is a business class hotel of international standards. Situated strategically on Jalan Damansara, an upmarket location nestled conveniently within the vicinity of golf courses, shopping malls and office buildings, it is designed to suit your needs as a business or leisure travelers. Enjoy the warm Eastin hospitality and experience our passion for efficiency and service excellence. Catering to an array of travelers and corporations, we provide an unparalleled experience coupled with efficient services, amenities and facilities to fulfill the needs of our much valued guests. Our room is more than just 'deluxe,' it is a well designed, contemporary home with warmth, ultra modern facilities and glorious space to greet you. With a combination of warm hospitality, you also get a sense that you have reached the one place where business becomes a pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Fastbooking so you can book your Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastin Hotel Petaling Jaya
Doubletree Petaling Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing