We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and great location”
Review of Ryokan Chic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ryokan Chic Hotel
Ranked #7 of 46 Petaling Jaya B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
“Clean and great location”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was pressed for a place to stay quite late during the night (last minute plans) and remembered that I've read regarding Ryokan's night rates (special prices for 1am - 9am stay). Called the hotel and while it took a few calls to get an answer (I believe the receptionist was sleeping), we managed to get a room booked.

The room was clean and tastefully decorated. I like the smart idea of the raised floor for the bed on top and security box/shoes area underneath. The bed was firm so it might be an issue for people who like soft beds. The toilet was also bigger than I would have expected though the walls were all black and it felt quite dark.

All in all it was a good stay for a good price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachJay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicryokan, Owner at Ryokan Chic Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear RachJay9,

Thank you very much for spending some of your precious time in leaving us your feedback. We are honoured to have had the opportunity to host you in our chic hotel.

Firstly, please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused due to the delayed response by our front desk officer. We shall take the necessary action to ensure that this does not happen again.

We are pleased to hear that your stay in Ryokan was a comfortable one. We have also taken note of your feedback concerning the lighting in the toilet; and we shall endeavour to solve this issue in the near future.

Thank you once again for your time. We look forward to hosting you in our hotel again.

Yours,
The Ryokan Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    24
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
9
20
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuching
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I must say their design is great and contemporary. From lobby to the room was nice. For cleanliness, I would give them a 100%. Well done. Reception? A let down from the time I called for direction and check in. Perhaps it's the staff concerned. The male receptionist ( Indian man) was cold and unhelpful when posed with questions. Answers was an indication of 'please don't bother me'. However, the lady by the name of June was helpful.
Breakfast time: as usual another male staff was cold. It would be good if they have a menu at the breakfast counter so we know what is our deal. I saw some guest having instant noodles so I asked for one and got a reply they do not have. Maybe the guests brought their own.
Outside the hotel was dirty on the streets. Maybe the management should raise a concern with the municipality on the cleanliness of the streets as I don't see any shops using a bin.
Sleep? It was really noisy from early morning to about 9 p.m in the night as just opposite there is a construction on.
Overall maintenance of the hotel is superb.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicryokan, Owner at Ryokan Chic Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear wbasil,

Thank you very much for spending some of your precious time in leaving us your feedback. We are honoured to have had the opportunity to host you in our chic hotel.

Firstly, please accept our most sincere apologies for your unpleasant experience with the said receptionist. We constantly strive to provide all our clients with the best possible service, and we very much regret any inconveniences that this experience may have caused you.

As per most hotels, our breakfast menu changes every now and then in order to ensure that our customers are presented with various options every morning. We have clarified with the front desk officer on the matter regarding the instant noodle, and found that for that particular day, we were not serving instant noodles; and the one consumed by the guest was brought by themselves. However, we are constantly striving to improve our selections in order to provide our guests with a better experience; and we shall take into consideration your suggestion on displaying a menu at the breakfast counter.

With regards to the cleanliness issue outside of our hotel, rest assured that we do ensure that our employees keep the premise clean at all times; both in and around the hotel premises to give our guests a better experience; and we shall step up our efforts in this to make your next stay a chic experience.

Thank you once again for your time. We look forward to hosting you in our hotel again.

Yours,
The Ryokan Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandakan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I am loving this place. I went here for my work lastmonth. And now i am back and i am staying here. Though this is a tiny littlw hotel, simple, but i do love it. The most thing that i love is the breakfast! Simple menu but i am totally loving it. :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheenarashid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicryokan, Owner at Ryokan Chic Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear sheenarashid,

Thank you very much for spending some of your precious time in leaving us your feedback. We are honoured to have had the opportunity to host you in our chic hotel.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us; and it serves as an inspiration for us to strive and continue to provide the best that we possibly can in order to ensure that our guests enjoy a truly chic experience.

Thank you once again for your time. We look forward to hosting you in Ryokan again.

Yours,
The Ryokan Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great amenities and good variety of food nearby.

Traffic could be a headache during peak hours as the streets are narrow and traffic volume could be huge at times.

Could be a bit noisy during day time (back alley and construction site nearby) but it was alright for a good night sleep. Oh yes, back alley is an eyesore.

Simple breakfast is provided at the lobby and staff are nice and friendly.

Shower room was a major let down, fancy water heater but impractical in my view. Expect bare but smooth concrete floor and bring your own disposable sandals or else you will have to walk around room in your pair of dirty shoes.

Lastly, potential risk of privacy breach as there is a gap at the edge between the roller blind and window, room is not really well-lit in my view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casey9759949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicryokan, Owner at Ryokan Chic Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear casey9759949,

Thank you very much for spending some of your precious time in leaving us your feedback. We are honoured to have had the opportunity to host you in our chic hotel.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the massage jet showers as much as some of our other guests did. Our rationale in provide a massage jet shower is purely for our guests comfort; and to offer them a little extra bit of luxury. We have actually conducted a little research on the advantages of a massage jet shower; one of which is that it provides a therapeutic and relaxing experience due to the multiple jets sprayed at different angles at the desired force.

We have also compiled all your feedback on our hotel, and we shall endeavour to implement the necessary policies and strategies in order to provide you with a better sleeping experience.

Thank you once again for your time. We look forward to hosting you in Ryokan again.

Yours,
The Ryokan Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Very good enviroment, nice place and clean.. All staff here very friendly and nice to the customer.. U should visit ryokan and find out about this hotel by yourself.. Otherwise, ryokan damansara utama is very near to the shopping place like one utama shopping centre, tropicana shopping centre, ikea, tesco and etc..

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ayu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicryokan, Owner at Ryokan Chic Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Ayu A,

Thank you very much for spending some of your precious time in leaving us your feedback. We are honoured to have had the opportunity to host you in our chic hotel.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us; and it serves as an inspiration for us to strive and continue to provide the best that we possibly can in order to ensure that our guests enjoy a truly chic experience.

Thank you once again for your time. We look forward to hosting you in Ryokan again.

Yours,
The Ryokan Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you want to stay in PJ, this is a good place to stay. It is quite far from the city centre. New and modern. Most importantly, clean. The bed is a bit hard being on the wooden platform, though (it is personal taste). There are snack provided in the lobby. Free wifi. The breakfast is basic and we opted to have it somewhere else. There are plenty of restaurants nearby. It is very close to Utama shopping mall as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astronebula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicryokan, Owner at Ryokan Chic Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear astronebula,

Thank you very much for spending some of your precious time in leaving us your feedback. We are honoured to have had the opportunity to host you in our chic hotel.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us; and it serves as an inspiration for us to strive and continue to provide the best that we possibly can in order to ensure that our guests enjoy a truly chic experience.

Thank you once again for your time. We look forward to hosting you in Ryokan again.

Yours,
The Ryokan Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is fine if you're on a budget as it is a complete no frills hotel. Hotel is located in 1 Utama which is about 20 mins taxi ride to KL Sentral 30-40 mins from KLCC. Make sure you book a taxi from the hotel, picking up taxis from taxi stands or hailing taxis is fine but expect to find quite a variance in what you pay. Once you get to KL Sentral get a touch and go pass so you can get about the city via monorail, bus or train.

Room Tip: Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Travel to KL Sentral or KLCC to get around, not much to see in 1Utama.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
1.1 mi away
O'Boutique Suites
O'Boutique Suites
#14 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Hotel & Shortstay
Lighthouse Hotel & Shortstay
#15 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
14 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Petaling Jaya
Best Western Petaling Jaya
#11 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sovotel Boutique Hotel at Uptown 101
Sovotel Boutique Hotel at Uptown...
#16 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Somerset Damansara Uptown Petaling Jaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Chic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Chic Hotel

Property: Ryokan Chic Hotel
Address: 97-M, Jalan SS21/37, Damansara Utama, Petaling Jaya 47400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryokan Chic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ryokan Chic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing