We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving this place!”
Review of Ryokan Chic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ryokan Chic Hotel
Ranked #8 of 46 Petaling Jaya B&B and Inns
Sandakan, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loving this place!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I am loving this place. I went here for my work lastmonth. And now i am back and i am staying here. Though this is a tiny littlw hotel, simple, but i do love it. The most thing that i love is the breakfast! Simple menu but i am totally loving it. :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheenarashid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicryokan, Owner at Ryokan Chic Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear sheenarashid,

Thank you very much for spending some of your precious time in leaving us your feedback. We are honoured to have had the opportunity to host you in our chic hotel.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us; and it serves as an inspiration for us to strive and continue to provide the best that we possibly can in order to ensure that our guests enjoy a truly chic experience.

Thank you once again for your time. We look forward to hosting you in Ryokan again.

Yours,
The Ryokan Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    24
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
9
20
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great amenities and good variety of food nearby.

Traffic could be a headache during peak hours as the streets are narrow and traffic volume could be huge at times.

Could be a bit noisy during day time (back alley and construction site nearby) but it was alright for a good night sleep. Oh yes, back alley is an eyesore.

Simple breakfast is provided at the lobby and staff are nice and friendly.

Shower room was a major let down, fancy water heater but impractical in my view. Expect bare but smooth concrete floor and bring your own disposable sandals or else you will have to walk around room in your pair of dirty shoes.

Lastly, potential risk of privacy breach as there is a gap at the edge between the roller blind and window, room is not really well-lit in my view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casey9759949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicryokan, Owner at Ryokan Chic Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear casey9759949,

Thank you very much for spending some of your precious time in leaving us your feedback. We are honoured to have had the opportunity to host you in our chic hotel.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the massage jet showers as much as some of our other guests did. Our rationale in provide a massage jet shower is purely for our guests comfort; and to offer them a little extra bit of luxury. We have actually conducted a little research on the advantages of a massage jet shower; one of which is that it provides a therapeutic and relaxing experience due to the multiple jets sprayed at different angles at the desired force.

We have also compiled all your feedback on our hotel, and we shall endeavour to implement the necessary policies and strategies in order to provide you with a better sleeping experience.

Thank you once again for your time. We look forward to hosting you in Ryokan again.

Yours,
The Ryokan Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Very good enviroment, nice place and clean.. All staff here very friendly and nice to the customer.. U should visit ryokan and find out about this hotel by yourself.. Otherwise, ryokan damansara utama is very near to the shopping place like one utama shopping centre, tropicana shopping centre, ikea, tesco and etc..

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ayu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicryokan, Owner at Ryokan Chic Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Ayu A,

Thank you very much for spending some of your precious time in leaving us your feedback. We are honoured to have had the opportunity to host you in our chic hotel.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us; and it serves as an inspiration for us to strive and continue to provide the best that we possibly can in order to ensure that our guests enjoy a truly chic experience.

Thank you once again for your time. We look forward to hosting you in Ryokan again.

Yours,
The Ryokan Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you want to stay in PJ, this is a good place to stay. It is quite far from the city centre. New and modern. Most importantly, clean. The bed is a bit hard being on the wooden platform, though (it is personal taste). There are snack provided in the lobby. Free wifi. The breakfast is basic and we opted to have it somewhere else. There are plenty of restaurants nearby. It is very close to Utama shopping mall as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astronebula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicryokan, Owner at Ryokan Chic Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear astronebula,

Thank you very much for spending some of your precious time in leaving us your feedback. We are honoured to have had the opportunity to host you in our chic hotel.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us; and it serves as an inspiration for us to strive and continue to provide the best that we possibly can in order to ensure that our guests enjoy a truly chic experience.

Thank you once again for your time. We look forward to hosting you in Ryokan again.

Yours,
The Ryokan Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is fine if you're on a budget as it is a complete no frills hotel. Hotel is located in 1 Utama which is about 20 mins taxi ride to KL Sentral 30-40 mins from KLCC. Make sure you book a taxi from the hotel, picking up taxis from taxi stands or hailing taxis is fine but expect to find quite a variance in what you pay. Once you get to KL Sentral get a touch and go pass so you can get about the city via monorail, bus or train.

Room Tip: Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Travel to KL Sentral or KLCC to get around, not much to see in 1Utama.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Great location, easily accessible to all kinds of variety of food, helpful and friendly staffs around the place, clean and not smelly at all compared to others I've been like 'My Home'.
Only few things to improve. Better water pressure, safer car parks and maybe a additional mini fridge in rooms!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeptan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Had a wonderful night here. The design of the room is very practical and stylish. However, the water pressure is low at night and sound proofing needs improvement. I personally like the wooden platform that served as the bed frame and storage system. It's very useful and convenient. Unlike other hotels, I do not have to walk far away to get my belongings. I put them right beside me... But I do think that hair dryer should be provided.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eelyn610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
2.5 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,390 reviews
1.1 mi away
O'Boutique Suites
O'Boutique Suites
#16 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Hotel & Shortstay
Lighthouse Hotel & Shortstay
#17 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Petaling Jaya
Best Western Petaling Jaya
#11 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
215 reviews
1.0 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sovotel Boutique Hotel at Uptown 101
Sovotel Boutique Hotel at Uptown...
#14 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Chic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Chic Hotel

Property: Ryokan Chic Hotel
Address: 97-M, Jalan SS21/37, Damansara Utama, Petaling Jaya 47400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryokan Chic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ryokan Chic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing