We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good char siew and siew yoke”

My Toast N Roast TNR
Ranked #86 of 2,009 Restaurants in Petaling Jaya
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here with a friend who loves the above food and he loves it. Char siew is nicely roasted and glazed. Siew yoke has good balance of fats and meat. Would definitely visit again.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank KennyLCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 100 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2019 via mobile

On a Sunday lunchtime, the place was almost full so service was in the slow side. We had the “Premium” char siew and siew yoke (roast pork) rice. There were about 4 slices of siew yoke on the plate which was quite dry and barely crispy skin, disappointing. The char siew was better, tastier but a little fatty. Overall expensive for what you get.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank yss97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2019 via mobile

Must try: char siew
Should try: wanton mee (good noodle so-so wanton)
Should try: smoke chicken
Give it a try: roast pork
No need to try: fried shui gao

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank monochromepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2019

If you are a roast pork belly lover you would want to check out this place in petaling Jaya for its awesome roast pork belly and char siew (barbecue pork) .Its a crispy ,tender ........ok go check it out then you will know what you been missing

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank skyfuyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2019 via mobile

On Sunday, my girlfriends decided to have a sinful lunch as we since we are all working away from Msia. They heard review about this jamming eatery called Roast and Toast in Ss2.

So we all pack into cars and go to SS2. The place smelt strange. No worries there s another one in SS2 ( near Chow Yang)

So again we pack into our cars and drive there. By now we are all hungry and waiting to tear into the much talked about Char Siew, Siew Yoke n Hakka noodles.

Alas getting some attention was difficult but understandable as they were busy. Finally the food arrived. No Siew Yoke, again okay as it's Sunday and they were busy.

Now for the final verdict on food. The rice was gorgeous, soft grainy aromatic and had the right taste of how chicken rice is suppose to be. However, Char Siew was disappointing, tau geh tasteless, sui kow had a porky taste that we just couldnt stomach, fish roll just plain sad.

The question that lingers is "Have we forgotten what good food is all about?" Are we all about new fad wonders. We jazz up a place and serve mediocre food and punters flock to it. Have we lost our standards? Or am I just fussy?

Personally I feel Seng Kee in Damansara Uptown can give Roast and Toast a run for their money. And it won't cost u an arm and a leg!!

It's a National favourite. All over the world we prophesise about out Char Siew and Siew Yoke rice. Don't bring the standards down guys!!!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank sunita_mahesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Toast N Roast TNR also viewed

Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 

Been to My Toast N Roast TNR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing