We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service”

Tao Cuisine Restaurant
Ranked #895 of 1,417 Restaurants in Petaling Jaya
Cuisines: Asian
Description: One of three.
Restaurant details
Description: One of three.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad Service”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had my dinner with family on the 10th March 2013 and there is a BBQ counter for you to pick the seafood and they assist to grill it. However the size & type of seafood what i picked was not the same when they served us. Therefore i purposely go to the counter pick the seafood and stand in front of it to see how they grill and how they serve the guest and that time there are some seafood was grilling. And what i saw is they gave me they food that already cooked previously and put back the food that i choose !! Is this the purpose that you set the BBQ counter there ?? You set a bbq counter there and we aspect that you grill the seafood that what we choose(type & size) !!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank joneswong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    9
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It's actually quite good”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Went to celebrate my sis birthday. They saw my sis carrying my 8 months old nephew, a staff automatically brings us a baby chair. Thats efficient.

The food they serve, is not bad. I won't say its the BEST but its value for what we are paying for. Probably the ice cream and chocolate fountain, I would advice them to use better quality ice cream as its a bit rough and can feel the chocolate sauce is a bit low grade. The service is fast and the food we ordered came fast as well.

Abit crowded with teenagers during the weekend but not really a huge disturbance as I believe the host manage the seatings quite well.

Definitely will come back again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StevenYBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“If only the food quality is as good as the decor!”
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

The place looks impressive. Atmosphere very good. Not bright and noisy like some buffet outlet. Maybe because most of the food has to be ordered so there is no crowd to mess up the food. Very conducive to an enjoyable meal.

Service is good too. Staff are very attentive and helpful. Food came very promptly. Unfortunately the good review ends here.

The food has to be ordered from the menu. It came fast and hot. The menu presented the food as delicious and interesting. But the food that really came was another thing.

The abalone did not look or taste like abalone. I believe it's a kind of whelk.

The scallops were tiny and tasteless. From frozen I presume.

They smear some kind of sauce over almost every item be it fried fish, oysters, scallops or "abalone". I supposed the strategy was so that you can't taste the real food, i.e., tasteless scallops and cousin of abalone.

The lamb and beef were tough. Stir fried veggies were good. I supposed it's you can't go wrong there. The tempura has to be ordered mixed. So if you don't like the sweet potatoes or yams you've got to lump it. They don't let you order the prawns alone. Yet, if you leave behind the stuff you don't like, the staff will politely tell you they cannot collect the plate until the food is finished. A matter of cost of course. But there are buffets in town where they let you have all the tempura prawns you want.

They use sauce to drown everything. Even the stir fried chicken, which they have several variety, tasted tough and swamped with sauce.

The deep fried shishamo were dry and tasteless coated with a tough layer of breading. Again drizzled with the same pinkish sauce.

The salmon looked good that day. Big juicy slices. Not too bad if you stand there and watch them cook so that they don't over cook it.

Overall, if you're there for the food, don't get taken in by the environment. If you want endless servings of hot food never mind the quality, yes, I supposed you can try this. But for me, once is enough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wct38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“One of the best buffet restaurants around”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

They serve an a la carte buffet, which means that you order food from the menu and they will bring it to your table. The grilled lamb chop, grilled butter fish, speciality scallops and sliced abalone are all excellent, While waiting for your cooked food, there is sushi and sashimi and cold seafood like oysters waiting for you at various counters as well. Forget Shogun and the other overpriced buffet restaurants, this one is highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank enochho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The most value-worth Japanese buffet in Kuala Lumpur”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Great Japanese buffet with cheaper than the market prices. Although they don't have very exclusive raw materials, but every food they made is at the state of art~ nice atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Y__square_aka_YY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tao Cuisine Restaurant also viewed

Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 

Been to Tao Cuisine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing