We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, no frills budget hotel”
Review of One Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
One Avenue Hotel
Ranked #1 of 46 Petaling Jaya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value, no frills budget hotel”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in a Family Superior Room (one queen, one single)
Room and bathroom was basic but clean.
There is a mini fridge, a safe and corner rack which acts like a table with hanging rods above it.
So if is really quite compact.
But it was good enough for us as we were out all day and only back for the night's sleep.

What I liked about the hotel
1. Close to 1U, Ikea, The Curve
2. Private covered carpark for hotel guests
3. There is a water dispenser at the reception where we could fill up our drinking tumblers with hot/ cold drinking water.
4. Air con works fine.
5. Strong water pressure to ensure a nice shower.
6. High speed wifi
7. Staff were friendly and helpful.
8. 7-11 is just next door, and there is chinese & mamak food within the same row of shoplot.

Hubb is always cautious whenever I make any bookings with a budget hotel. But overall we are happy with our choice this time and will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WSiewH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
6
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days 3 nights. Clean, nicely designed room and comfy bed! It was all I need for a good night sleep after a hectic day. The location was centrally located and One Utama was few stones throw away. Easy access to Sprint Highway and LDP. Good price for good room. Will come back and stay here for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HallanTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I got a good deal on Expedia which made this hotel super good value. Small rooms but nice and clean. Big tv with a few channels and good free wifi. It's only a 3RM taxi to 1 Utama shopping centre. Not really close to the trains and a bit of a ride to the city. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aussietravellerrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I checked into the hotel for 1 night based on review on tripadvisor and boy...am I disappointed... as I was planning to stay for only 1 night on a business trip, I thought I could save a couple of bucks by staying in a budget hotel for RM 80. Should have stayed in another hotel nearby called Ryokan Chic recommended by a friend for RM 150..

The room is quite small.... There is no wardrobe.. Room fits one queen size bed with a bed side table plus another a small table.... But I am fine with small rooms coz i don't need much space for just 1 night stay..

However, the room is not clean... Floors r not swept and mopped properly coz I can still see some black stains on the floor... the bathroom is basically a partition within the room itself..there are molds around fhe edges of the door n soap stains on the floor ... Also I believe someone smoked in the room coz there are cigarette burns on the small table n bedside table... Bed sheets too looked a bit worn out...

Good points of the hotel are a good size tv though it has only 3 functional channel, water heater heats up pretty quickly and the pressure is good...

Overall I believe the hotel could be better maintained...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pancakes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oneavenuehotel, General Manager at One Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2015
Hi Pancakes21,

Thanks for your valuable feedbacks on your stay and we will definitely improve on the maintenance and house keeping of our rooms. In fact we have done a major renovation and expansion and they were completed on July 2014, hope you can come back and have another look at our hotel. If you need a room with wardrobe and safety box, please choose the Superior Double room instead of Standard Double room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We kinda made a last minute plan to drove up to KL during the Wesak holiday and decided to book with this hotel... We booked the Family room which comes with 1 Queen + 1 single bed..So far we have no complaints..the room , bathroom was clean. Staffs also was friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeenJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kluang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Checked in late midnight and only spent a couple of hours there bathing and sleeping. Room was small but compact and clean. The interior and furniture looked new and the room was comfortable for a short night's stay.

Bathroom was clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly and quick as well.

Overall, no complaints and I was happy with the stay :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlottesze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

First things first: this is only for a couple of nights stay when you have meetings nearby.

This Hotel has no swimming pool, no spa, no 24-hour room service :-)

On the other hand, it is clean, and meets the advertising on its website.

I stayed for 3 nights, in a Superior Deluxe. The room had a double bed, and about a meter of space to spare on each side. The bathroom had a good shower. Large TV on the wall, seemed to be two channels of DVDs of CSI non-stop. Rooms have no telephone, but excellent wifi.

The room was clean, the bathroom was clean. Very clean.

A small table, with enough power points.

There is a water cooler in the corridor, and a water jug and glasses in the room.

The hotel is on Level 3, 3A (4, actually) and 5 of a row of units. Down below, the first two stories have ample eating options (including one that was open, and active, till 3am), a 7-11, drugstores, etc.

Reception was friendly enough. For US$30 per night, I was not expecting the Four Seasons.

If I am in the locality for business for a couple of days again, I would definitely check in again.

Room Tip: Level 5 has a neighbouring unit which is used as a evangelical church, so expect loud music and crie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sanjeev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
0.6 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tune Hotel Kota Damansara
Tune Hotel Kota Damansara
#20 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.7 mi away
O'Boutique Suites
O'Boutique Suites
#14 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lighthouse Hotel & Shortstay
Lighthouse Hotel & Shortstay
#16 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
2.3 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Petaling Jaya
Best Western Petaling Jaya
#11 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Avenue Hotel

Property: One Avenue Hotel
Address: No.3-13A, One Avenue, Dataran Pelangi Utama | Bandar Utama, Jalan Masjid, PJU6A,, Petaling Jaya 47400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — One Avenue Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for your comfort and convenience in mind, One Avenue Hotel is in the strategic location, enclosing all the hustle and bustle the Petaling Jaya city has to offer. Only 15 km away from Kuala Lumpur City Center, you will find masses of shopping and dining options, high rise building of modern architecture, a business centre and narrow streets filled with entertaining activities. Many major buildings, including One Utama Shopping Mall, Central Point One Utama, IBM Tower, KPMG Tower and First Avenue Cybercities are within 15 minute walk. Ikea, The Curve, Ikano Power Center, Damansara Specialist Hospital, KBU and KDU are within 5-10 minute drive. Boasting a typical Malaysian style of living, each room is uniquely designed with a blend of modern and contemporary technology for the convenience of both, the business and leisure travelers. One Avenue Hotel is a great place of stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your One Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing