We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal but ......”

Green View Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 1,443 Restaurants in Petaling Jaya
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good meal but ......”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I went to the Green View with a few friends on a very recent trip to KL. One of the great things about having a group in a restaurant like this is that it permits you to order a few dishes.

We ended up ordering salted egg mudcrab, a big marble goby (ikan hantu) which was steamed, a huge plate of sang ha mee and a plate of vegetables.

The sang ha mee is the house speciality. It's fried egg noodles with giant freshwater prawns in a ginger and shallot sauce and it really had the wow factor. I'd say this dish was the highlight of the meal.

The mudcrab in salted egg was also excellent but the crabs were not as big as what we were charged for. To me, the crabs were 750g max and we were charged for a kg each. Considering the crabs were not even the same size in the first place, it seems they rounded in their favour!

The marble goby was a bit disappointing. This is one of the most highly regarded fish in Malaysia and for some reason, it just was a bit flat.

Overall, still a good meal but a pretty expensive one at that. The crab left a bit of a sour taste about the whole meal. The food would have been five stars except the marble goby was disappointing. The sang ha mee is a five star dish. If you go there, this dish is a must.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klkh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    39
    15
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Best Chinese Food You'll Ever Eat”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have been going to Green View since it was a single non-air conditioned shop. It has now grown to 4 shops downstairs and 4 upstairs!

It's just a testament to the food they serve there. Prices are are little steep but it's worth every penny. I've organized wedding dinners, get-togethers and I've eaten there alone too.

What I love about this place is that they don't singe on the product they use. There is no ajinamoto in their foods. While some shops will sometimes give you stale prawns, for instance, Green View only has the freshest seafoods.

A must try is the Sang Har Mee, huge succulent prawns the size of small lobsters are used. Depending on how many are eating each person will get at leave half of the prawn but you can order for more if you want to. A little tip, if you're going to order Sang Har Mee, order less food cause the noodles will fill you up.

The other must try is the hot and spicy crab. It's more sweet and sour but there is a little heat in it. The gravy is the best. Order a plate of Mantau which is like a pau but softer and it has no filling. You can request it to be fried or steamed. Use the mantau to dip into the crab gravy, you will never ever regret it.

You can choose the type of crabs you would like. They have local mud crabs, crabs from Indonesia and Australia. Of course the Australian crabs are the most expensive. I normally go for either the local or Indonesian crabs. The meat is sweet and there's a lot of meat in these crabs.

Also try their mixed Salad Prawns and Butter Prawns. You get half a plate of fried prawns mixed in salad mayo dressing on a bed of fruits. The Butter Prawns is deep fried and covered in golden crunchy bits mixed with curry leaves. It's to die for!

As for vegetables, try the Loh Hon Chye, which is a vegetarian dish. They use taufu and beans and a mixture of other vege. Also try the broccoli with black mushroom dish. If you're lucky and they have it, ask for the dragon vegetable with macadamia nut. It is also one of the best. I didn't know anything about it till it was recommended by one of the Captains taking our order.

That's the other beauty of this place, if you're not too sure what to get, just ask the Captain. He or she will recommend some really tasty food. If you're luck get the owner who walks around in a loose white shirt and pants. Or just ask one of the waiters to call The Boss. He's the friendliest guy and if you're lucky he'll throw in a free fruit desert.

The other thing you might want to try for desert is the pancake. It's sweet and filled with both red bean paste and lotus paste. Yummy!

If you're ordering the Sang Har Mee and the crab and prawns, be prepared to pay a hefty sum.

Other worthwhile dishes has to be the Yam Basket, the Beggar's Chicken, fish with sliced ginger, the honeyed pork cutlets, the chicken with cashew nuts and the steamed fried fish.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PunithaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Typical busy chinese restaurant with great seafood”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

I try to eat here at least once on every trip to KL. It's in the suburbs but worth the trip. The room is typical of big chinese restaurants - noisy, little ambience, no frills. The place is all about the food. The service is efficient and no frills - like the restaurant. Definitely try the prawns in noodles or the chilli crab. We also enjoy the crispy small squid.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grant O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cheating restaurant, be careful!!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I went to this restaurant last nigjt with 5 colleagues from Japan and had told them earlier that it is a delicious and reasonable priced seafood restaurant accordong to my previous visits. But last night was totally different. We were in a heavy discussion and did not pay too much attention to what we prdered. They brought very expensive crab. Volume of other dishes were intentionally doubled or tripled. When we received a bill, we jumped up. It was 2,200RM=700USD for 6 people!! Be careful. This is a cheating restaurant. If possoble, do not go there! There are more nicer and honest seafoods restaurants in town. I will never go to this place in the rest of my life.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank bocaderio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I love the sang har meen!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Had sang har meen, crab with salted egg yolk and deep fried vegetables - sang har meen was great, crab was ok (i.e. not the best I've eaten, the way the vegetable (I don't recall the name) was cooked was interesting. Pricey though. Friends say that there are other restaurants in KL and PJ which serve better sang har meen at more reasonable price

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReiseVacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green View Restaurant also viewed

Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Green View Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing