We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous margarita but average food”

Frontera Sol of Mexico
Ranked #8 of 1,373 Restaurants in Petaling Jaya
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Frontera revolution and ongoing evolution began in June 2008 when a small group of fellow Mexican food aficionados opened Frontera Sol of Mexico (formerly known as Frontera Bar & Grill) at the Palm Square, Jaya One in Petaling Jaya.Our mission is to create a warm, friendly and unique environment and to provide our guests with the absolute best Mexican food and fresh lime margaritas in Malaysia and Southeast Asia.Our menu is the culmination of years of dedication and passion. It is our combination of unique flavors and proven cooking methods that are combined to create cuisine with the spirit and flavor of old Mexico. We use only the freshest and best ingredients in all of our dishes. The same passion for quality is echoed throughout every element of our restaurant.Frontera's Agave Margaritas, icy cold Mexican beer and tequila-influenced cocktails are the perfect companions to our culinary selections. Featuring an ever-expanding selection of 100% Agave tequilas,
Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous margarita but average food”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We decided to have dinner at this place after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We arrived at the restaurant around 9pm and found the place half empty. We ordered our food and it took close to 1/2 hour before the food arrived at our table. The Margarita and keylime pie was fantastic. As for the enchiladas and pineapple chicken, the taste was average. My hubby was disappointed with the size of the chicken as it was quite small portion. The waiters were slow in their attention to us. The verdict: we would go back there for drinks but not dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renuka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramesh V, General Manager at Frontera Sol of Mexico, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Ms. Renuka,

Thanks for honest feedback. Sorry for the incomplete experience that you had at Frontera.

We are constantly working on our food quality & service. I hope we can serve you better at your next trip.

Regards,
Ramesh V
Manager
Frontera Sol of Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    47
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sedap!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Been in KL for 6 months, sick of bloody Nasi Lemak. Went to Frontera with the wife to try some of their creamy Mexican cuisine. Had their Quesadilla and Enchilada. Finished with the Keylime Pie. SEDAP! I'll go there the next time I get sick of rice, rice and more bloody rice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramesh V, Manager at Frontera Sol of Mexico, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Michael,

Thanks for your SEDAP review.

We look forward to see you & your wife again. :)

Regards,
Ramesh V
Manager
Frontera Sol of Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Hi there Mr Manager. Just a constructive feedback for you. After reading that Frontera is the number 1 restaurant in PJ i was very eager and keen to visit your eatery. However today when i called to make reservations i was told that it was not necessary to do so. when i got there i was even more disappointed that there was very limited dishes available and safe to say mostly all of the main mexican dishes were not available. We were told that the supplier did not deliver the breads on time. seriously as the supposedly no 1 restaurant in PJ that is just an unacceptable excuse. if that was the case you should commence legal action against your supplier for non delivery because you just lost a customer and i doubt i will head back to your eatery because i should have been warned in advance when i had called. to me this is just bad service and bad pr. please do take a massive corrective action on this accord.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Govinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramesh V, Manager at Frontera Sol of Mexico, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Govinth,

Sorry for the inconvenience and disappointment caused at Frontera.

We have taken note of your feedback and advice. Moving forward, we shall inform the customers in advance if we have limited dishes for the day.

Please accept our sincere apologies and I have taken your advice in great consideration.

We do hope to see you again at Frontera.

Regards,

Ramesh V
Manager
Frontera Sol of Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What we have been searching for”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have been looking for good Mexican food since moving here in Sept. I am so glad we found it at Frontera. We had enchiladas, a burrito, and the little one had a quesadilla with rice. It was all very good and nice portion size. We will definitely be back for the food!!!

We did have a hard time finding the place, once we parked we wandered around for quite a while looking for it. We arrived shortly after opening for the day so we were one of two tables. You would think the staff would be a little more attentive. After bringing our food we never saw the waiter again until we flagged him down for the check.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwoodfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramesh V, Manager at Frontera Sol of Mexico, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Dwoodfall,

Thanks for the positive feedback. Glad that you had a good time & we look forward to see you & your family again.

Taken note on the lack of attentiveness on our side as well. Sorry about that :(

Regards,

Ramesh V
Manager
Frontera Sol of Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in KL”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I are American and have searched high and low for a quality Mexican food restaurant in KL. Frontera is now our #1 pick! We ordered the bottomless chips and salsa, beef tostada, and a chicken burrito. It was all delicious with lots of flavor and an acceptable amount of spiciness. The service we received was so-so, we had to consistently call them over for refills, etc. The prices were reasonable, although I do miss the free chips and salsa most Mexican restaurants offer in the U.S. Overall, we left happy and stuffed and will definitely be returning soon!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 24MandM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramesh V, Manager at Frontera Sol of Mexico, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for the wonderful review and useful feedback.

Sorry as you had to call several times for refills. We shall work on improving our service & hope we can serve you better at your next visit.

I am glad you enjoyed our food. Look forward to see you both again at Frontera.

Regards,

Ramesh V
Manager
Frontera Sol of Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frontera Sol of Mexico also viewed

Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 

Been to Frontera Sol of Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing