We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”

Toh Yuen Chinese Restaurant
Reserve a Table
TABLEAPP
Ranked #2 of 1,894 Restaurants in Petaling Jaya
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $12
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: Enjoy an authentic Chinese Dining experience and sample delicious house specialties from Peking Duck to fresh seafood dishes at this contemporary Petaling Jaya restaurant. For a special family occasion or business function, gather in one of the four private dining rooms at Toh Yuen Chinese Restaurant
Restaurant details
Description: Enjoy an authentic Chinese Dining experience and sample delicious house specialties from Peking Duck to fresh seafood dishes at this contemporary Petaling Jaya restaurant. For a special family occasion or business function, gather in one of the four private dining rooms at Toh Yuen Chinese Restaurant
Reviewed March 9, 2019 via mobile

Taste, quality and portion of the dishes not as expected, considering it is a restaurant in 5 stars hotel. Price is at the higher end if based on the portion of the food being served. The portion is quite small for the dishes we ordered, maybe enough only for 1 person per dish. We have tried dining on many other restaurants in different hotels, we think that this restaurant has lots of room for improvement, in terms of taste, quality and portion of food and also service provided.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank SJ Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPetalingJaya, Secretary of Food & Beverage at Toh Yuen Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2019

Dear SJ Y,

I appreciate your review of your recent experience at Toh Yuen restaurant. I understand that you were disappointed with our food, I have brought your comment to our Culinary team and we are actively reworking to improve our food. The next time you are in PJ we would love to have you come back to see the changes we have made and provide feedback. Thank you once again for your comments.

Best regards,

Zulaiqa Ramzan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 184 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2019

Food was good but the service of the staff was extremely poor. Nobody was there to greet and escort us to our seats even after standing by the door for 10 minutes. It was also very difficult to get the attention of the servers when you want to order or ask for tea refill. There were not even a lot of customers in the restaurant, probably only about 5 tables. It was worse when we had to pay the bill. Asked for the bill 3 times to 3 different servers and waited for more than 15 minutes for the bill. In the end, we had to walk to the cashier and forced a server to bill the table. Extremely poor service and would not want to go back again.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michellegosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPetalingJaya, Secretary of Food & Beverage at Toh Yuen Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2019

Dear michellegosh,

I appreciate your review of your recent experience at Toh Yuen restaurant. I understand that you were disappointed with our service, I have brought your comment to team and we are actively reworking to improve our service. The next time you are in PJ we would love to have you come back to see the changes we have made and provide feedback. Thank you once again for your comments.

Best regards,

Zulaiqa Ramzan




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2019 via mobile

Came here for cny dinner. Had privacy coming early at 6.30pm for table of 10pax. Food good, service good and price depending which set you took.
Only downside are parking are costly as not part of the hotel like other hotels in klang valley u either get free or at cheaper rate when done in

Will come back for dinner ala carte or set. Would like to try their buffet dimsum

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank stefaniecst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPetalingJaya, Secretary of Food & Beverage at Toh Yuen Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2019

Dear stefaniecst,

Thank you for dining with us at Toh Yuen Restaurant, and I appreciate you taking time to share your feedback on the restaurant. I am delighted to read that you have had a wonderful time here.

Thank you for your kind compliments and high ratings for the restaurant. We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Best regards,

Zulaiqa Ramzan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2019 via mobile

Awesome food from chef Ric! Very affordable price, good environment and super big portion! Definitely will come back again!

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank sammychong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPetalingJaya, Secretary of Food & Beverage at Toh Yuen Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2019

Dear sammychong,

Thank you for dining with us at Toh Yuen Restaurant, and I appreciate you taking time to share your feedback on the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your dining experience and in particular the quality of service from my team. We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Best regards,

Zulaiqa Ramzan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2019 via mobile

Having a short gathering with high school mates and menus from Chef Ric was awesome!! Love it!! Especially the 古法鸭!

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank Tour561647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPetalingJaya, Secretary of Food & Beverage at Toh Yuen Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2019

Dear Tour561647,

Thank you for dining with us at Toh Yuen Restaurant, and I appreciate you taking time to share your feedback on the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your dining experience and in particular the quality of service from my team. We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Best regards,

Zulaiqa Ramzan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toh Yuen Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 

Been to Toh Yuen Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing