We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portion size leaves much to be desired”

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Ranked #45 of 1,395 Restaurants in Petaling Jaya
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Petaling Jaya
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Portion size leaves much to be desired”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This could be easily one of those places you'll probably kick back and enjoy a margarita or two. However when it comes to eating - probably it leaves a lot to be desired.

The food ain't that bad - had the 'pear and berry' salad and the veggie salmon rice dish, it was pretty decent - however considering what we are paying for, it does seem that we're paying over the top and we left the place somewhat unsatisfied.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    62
    51
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not so interesting after all”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The name is why we sat to try eat at this restaurant.

Staff shouting over the counter.

Being ignored by staff who clearly saw us coz we were not told that we should flip the "sign" if we want to be serve.

So for the price i pay its just not worth.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haneyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“I super love this place”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I loved it the US, Hong Kong and here in PJ!! Regular patrons would know what to order without looking the menu. Loved the Cajun shrimp. Order the asst platter if you´re new. With kids you can order a main and get a free meal. (that was the promo when i was there) . Kids meal are cute and not too pricey. Love the coloured glass too! Buffalo wings was also divine!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank makhruji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Similar to TGIF but different”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you are on for a celebration, let's say birthday, you can easily bing your group to this place in the first floor of the Curve. The staff is very friendly, helpful and quite efficient. If you let them know that your table is celebrating something, they will ad hoc organise a little funny show for you and your guests to make this day more memorable.
The food, mainly of course seafood, is tasty - and for those who don't like seafood there are plenty of other choices on the menu.
Since they also provide inside as well as outside seating (overlooking the street) it is one favourable place to go - a little pricy, though.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PetalingJayaHans47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafina, Greece
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average restaurant”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The food was average for my taste. Everything had the same taste, because it was covered by the chilly. I wouldn't try it again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ElenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. also viewed

Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing