We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need family rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My daughter,grandchildren & myself stayed at Sunway resort for 7 days in September 2012. The staff are generally helpful and when things are not right they are very apologetic.Which l feel is all they are "Apologetic" nothing seems to get resolved unless you become rather angry. When we arrived our room was booked for 2 adults & 2 children even the staff seemed surprised that the room allotted to us was to take 4 people. The room had 1 double bed one small couch and a mattress laying beside the double bed. Not Happy. I went down to reception and complained bitterly and another room with 2 king size beds were offered to us. I explained that l was happy to pay extra for a superior or executive room. I was advised that was all they had. Why have you not got family rooms with 2 bedrooms?
We had laundry done whilst we were there and my daughter who had paid extra for express service waited for another 24 hours while they found her laundry. Not Happy.
Good points are very clean rooms. Food excellent shame about the bacon. Decor is wonderful, not much for the children to do in the pool however pool toys were purchased at the mall for them to play with.
All in all we did have a wonderful holiday and yes l would return to Sunway resort but would have to sort out the rooms before we came back.

Room Tip: Make sure the room can accommodate a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bevf21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear bevf21,

It is with deepest regret that we hear of the inconvenience that you had during your stay. Please accept our deepest apologies for this matter. We have taken note of your comments and raised it to the management in order to improve the services better for our future guests.

We thank you however for still supporting us despite this inconvenience and your trust in us is deeply appreciated. Thank you for your continuous support and we hope to provide you with a better stay in the future.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,049)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,362 - 1,368 of 2,049 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

Unfortunately for me and my family, after 20 years of happy stays, I have made my last visit to this hotel. Whilst the staff are generally very helpful and the hotel offers excellent facilities, I have learned during this visit that the management of the hotel has absolutely no control over the management of the adjoining theme park and the management of the theme park are inconsiderate morons who have no respect for the guests or the management of the hotel. Totally and utterly unnecessary deafening music played on a Monday night meaning no possibility of any sleep. By the hotel managements admission they have no control over what happens at the theme park even though the whole complex, both hotel and park, are under the same ownership. Sorry guys, a free bottle of red to drink while we wait for this dreadful racket to stop is not going to make any difference. No more visits from us and no more recommendations.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Neil W,

Please accept our deepest apologies on the great inconvenience that you had faced during your last stay with us. It is even more disheartening to here that as one of our loyal guests of 20 years that this last stay with us has discouraged your return.

Please allow our management staff to reach out to your personally to apologise on behalf of the Hotel. We will be contacting you via a personal message and we look forward to your reply.

Again we thank you for your last 20 years of support and we hope to rectify this issue and hope that you could assist us in mending this bond with us.

Thank you for your review and have a pleasant day ahead.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This resort hotel is located next to the theme park and a shopping mall.The rooms are large and clean. Breakfast was excellent. The resort has both wet and dry theme parks. It is an ideal hotel for family holiday. You can spend the whole day at the theme park and try out all the rides. You just need to pay the entrance fees and all the rides are free.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the theme park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azizi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Azizi A,

Thank you for the short and sweet review provided. It is great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that your stay has encouraged you to return for another stay next year. And if you should decide to return, please do let us know and we will be very happy to accommodate and assist you with any arrangements needed.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our family of four wanted a mini-break over a long weekend. Went over Chinese New Year and reserved two club rooms. Probably only needed one room! It was huge, with a minibar with free soft drinks. Everything clean, room was well thought out. Loved the club privileges, like afternoon tea and cocktails in the evening. Was very happy to have the club lounge for breakfast, as the regular breakfast buffet can be very crowded. Johnny in the lounge was very courteous and helpful, and it was good to get his opinions on Sunway Lagoon. Sunway Lagoon was very crowded over the holidays, but being a hotel guest you can purchase tickets from the concierge from 9am-2pm. Also, you can enter the park from the back of the hotel, and perhaps avoid some lines. The pool was very nice, and good drinks service for mom and dad.

Room Tip: If the water park or hotel will be busy, get a club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear miller40,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are happy to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay with us and it had been a real pleasure to welcome and make your stay as memorable as it was.

Should you decide to return for another stay, please do reach out to us and we will be very happy to arrange for your next memorable break. Until then, have a great day ahead!

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Booked the CNY Family Escape-Premier Room package. Very pleasant experience. Room is spacious and clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. Sumptuous breakfast. Nice swimming pool with fun games session for kids organized by hotel.Thankful to allowing an early check-in at 12 noon, and a late check out at 2pm. Thumbs-up to the housekeeping staff keeping our room clean and tidy, and fixed the lightbulb issue efficiently even before we need to inform the hotel staff. Wonderful stay and would strongly recommend to anyone planning for a great family getaway. Very convenient access to the theme parks. Hope they could offer a 2-days pass package as one day is really not enough.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spy8297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Spy8297,

Thank you very much for the lovely review provided! We also appreciate the kind words you had provided to our staff at the Hotel and it had been a great pleasure welcoming you and your family for a memorable stay!

We thank you again for your time in writing us this review and we hope that you will return for another stay soon in the near future.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My family (2 adults and 2 kids aged 8 and 3 years) just returned from a 5 night stay over the CNY holidays at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa. We had driven up from JB, was lost for 2 hours trying to find the hotel (our fault entirely - we had gotten off an exit too early) and was very happy to have finally found it. The entrance and lobby are exactly as you see it on the website...extremely impressive with all the lights and the massive statues at the front of the hotel.

Check-in was done promptly by the friendly staff. I must say that the customer service at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa was wonderful. The staff always have a ready smile and respond quickly to requests. We had difficulties opening up the safe in our room and within 10 minutes of calling hotel reception one of the security staff came and sorted out the issue for us. We did a fair bit of shopping at the mall next to the resort during our stay and again, the staff acted promptly in assisting us with moving all our luggage from our room to the hotel lobby upon check-out.

We booked the Family Fun package which was a really good deal with entry to Sunway Lagoon and 20% discount on F&B however we did not make much use of the discount as there were so many restaurant choices at the mall next to the hotel. What we did take full advantage of was the fabulous buffet breakfast...absolutely amazing spread and really spoilt for choice: Chinese, Western, Indian, Malay dishes as well as bakery items, fruit, salads, cheeses etc.

Speaking of the mall, I must say it was really convenient having it right next door. There are lots of good shops (Victoria's Secret, Popular Bookstore, FOS, etc), restaurants as well as a Cold Storage in the basement to stock up on snacks and other essentials. The bottom level also has a play area for the kids with a carousel, ferris wheel and other activities. There is a decent size ice rink as well.

Sunway Lagoon (also next to the hotel) proved to be a godsend as we did not have to go far with the kids to keep them entertained for most of the day. The hotel has its own massive pool which I would be more than happy to chill out next to (if not for our entry passes to Sunway Lagoon). The pool bar serves food and drinks.

Our room came with a king size and a double bed to accommodate for the four of us. It was not a huge room size wise but we were happy with it. There was a study desk, a LCD TV, and the mini bar was stocked with free cans of drinks (Sprite, Pepsi, lemon tea) as well as the standard coffee and tea (green tea bags were also provided). The bathroom had a separate bath / shower area and housekeeping did a good job keeping our room clean and tidy throughout our stay. My only comment would be that there should be more handrails / hooks to hang up used hand towels and face towels.

We had a fabulous stay at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa - it's the perfect getaway for families.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Emstarr,

Thank you for the absolutely wonderful review that you had provided for us! It pleases us to read such a detailed review and to hear that you and your family had enjoyed every moment of your stay with us.

We will be sure to acknowledge our staff for the wonderful job in welcoming and making your stay as memorable as possible. We hope that you and your family will return for another stay in the future, and if you do, please do let us know as we will be very happy to arrange and accommodate for another memorable stay. Until then, take care and have a great day ahead.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The hotel looks and feels very impressive. It looks first class not only in the lobby but the rooms are in very good condition, and we experienced first class service with staff and management really solving our problems and helping out.
On the first night we were upgraded to the Presidential Suite and it is a very large one bedroom suite, should be perfect for families with two kids (this is great that the hotel allows more than one extra bed in the room!) and less expensive than two rooms.
Then we moved to the Club room - if you shop around you'll find an upgrade for as little as $15 per person on top of standard room rate, but they offer a lot for this: free breakfast, complimentary mini bar (soft drinks and peanuts, you did not expect any alcohol did you?), complimentary laundry of 5 items/day, free afternoon tea (with lots of nibbles) and "cocktail nights" (when they just make wine, beer and some spirits available, and more finger food). So from 2:30 pm till about 8 you can just stay in the lounge and eat and drink. The only issue is other people doing the same thing :)
There are two breakfasts available to Club members: on Level 1 and Level 20. The main breakfast is HUGE and it took us a couple of days to go through what they've got, from fresh juices and eggs Florentine to Chinese soups, curries and fresh waffles and fruit. Club Lounge breakfast is smaller but very good and less crowded and they change menu every day, we ended up eating there.
The hotel has two pools, one with grotto and all you can see on the pictures, the other one is on level 5 and it's knee deep, very quiet and good for toddlers.
At the main pool they've got the bar (drinks expensive, food very reasonable), and cold water is there for all all day - very convenient and good thinking.
The only downside is the small hotel territory: the paved area around the pool is all they've got, there is also a garden walk to Mandara Spa but technically it's part of Sunway Villas and kids are not welcome there. If you go for a walk beware of mosquitoes, they will be upon you the second you step in!
The main entertainment in the hotel is their pool, and the shopping centre, and the theme park, we very much missed the opportunity to go for a walk outside, it's just not beautiful at all.
I also wish they'd have some entertainment/animation for kids at the hotel.
If you buy tickets to the Sunday Theme Park from the hotel Concierge they will give you a free re-entry voucher.
Beware that taxi ordered at the hotel stand is twice more expensive than the actual trip in an executive taxi, and four times more expensive than the "normal" taxi ride. Solution? Get your cab across the road.

From nearby attractions we recommend I-City (15 minutes in a taxi) which has a City of digital lights (turned on at 7 pm), Snow walk (lots of snow and winter fun, warm clothes provided), Red Carpet (wax figures) and Waterpark.

Room Tip: Go for a club room, it's a real value for money. And Presidential Suite is recommended for famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank whysherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear whysherie,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review of your stay! It is great to hear of your wonderful stay with us. We would however like to highlight that the room that you mentioned staying in, the Presidential Suite, is however the Executive Suite instead as our Presidential Suite is the highest room category that we have in the Hotel.

Thank you also for the detailed description of our Club amenities and services. We are indeed very proud of The Club and are glad that you managed to experience a stay there with us. We hope that you will return again in the future and if you require any assistance with reservations, please do contact us and we will be very happy to assist. Until then, have a great day ahead.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaling Jaya
0 mi away
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
#6 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
1,389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
792 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#4 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Sunway
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Su...
#33 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
46 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sunway Putra Hotel
Sunway Putra Hotel
#32 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Persiaran Lagoon | Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya 46150, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#3 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#4 Business Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range: $122 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa is one of Kuala Lumpur’s most iconic 5-star hotels, situated within the sprawling integrated resort of Sunway City. The Hotel is located next to Sunway Lagoon theme park and connected to the massive Sunway Pyramid shopping mall, seamlessly integrating facilities for easy, within the minute walking-access, to a multitude of leisure and business services. On arrival, the Hotel’s dramatic neo classical façade welcomes guests to superlative features and thematic architectural designs, sheltered by towering minaret glass domes and a main driveway that boasts monumental sculptures of deer being pursued by a Malayan tiger and two life-size elephants stand guard; with a profusion of fountains and captivating oasis of water features. The Hotel’s 441 guestrooms and suites are equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi and other modern conveniences. Most guestrooms have theme park views or the resort's skyline; some provide balconies with an opportunity to walk out to the lush tropical gardens. Facilities within the hotel include an expansive free-form landscaped swimming pool with cascading waterfalls, a Balinese-inspired Mandara spa, a fitness centre, an all-day dining restaurant, a lobby lounge and several independently-operated Chinese, Thai and other speciality restaurants. Located adjacent to the Hotel are Sunway Pyramid Convention Centre, 170 food and beverage outlets and over 900-retail stores in the shopping mall, and two additional hotel towers with Sunway Pyramid Hotel and Sunway Clio Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Resort Hotel And Spa
Sunway Hotel Petaling Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing