We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We booked 2 rooms for 4 nights. It was a fantastic location for the kids who spent 2 full days at the water park. The attached shopping centre was massive with many other attractions for kids. Shopping in the centre was far cheaper than in the KL city. Any shopping we did in the 10days in KL we did at the Sunway.

Breakfast at the hotel was amazing. They had every variety of food available. If Malaysian cuisine wasn't your taste there was enough other varieties.

The hotel pool was great for the kids. The rooms on the other hand seems a bit old. On the whole service was excellent, food was great. Other meals were easy to purchase at the shopping centre. We would definitely return as our kids rated the water park the best! Even if we only book one night....

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Ausbne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Ausbne,

Thank you for staying with us for 4 nights! It’s great to hear of your great stay with us and how much you enjoyed your shopping and your kids enjoying the theme park! It was a great pleasure serving you and your family here at the Hotel and we definitely look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Please let us know when you are returning and we will be very happy to assist in arranging for your next stay.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,497 - 1,503 of 2,169 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here over christmas with 2 rooms for our family and parents. The hotel is quite strange where the lobby is on the 14th or so floor and you go down to you hotel room.

The rooms were nice but the so called free minibar was a bit of a myth. It took 4 phone calls to get it stocked originally then over the 5 day stay they only refilled it 1 time.

The buffet breakfast was nice but very busy if you went at 9:30am or so but this can be expected as we went at a busy time of the year,

We mostly ate at the restaurants in the attached shopping mall which were great and reasonably priced.

We had a fantastic day at the Sunway Lagoon theme park staying from open till close. The zoo was an unexpected highlight and the slides are amazing.


Go to the Sunway Lagoon if

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas35_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Thomas35_11,

Thank you for selecting us as your preferred destination to celebrate the festive season. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the amenities that we have to offer at Sunway Resort City.

We have also taken note of your comments in regards to the minibar and will be looking in improving that part of the service for our future guests in the Hotel.

Thank you again for your time in providing us with your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Sunway Resort hotel for a night in January 2014. The room we stayed is a club room on 21st floor and it is spacious and beautifully decorated. The hotel has very good facilities. large and beautifully designed swimming pool. gym and spa. Breakfast is good, a lot of variety, Chinese, western and local cuisine. The hotel is attached to Sunway shopping complex so it only takes a few minutes walk to go to the mall. The only issue we have is the lift is slow especially after we had breakfast, there are many people waiting for lift, and it takes a lot of time for our turn to go into the lift. I hope the management can look into this issue. Overall. we will stay in this resort if we are in KL again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Luxuryhotelfansclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Luxuryhotelfansclub,

Thank you for the much thoughtful review that you had provided to us. You’ve described us in such details that we are really humbled by your review.

We have also taken note of your comments about the lifts and will do our best to improve the system better especially during the festive season when we have many guests around. Thank you for your concern and feedback in this regards.

We hope that you will return for another stay soon and please do let us know and we will be very happy to accommodate for another great stay with us.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

It did not meet our expectations. The staff at the front desk did not have any idea about surrounding places and could not answer simple questions about nearby sunway lagoon theme park. The rooms were tiny and squashy especially with three kids. Traffic nearby is chaotic and not pedestrian friendly. Sun chairs poolside were insufficient for a hotel of this size. It's like they're forcing you to go to sunway lagoon if you want to chill out near water. (There's only so many days you can spend at Sunway Lagoon)

Lobby restaurant was ok but buffet expensive. Lots of outside dining with quality food preferred.

Lifts take forever also.

My advice is to stay elsewhere nearby and visit Sunway Lagoon on day trip, especially if you have kids

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Aussieadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Aussieadviser,

Please accept our apologies on the inconvenience that you had faced during your stay with us. We are saddened to hear of your stay and that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay with us.

We promise to improve in the areas that you have commented upon especially in regards to our staff knowledge about the facilities that we have here in Sunway Resort City and the service of our facilities at the poolside and lifts. For a more comfortable stay in our rooms, we usually recommend a maximum occupancy of 2 Adults and 2 Child per room.

Thank you again for your time in providing us with your feedback and we will strive to improve further to impress you should you ever decide to return for another stay. Thank you and have a good day ahead.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Spend 1 night here with family for New Year Eve Celebration . From all the hotel I stayed ,this is one hotel that have check in time at 4pm , despite any request you made your check in will be done at 4pm . During the check in process, there's no clarification on the room package Or facilities Or any introduction of New Year Party being done at the front desk. Which make me wonder is this a 5 star service?

At the hotel website, this is a newly refurbished room. However , when entered the room I felt I am in a dated covered up room . The reason is there's door cracks along the main door , curtain were in 1980's entire room is painted but design of furniture is not match. Apart from that, the mini bar is not filled by housekeeping , we have 2 adult in the room but only 1 toothbrush , 1 shower gel . The kettle has burning smell with residual of metal within it .

Due to we are there for Count Down & Fireworks , I've asked 3 different front desk ( even i think the manager ) None of them has any idea at all where the fireworks will be. It's kind of weird because it's all sunway group that organize the fireworks . Finally we managed to foundout at the sunway facebook on the fireworks.

The breakfast buffet has good variety of food but there's not enough waiter to clear the table or pickup the plates used.

The pool is big but there's only maximum 30 sun deck & chairs, for hotel size that big, shouldn't it has more sun deck & chairs ? We waited for 20 minutes wondering from one end to other to get a precious chair for all of us to place our stuff. I saw some guest just gave up & placed their stuff along the pool .

Elevator is another issue on the trip as waiting time is long for you to get into one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinkle_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed in one of the Club room for 1 night. The room is really spacious with good amenities. There's a coffee machine provided in the room with free mini bar which was well stocked with soft drinks, kit kat and peanuts.

The soap, shampoo and conditioners are all by Molton Brown. This room has access to Club Lounge which has free flow of drinks and food daily from morning till 11pm. The food served are reasonably good.

The bed is really good and we slept well.

There are a few downsides though:

1. The carpet in the room looks pretty tired and really need to be replaced; and
2. The food that we ordered through room service are a bit tasteless. My wife and I had Wantan Noodle and Nasi Goreng.

If the downsides are all addressed, this would be a perfect family hotel as facilities surrounding it are just marvelous like the Sunway Lagoon and Sunway Piramid to name a few.

Room Tip: Get a Club Room as it has added benefits and good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muzammil_MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Muzammil_MM,

Thank you for spending such an amazing time with us. Our Club rooms are definitely one of the many gems here in Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa and your description is just perfect.

We have also taken note of your comments about the carpet and in-room service and have forwarded them to the relevant parties to help improve our services better. We appreciate your feedback in helping us be better.

Thank you again for your time in providing us with this review and we hope that you will consider us again in the near future.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights for a ten pin bowling competition being held in the adjacent shopping mall.
Upon arrival at the hotel complex we were taken back with the grand decorations and statues that were best viewed at night. Getting out of the car we were warmly greeted by the door staff and was offered to have our bags taken care of but we declined. As we entered the lobby a large and beautifully decorated Christmas tree was on display with many hotels guests taking an opportunity to photograph the tree.
Check in was easy and staff were accommodating.
The room was a Premier Family room on level 17 with a king and king single bed. Just to note the lobby is actually on floors 13 & 14. The size of the room and also bathroom was adequate for the three of us. The room was clean and well designed although looked a little dated.

Pros for the room:
*Clean and tidy
*Complimentary mini bar
*Separate shower and bath
*Large windows with a nice view of the lagoon
*Superb bed
*Quick and well timed housekeeping service

Cons for the room:
*TV channels were a bit limited and with too many non English channels
*Only 1 built in adapter
*Poor sound proofing of the main door as you can easily hear people talking in the hallway day or night. Even during the night when everything is quiet you can hear the elevator bell ring from your room
*Manual curtains and blinds (maybe I am being too picky...)

Included in our booking was daily buffet breakfast for the 3 of us at the restaurant Fuzion located on the 1st floor. There was a large selection of typical western breakfast food like scrambled eggs, french toast, hash browns, croissants and thinly sliced beef. There is NO bacon at the hotel even though they might say that they have bacon. It is a substitute that looks like bacon but is beef and does not taste as good as bacon. Remember that it is a Muslim country and pork if few and very far between. There also is a reasonable Asian selection with dim sum, fried rice, nasi lemak, curry, congee and some sort of noodle dish which is changed daily.

Also there is a personal omelette and personal wonton noodle soup station.
Another part of the buffet holds a nice selection of fresh fruits, yogurt, cereal, hot, cold, full or half fat milk and cold cuts.
In addition to this there is the juice station with orange, mango, pineapple, apple, guava and ice water. If you require a hot drink staff come around often with tea or coffee.

The food quality is typical for a hotel with it tasting just average.
The service of the staff was very good and plates were cleared with in 2 minutes of finishing.
A word of advice, if you want to be seated right away and enjoy breakfast it is necessary to be there before 9am as from then you will have to wait to be seated and traffic builds up around the buffet.
Overall breakfast is good and worth the money.

Final few things,
The hotel it connected to the Sunway Tower Hotel, Sunway Pyramid Shopping Mall and Sunway Lagoon making it easy and convenient to access restaurants, shops and entertainment without having to leave the complex.

There is problem which is very annoying and slows down many people in the hotel. The elevators are too slow and there are only 4 of them which serve all 21 floors. There is another but it is an express lift between the lobby and level 1. The slowness of the elevators is not helped by finding previous people selecting random floors causing other hotels guests to go to unwanted floors slowing everything down for everyone. The hotel NEEDS to update the elevators with a floor CANCEL function or destination dispatch. It is impossible to cancel any floors once selected.
For example I was wanting to travel from Fuzion on level 1 to my room on 17. I walked into the lift to find levels 3, 5 and lobby selected. It took me more time than necessary to get to my room.

One night we ordered room service. It was nice to see that there was no extra cost for room service as the prices were the same as dining in at the restaurant the food comes from.
Unfortunately the food quality was below par. We ordered fish and chips which at 45RM was terrible. The "Fish" was actually Shark and the batter was disgusting while the chips looked old and stale. It was not acceptable and did not fit in well with the rest of out stay at the hotel.
Just to note at the adjacent shopping mall we had fish and chips at Tony Romanos for only 10RM and it was absolutely superb compared to the room hotel. This time we actually had fish, butterfish in fact and everything else fresh and tasty for less than 1/4 the price of the hotel.

In the end we paid around $180USD per night for all 3 of us with breakfast every morning.
I found this to be reasonable and good value for money.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor over looking the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HungryHun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear HungryHun,

Thank you for the amazingly detailed review that you had provided for us, we are grateful that despite the inconvenience that you had faced during certain parts of your stay that you still provided us with a 5-star review.

Be ensured that your comments such as the lobby lifts and the quality of the buffet breakfast and in-room dining will be forwarded to the necessary parties to help improve our services to better serve our guests in the future.

Thank you again for the review and your support is greatly appreciated. Please do let us know if you choose to return and we will be very happy to arrange for your next visit and hopefully impress you again.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaling Jaya
0 mi away
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
#6 of 51 in Petaling Jaya
1,435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 51 in Petaling Jaya
906 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 51 in Petaling Jaya
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Sunway
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Su...
#33 of 51 in Petaling Jaya
47 reviews
5.3 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#4 of 51 in Petaling Jaya
1,223 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sunway Putra Hotel
Sunway Putra Hotel
#32 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Persiaran Lagoon | Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya 46150, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#3 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#4 Business Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range: $99 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa is one of Kuala Lumpur’s most iconic 5-star hotels. Situated within the sprawling integrated destination of Sunway City, the hotel is seamlessly connected to the Sunway Pyramid Mall and Sunway Lagoon theme park and within easy walking-access to a multitude of other facilities, making Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa the ideal choice for leisure and business travellers. Just 35 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) and 25 minutes to Kuala Lumpur city centre • A collection of 468 Premier guestrooms, suites, and pool villas; with options of rooms with unimpeded views of Sunway Lagoon theme park or the city’s skyline • Recreational facilities include a massive, free-form landscaped swimming pool, a Balinese spa and a fitness centre • Conference and event venues including a pillar-free grand ballroom and a massive convention centre • Complimentary Wi-Fi in all guestrooms and public areas • Over 170 restaurants and outlets cater to every craving imagin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Resort Hotel And Spa
Sunway Hotel Petaling Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing