We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to shop & dine!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have stayed in both the Sunway Resort and Tower side and we couldn't be more happier. Both times we arrived just after noon and were allowed to check in almost immediately. Rooms were good at both sides but the Tower side cost lesser and is nearer to the Pyramid Shopping Centre where we shop, dine, catch movies and our kids ice skate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audy_Que
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Audy_Que,

Thank you for the kind review. Never had we received a review for both hotels at the same time and we are glad to that you and your family enjoyed the stay in both hotels. Should you ever decide to return for another stay, please do contact us and we will be very happy to arrange to welcome you and your family back. Until then, take care and we look forward to seeing you again.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,540 - 1,546 of 2,169 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

This stay was amazing for the whole family. We arrived very early in the morning so they could not give our rooms immediately, but they were prompt in arranging them. Nice wide connected rooms were assigned for us that looked over the tropical garden and the lagoon theme park.

The rooms are very clean and huge, that come with nice large balconies.the beds were so comfortable.

The food experience is an amazing one. Breakfast was fantastic with all kinds of tropical fruits, and room service was excellent. The pool is so lovely and the adjaceent, with free entry for the guest, theme park was just amazing for the whole family.

The hotel is connected to a shopping mall where you can buy almost any thing and has a descent food Cory as well.

My wife received some royal treatment at the spa.

Lovely stay that we will definitely repeat one day.

Room Tip: Garden view guys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElBob65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear ElBob65,

Thank you for the amazing review you have provided to us. We are really happy to hear of your memorable stay with us and that you enjoyed all the amenities that we have to offer here at Sunway Resort City. Our breakfast spread at Fuzion is definitely one of our highlights here at the hotel and it was also a real pleasure to pamper your wife at Mandara Spa.

We hope that your stay with us is memorable enough to encourage you and your wife to return for another stay. If you ever decide to return, please do let us know and we will be very happy to assist and arrange for another wonderful stay with us. Until then, have a great day and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Consider one of the best which l ever stayed with standard rating 9/10. I brought my family for this business trip and my son enjoyed the pools very much. Although the room rate is apparently costly but my family enjoy it.
The hotel link to the big mall easy for my family to roam around while l were at work.
Need to improve the road for the entrance because the lane going to the hotel passing the shop houses and sometimes create massive jam to the hotel.
we did not try the food over there for breakfast as it was Ramdhan fasting month.

Room Tip: Rooms lower floor which stayed,the view was fabulous but was partially overshadow with trees which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADNAN2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear ADNAN2502,

Thank you for the great review! It is such an honour to be rated 9 out of 10 during your stay with us. We hope that your family had truly enjoyed their stay with us and that your business trip went well. We thank you for your time and efforts in providing us with this review and hope that you will return to us again for another family stay and perhaps your next visit you could also enjoy our delectable buffet spread at Fuzion.

Thank you once again for this amazing review and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My business colleagues and I liked this resort because of safety that resort provides and this suburbs area location away from KL traffic congested areas. I had a very spacious double queen bedroom. Beds, furniture and bathroom were all in very good condition. Included free breakfast was excellent with many international choices.The shopping mall next door gives you a lot of food, shopping and entertainment options.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveFreeOrTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear LiveFreeOrTravel,

Thank you for the wonderful 5-star review! We are glad to have met your expectations during your stay. Our buffet spread is one of the most talked about by our guests and we are glad that you’ve enjoyed it as well. Thank you again for the review and we hope that you will return again in future for leisure stay and try out all the facilities we have to offer here at Sunway Resort City.

Should you need assistance in arranging for your stay, please do contact us and we will be very happy to accommodate.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great atmosphere, great environment, and overall great experience. When the days are gone and the lights all fall, and the saints we see are all made of gold, and we struck your head in the masquerade.


  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saws89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I don't usually like to complain about a property, but find myself compelled to do so in this instance.

This is a family resort with a fun park as part of the complex, so a great place to take kids. I don't have kids. The lobby is on the 12th floor and there is a lobby bar where they have entertainment. Current entertainment advertised through to the end of the month. Our room is on the ninth floor and this evening can nearly pick the songs it is that loud. So sleep is not an option. This is our third night here, and the music could be heard the previous two nights. It kept me awake for about an hour the previous night as the entertainment is scheduled to finish at 1.00am. I was going to call the duty manager, the previous night, but I did not.

Tonight I called the duty manager at 12.34 am and, although the problem was acknowledged, no solution was given. By the tone of the person on the phone I must not ave been the first complaint.

I find tha given this is a family resort, the noise if the entertainment floors below would be effecting a large number of Quests, given we are three floors below. I feel for those on the 10th and 11th floors.

Overall the hotel is a nice place to bring kids,. The staff are very friendly as they are in all Hotels across Asia. although I have found the waif for lifts to be a little to long. The food at the Buffett iwas not as good as at the One World Hotel I dredged at recently.

I would not stay here if it s my choice, but we are on a conference and have one night to go and an early transfer to the Airport at 6.30am on Saturday. I sure hope the music is not as bad tonight.

I highly recommend that if you are going to stay here, you question management about noise from the entertainment they have in the lobby bar and ask how far away from the 12th floor do I have to stay to not be disturbed by the music.

It is now 1.03 am and the, boom, boom, boom has stopped. I appreciate that I was given correct advice, but not that I have been living in bed for the last hour listening to the boom, boom, boom.

Room Tip: Avoid staying on floors close to the 12 Floor lobby Bar. We are on the ninth and the noise is annoyi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear David A,

Please accept our humble apologies for the inconvenience that you had faced during your stay with us. We will notify our teams of the inconvenience that you had faced and to deliberate on a solution to help make our future guests’ stay much more comfortable.

We thank you for providing us with your feedback on your stay and providing us with this review nonetheless. We hope to be able to improve better and perhaps one day, to convince you to return. Until then, have a pleasant day ahead.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this property.

As you enter the property the fragrance of aroma therapy oils envelope your senses. A porter rushed to help me with my luggage and I was welcomed with some iced tea. Very welcome in the sultry climatic conditions.

I returned to this property after more than a decade. The rooms have been renovated although the wear and tear shows in some places specially the bathroom. The free nine alcoholic mini bar is a nice touch.

Wifi is complimentary all over the hotel which is fantastic and works well in almost all places.

The breakfast room was extremely crowded and you had to wait to be ushered to an available table. There was a plethora of choices, although vegetarian hot food items were limited. A live fresh fruit bar was excellent.

The pool is nice and peaceful. The gym overlooks the pool. There is a bar near the pool that mixes your preferred beverage.

The Sunway Lagoon water park was too busy with a big group so we just entered and exited the place.

There is a mall adjacent to the mall with a plethora of eating and shopping options.

It's a nice place to visit with family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumbaiIndiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear MumbaiIndiTraveller,

Thank you for the kind review. We are glad to have been able to welcome you and your family and assisted in making your stay with us a memorable one. Thank you also for choosing to return to us again and providing us with your comments. We appreciate your assistance and we will forward it to our teams to help improve our services better.

Thank you again for your review and we hope that you will return again with your family. Have a great day ahead and take care.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaling Jaya
0 mi away
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
#6 of 51 in Petaling Jaya
1,435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 51 in Petaling Jaya
906 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 51 in Petaling Jaya
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Sunway
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Su...
#33 of 51 in Petaling Jaya
47 reviews
5.3 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#4 of 51 in Petaling Jaya
1,223 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sunway Putra Hotel
Sunway Putra Hotel
#32 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Persiaran Lagoon | Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya 46150, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#3 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#4 Business Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range: $99 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa is one of Kuala Lumpur’s most iconic 5-star hotels. Situated within the sprawling integrated destination of Sunway City, the hotel is seamlessly connected to the Sunway Pyramid Mall and Sunway Lagoon theme park and within easy walking-access to a multitude of other facilities, making Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa the ideal choice for leisure and business travellers. Just 35 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) and 25 minutes to Kuala Lumpur city centre • A collection of 468 Premier guestrooms, suites, and pool villas; with options of rooms with unimpeded views of Sunway Lagoon theme park or the city’s skyline • Recreational facilities include a massive, free-form landscaped swimming pool, a Balinese spa and a fitness centre • Conference and event venues including a pillar-free grand ballroom and a massive convention centre • Complimentary Wi-Fi in all guestrooms and public areas • Over 170 restaurants and outlets cater to every craving imagin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Resort Hotel And Spa
Sunway Hotel Petaling Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing