We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Very nice location
Good design
Friendly staff
Huge shopping mall
Excellent pool
Close to KL
Value for money
Availble taxis to everywhere
Good food
Many restaurants around
Fairly close to KLIA
All-Halal menu

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mohammad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Mohammad A,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that we were able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. Should you ever have any interest in returning, please do contact us and we will be very happy to assist you with your bookings.

Thank you again for your time and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,930)
There are newer reviews for Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,340 - 1,346 of 1,930 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is an excellent hotel. My family thoroughly enjoyed it. Dont forget to visit the swimming pool. Everything was perfect- from the frontdesk staff to small things in the room. The floors were a little confusing! If you are planning to be in KL, then you should not stay here. Travel from Sunway to KL is difficult and ridden with traffic.

For Some reason I was not able to sleep well all three nights- the pillows were huge and the bed was a little hard.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shankar_Ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Shankar_Ace,

Thank you for the kind review! Despite the inconvenience faced, we are glad that you enjoyed the amenities that we have to offer here at the hotel. We do have a lot of our guests that mentioned the confusing arrangement of our hotel, and we are always happy to explain the interesting story behind this. Perhaps on your next visit, you could ask one of our staff about this fun fact.

Again we thank you for your time and effort in providing us with this 5-star review and we hope that you will return again in the near future. Until then, take care and see you soon.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I have been to sunway resort for two nights. It was amazing experience its nice & clean hotel. Close to the park but very complicated because the lobby is in level 13 & my room in level 5 + you have to wait for 10 or 15 minutes to find empty elevator if you have a baby trolley this is the only bad thing in the hotel. The break fast timings is not good.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdulla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Abdulla A,

Thank you for finding the time to provide us with this review. We apologise for the inconvenience that you faced during your stay with us. We have taken note of the comments provided and have channeled them to the necessary teams to assist improving our services to help serve you and our future guests better.

Thank you once again for your review and we promise to improve our service to help serve you better in the future.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have returned to this Sunway Beach Lagoon hotel many times. For service and attention, they leave nothing to chance in ensuring guests are appreciated. Facilities, food, swimming pool, attention to detail in guests rooms, all excellent. As a past tour organiser and guide I rate this hotel number 1.

Room Tip: Arabian Room is excellent. The Club is ultimate bonus.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Peter M,

Thank you for the short and sweet review! We couldn’t be any prouder to have guests return to our hotel and still have a memorable stay with us. Thank you for your generous support and we hope to continue to provide you with the best possible service every time you return.

Thank you again for your time and great review and we hope to see you again soon!

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The normal rooms seem a Little dated and renovations are needed especially with furniture. Overall though it's an amazing concept, theme park is fantastic and a great place for kids. The Villas however are an untapped secret and they are beautiful and strictly for adults.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Muchohi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Muchohi G,

Thank you very much for your honest review. We have noted your comments and will forward them to the necessary party to review to assist improving our services to our future guests.

Should you have any interest in staying at The Villas, please do contact us and we will be very happy to arrange for your stay. Thank you again for your time and we hope you have a great day ahead.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

great accommodation, water theme park and 5-star shopping mall - all in one location...trust me, you dont need to go out to have fun!

we stayed at the junior suite (twice!)...with arabic and a less than defined theme for room settings, the suite was a thoroughly enjoyable experience...food was quite nice although the fare could be more hearty :-)

u have sunway lagoon within walking distance, with so many rides and fun activities to do - on top of the hotel amenities to enjoy...however, there seemed to be many construction littered throughout the resort, so that contributed to turning us off from enjoying the hotel's facilities...

watched latest movies at the shopping mall...you will be please with the mall as it is huge and reminds me of midvalley megamall near Bangsar...plenty of things to do....seriously....

easy to get to, try and use the buses plying the resort to get to many places if you like adventure...personally, i would use coupon taxi to move around as these are reasonably priced and somewhat reliable...

and the best tip i can give - try NOT to stay during the Middle East holiday season...the hotel is rather crowded during this season, and breakfast is a chore as well as you'd grimace inwardly at people stacking up their plates but leaving much food wasted...terrible attitude by hotel guests *shame*

Room Tip: i enjoyed the junior suite...if you have the cash, get the junior suite - u will not hv much to comp...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RIzalAbdullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear RIzalAbdullah,

Thank you for such a detailed review of our resort! We are happy to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your continuous support of us is very much appreciated and to receive high compliments for your return visit means a lot to us.

Should you decide to return for another stay, please do let us know and we will be very happy to accommodate and welcome you back for a third stay.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I guess coming to a resort like Sunway Lagoon means spending time in the resort facilities and less time in the room. Having said that we got a junior suite which we felt was really tiny! The bathroom was very small and we had a problem with the bath drainage which never got fixed permenantly (quick fix was their solution).

If i switched on the tv in the sleeping area the tv in the sitting area would be switched on (haunted?) The rooms would be 4 star max in this 5 star property, but if your staying there for 2 nights then its a sacrifice which you can easily make.

The food in the hotel is very good and has many choices, the mall is just a few steps away and the staff were really helpful.

You can get tickets to the park from the concierge (morning to afternoon) and have a direct access to the park from the pool area floor.

I would reccommend that you go during the week as the park and attractions are not full and you can enjoy your time more.

I was really annoyed that this hotel did not offer any extra duvets and was prepared to pay extra for them, even though the hotel was not full they said they did not have any available (hard to beleive for a supposedly 5 star hotel)

Room Tip: choose the park view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bumahra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Bumahra,

We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as satisfactory as expected. We have taken full note of the inconvenience you had faced and will inform the team to improve these areas for our future guest.

We are however happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the other facilities that Sunway Resort City has to offer. We promise to continue to improve our facilities and services so that one day we are able to impress you enough to return for another stay.

Thank you once again for your time and review and have a pleasant day ahead.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaling Jaya
0.0 mi away
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
#5 of 48 in Petaling Jaya
1,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 48 in Petaling Jaya
667 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 48 in Petaling Jaya
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Sunway
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Su...
#33 of 48 in Petaling Jaya
44 reviews
5.3 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#3 of 48 in Petaling Jaya
1,150 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sunway Putra Hotel
Sunway Putra Hotel
#31 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Persiaran Lagoon | Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya 46150, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#4 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#4 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range: $120 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa is one of Kuala Lumpur’s most iconic 5-star hotels, situated within the sprawling integrated resort of Sunway City. The Hotel is located next to Sunway Lagoon theme park and connected to the massive Sunway Pyramid shopping mall, seamlessly integrating facilities for easy, within the minute walking-access, to a multitude of leisure and business services. On arrival, the Hotel’s dramatic neo classical façade welcomes guests to superlative features and thematic architectural designs, sheltered by towering minaret glass domes and a main driveway that boasts monumental sculptures of deer being pursued by a Malayan tiger and two life-size elephants stand guard; with a profusion of fountains and captivating oasis of water features. The Hotel’s 441 guestrooms and suites are equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi and other modern conveniences. Most guestrooms have theme park views or the resort's skyline; some provide balconies with an opportunity to walk out to the lush tropical gardens. Facilities within the hotel include an expansive free-form landscaped swimming pool with cascading waterfalls, a Balinese-inspired Mandara spa, a fitness centre, an all-day dining restaurant, a lobby lounge and several independently-operated Chinese, Thai and other speciality restaurants. Located adjacent to the Hotel are Sunway Pyramid Convention Centre, 170 food and beverage outlets and over 900-retail stores in the shopping mall, and two additional hotel towers with Sunway Pyramid Hotel and Sunway Clio Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Resort Hotel And Spa
Sunway Hotel Petaling Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing