We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Certificate of Excellence
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow what a resort!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Travelled to Malaysia on business and stayed at the resort. Room good size with view to the water park. First hotel I went DOWN to my room from the lobby on floor 12. Did some exploring of the grounds and checked out the huge attached mall. Due to storm did not get to the pool or the canopy walk which looked interesting. Lots to do. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. I had a late flight so they let me stay in the hotel no issues - good satay in the bar. Tried the extensive breakfast buffet included with good omelet service. Coffee slow to arrive but that is my only complaint aside from stubbing my tow due to the bathroom 1 inch lower than the bedroom. Definitely would come back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cdufinetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Tan, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear cdufinetz,

We’re sorry to have heard about your little accident in the room, we hope that you’re recovering well from it right now. We would also like to thank you for your time in writing us this wonderful review. We are glad that we managed to have met your expectations during your visit.

We hope that you will be able to visit us for pleasure on your next trip to try out one of Mandara Spa’s extensive list of relaxing massages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    563
    245
    84
    58
See reviews for
837
243
45
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

For anyone who loves shopping and theme parks, here's the hotel to stay. This is not my first time. I have stayed in this hotel a couple of times as well as the others on the same property. Its reasonably cheap for a 5 star hotel. Room is clean and sizeable. I was only a bit disappointed with the 'city view' room. The lagoon view room is better if you have a choice. All else are excellent. Everything is walkable - theme parks, food, shopping mall, massage, bowling alley, clubs, many more. Its definately the hotel to stay. Enjoy...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank paseo911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Tan, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear paseo911,

We are glad that you had enjoyed all of the facilities that we could offer here at Sunway Resort City. We would recommend visiting us during the festive period for a more interesting experience with beautiful decors and more activities and shopping opportunities at Sunway Lagoon Theme Park and Sunway Pyramid Shopping Centre.

We hope to be able to welcome you back for another visit and please do contact us if you require any further assistance in making your next visit pleasurable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at the Sunway Resort Hotel and Spa by default as the booking we had at the Pyramid tower has a complication on one night, and we were put up at this plays. It is quite a beautiful hotel, overlooking the theme park and can be considered special

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the theme park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tusitha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Tan, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Tusitha k,

We apologise for the difficulties that you had faced during your check-in with us. We are glad that despite the trouble, you and your family still enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will continue to provide us with your support and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

i suggest this hotel to spend minimum 3 nighest to explore the aria since most of attraction in Kuala lumpure is near to. hotel have good location connected with the biggest mall in kuala lumpur , nice swim pool and cool theme park ( which the rides not all launched yet).

Room Tip: theme park view is the best and if you have kids chose 2 double bed its large and you can share it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SondusA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Tan, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Sondus M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we are glad to have met your expectations during your stay. Sunway Lagoon Theme Park’s new ride, the Vuvuzela will be opening soon and we will be sure to inform you once it does.

We hope that you will continue to keep us in mind when you decide to return to Malaysia and allow us to make your next stay with us a pleasurable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
166 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Resort may be ok, but my club level room was disappointing, cramped, and cave-like. Never could figure out how to turn one of the lights off, except by unplugging it from the socket. Neither the master room switch, nor the toggle on the light fixture itself seemed to be operable. I would not return unless conference was sited there.

Room Tip: Stayed on the club level - expecting a nicer than average room. While the bed was firm and comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbrech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Tan, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hello rbrech.

Thank you for sharing these comments regarding your recent stay. We're disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations, but we do appreciate your feedback on how we could be better.

We strive to offer our guests with a flawless experience and we're sorry to hear we fell short in a few areas - particularly so in the room layout and in making the ideal Gin Martini. We'll also look into the payment arrangements and pace of service at the lobby lounge. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
865 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

It has a very nice pool and is right infront of the theme park. It also has a grand lobby. Everything looks extravagant. A bit pricey compared to other nearby hotels but worth the price.It has easy access to the mall and the theme park. There used to be a bus that leaves Orchard Road in SIngapore and goes direct to this hotel which takes about 4 hours travel.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool or the theme park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Tan, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear betty l,

Thank you for your time in writing us this review. We are indeed proud of the facilities that we offer to our guests in this integrated city. If you require any travel services to Singapore, be sure to contact the Concierge as they will be able to provide you with the necessary information needed to arrange for your travel needs.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here for a night. Great location for family holiday. We arrived late night and check in was flawless. Overall, excellent service and great selection of breakfast. Would definitely come back again for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscar_whitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Tan, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear oscar_whitby,

It's been a great honour welcoming you to our Hotel. We are glad that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. Please do contact us if you require any assistance in making any future bookings and to provide you with another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaling Jaya
0.0 mi away
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
#5 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Sunway
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Su...
#33 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,336 reviews
5.3 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,106 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sunway Putra Hotel
Sunway Putra Hotel
#32 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Persiaran Lagoon | Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya 46150, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#4 Business Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#4 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa is one of Kuala Lumpur’s most iconic 5-star hotels, situated within the sprawling integrated resort of Sunway City. The Hotel is located next to Sunway Lagoon theme park and connected to the massive Sunway Pyramid shopping mall, seamlessly integrating facilities for easy, within the minute walking-access, to a multitude of leisure and business services. On arrival, the Hotel’s dramatic neo classical façade welcomes guests to superlative features and thematic architectural designs, sheltered by towering minaret glass domes and a main driveway that boasts monumental sculptures of deer being pursued by a Malayan tiger and two life-size elephants stand guard; with a profusion of fountains and captivating oasis of water features. The Hotel’s 441 guestrooms and suites are equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi and other modern conveniences. Most guestrooms have theme park views or the resort's skyline; some provide balconies with an opportunity to walk out to the lush tropical gardens. Facilities within the hotel include an expansive free-form landscaped swimming pool with cascading waterfalls, a Balinese-inspired Mandara spa, a fitness centre, an all-day dining restaurant, a lobby lounge and several independently-operated Chinese, Thai and other speciality restaurants. Located adjacent to the Hotel are Sunway Pyramid Convention Centre, 170 food and beverage outlets and over 900-retail stores in the shopping mall, and two additional hotel towers with Sunway Pyramid Hotel and Sunway Clio Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Resort Hotel And Spa
Sunway Hotel Petaling Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing