We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely one night stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely one night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at the Sunway Resort Hotel and Spa by default as the booking we had at the Pyramid tower has a complication on one night, and we were put up at this plays. It is quite a beautiful hotel, overlooking the theme park and can be considered special

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the theme park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tusitha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Tan, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Tusitha k,

We apologise for the difficulties that you had faced during your check-in with us. We are glad that despite the trouble, you and your family still enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will continue to provide us with your support and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    535
    230
    80
    49
See reviews for
783
216
39
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

i suggest this hotel to spend minimum 3 nighest to explore the aria since most of attraction in Kuala lumpure is near to. hotel have good location connected with the biggest mall in kuala lumpur , nice swim pool and cool theme park ( which the rides not all launched yet).

Room Tip: theme park view is the best and if you have kids chose 2 double bed its large and you can share it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SondusA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Tan, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Sondus M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we are glad to have met your expectations during your stay. Sunway Lagoon Theme Park’s new ride, the Vuvuzela will be opening soon and we will be sure to inform you once it does.

We hope that you will continue to keep us in mind when you decide to return to Malaysia and allow us to make your next stay with us a pleasurable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
163 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Resort may be ok, but my club level room was disappointing, cramped, and cave-like. Never could figure out how to turn one of the lights off, except by unplugging it from the socket. Neither the master room switch, nor the toggle on the light fixture itself seemed to be operable. I would not return unless conference was sited there.

Room Tip: Stayed on the club level - expecting a nicer than average room. While the bed was firm and comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbrech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Tan, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hello rbrech.

Thank you for sharing these comments regarding your recent stay. We're disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations, but we do appreciate your feedback on how we could be better.

We strive to offer our guests with a flawless experience and we're sorry to hear we fell short in a few areas - particularly so in the room layout and in making the ideal Gin Martini. We'll also look into the payment arrangements and pace of service at the lobby lounge. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
839 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

It has a very nice pool and is right infront of the theme park. It also has a grand lobby. Everything looks extravagant. A bit pricey compared to other nearby hotels but worth the price.It has easy access to the mall and the theme park. There used to be a bus that leaves Orchard Road in SIngapore and goes direct to this hotel which takes about 4 hours travel.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool or the theme park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Tan, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear betty l,

Thank you for your time in writing us this review. We are indeed proud of the facilities that we offer to our guests in this integrated city. If you require any travel services to Singapore, be sure to contact the Concierge as they will be able to provide you with the necessary information needed to arrange for your travel needs.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here for a night. Great location for family holiday. We arrived late night and check in was flawless. Overall, excellent service and great selection of breakfast. Would definitely come back again for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oscar_whitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Tan, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear oscar_whitby,

It's been a great honour welcoming you to our Hotel. We are glad that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. Please do contact us if you require any assistance in making any future bookings and to provide you with another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent a week at the Sunway Resort. The hotel was fully booked when we made travel arrangements, but we managed to get a room at The Club and we did not regret it. The Club is several floors at the top of the hotel with its own Concierge and Lounge.

The ladies at the Club were amazing. They were friendly and helpful and dedicated to their jobs.

Breakfast was simple but delicious. Hot dishes were a la carte and the rest was provided on the buffet. The complimentary buffet for breakfast (as of 6.30am), afternoon tea (as of 2.30pm which we would often have as lunch), and evening drinks with hors d'oeuvres (as of 5.30pm which often turned out to be our dinner) was always made up of an array of freshly prepared hot and cold snacks, some local dishes and other European style choices. We liked the convenience of stepping out of our room and coming down a floor to this semi-private dining room and buffet. In the evening, with our kids (4 and 6 years old) it was easy to dine early and return to our room.

On other occasions we ate at the mall connected to the resort where we did some shopping. We spent one day at the water park (connected to the hotel) and the other days we did some sightseeing. We went to the elephant sanctuary (a long drive but very worth it !), our daughter painted a batik (amazing experience for her !), we visited the botanical gardens (a hot and humid affair but got some great pics !), went up the Twin Towers (amazing architectural feat !), and the rest of the time enjoyed the pool at the hotel….

The room was comfortable and clean with an amazing view over the amusement park.

Christina Barlet the Club Manager made our stay in Kuala Lumpur memorable. She provided us with invaluable advice on excursions and catered to our every need. She epitomizes what a Hotel Manager is and should be. Big thumbs up to the Sunway Resort & especially to The Club and its staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rs08082014t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Tan, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear SG_13479,

Thank you for such a heart-warming review of us. We strive to provide our guests with the best possible service to make their stay with as memorable as yours. We will ensure that your kind words to The Club staff are conveyed and be recognised for their hard work.

We hope that you will continue to support us and be able to welcome you once again to the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Amazing view service location and everything prices are resonable and services is excellent i highly recomend it to enjoy ur vication in addition to that its next to the sunway lagon park ,the only problem i face there is that the furinture is some how old but i think they will renew it , book your room in highest floors for the amazing view juner suit is the best choice for small suite but it doesn't have showerbox inside

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anmarmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Tan, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Anmarmj,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and would like to thank you once again for the time in writing this review.

We are very proud of our Club Rooms and it indeed has an amazing view of Sunway Resort City. We hope that you will return in the near future to allow us to provide you with another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaling Jaya
0.1 mi away
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
#6 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Sunway
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Su...
#12 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
5.3 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#4 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sunway Putra Hotel
Sunway Putra Hotel
#34 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Persiaran Lagoon | Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya 46150, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#3 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#4 Business Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 439
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The flagship hotel of this destination is the 5-star Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa that offers a collection of 439 well-appointed guestrooms and suites. The portfolio of rooms includes Premier rooms, Junior suites, The Club rooms and Club suites, Premier Executive suites, and an impressive Presidential Suite. All guestrooms are equipped with conveniences for the modern business and leisure travellers, which include broadband facilities, in-room infotainment services, satellite television and movie channels and numerous other facilities and amenities like a private electronic safe deposit box, coffee and tea making facilities and a mini-bar. Most rooms have a splendid view of Sunway Lagoon or the resort's skyline; some provide balconies with an opportunity to walk out to the gardens and swimming pool. The Club guestrooms and suites in Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa are designed for a lifestyle of added comfort, privacy and exclusivity with all the necessary facilities and services to cater for business executives and leisure traveller on-the-go. The Club Lounge offers business class conveniences with an experienced team to cater to guests' needs. The Club floor privileges include complimentary Continental breakfast, light refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes, butler service and private check-in and check-out facilities. The Club Floor rooms offer elevator key-access, affording guests with added level of security and privacy, supplemented by a boardroom and private lounge facilities at The Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Resort Hotel And Spa
Sunway Hotel Petaling Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing