We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have stayed here before and once again, the resort has surpassed excellence.

The rooms are very spacious and maintained well. The pool area has been recently renovated and looks great and lots of sun chairs to choose from. The restaurant was also very good at breakfast with many varieties of western food and local cuisine....the only thing is that at 1031am, everything has disappeared. The staff were very quick to clear breakfast items - understandably, it may be to get ready for lunch however, it would have made sense to leave things like the fruit and pastries and fruit juices for another 10-15 minutes.

The staff are very attentive and always greeting with a smile. The lobby staff are always smiling and would always have the door opened..never have opened the door at Sunway Resort - the staff always beat us to it.

It is a little outside the KL city centre....however the Sunway shopping centre next door is great for shopping.

15-20 minutes from Bukit Bintang however there is new freeway that cuts the travelling time in half.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with theme park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelmate99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Travelmate99,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are happy to hear that our resort has surpassed your expectations. Please let us know when you will be visiting again so we can assist you with the bookings, have a pleasant day ahead.

Simon
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    535
    230
    80
    49
See reviews for
782
215
39
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel is like an oasis at the place where its located, though far from the city (KLCC). The appearance is great and excellent customer service.

The rooms needs to have some works done. Its least sound proof.
The breakfast spread is amazing with a good variety of choices. Its pakced during seasons.
Good job done to ensure everyone gets seated during the morning rush hrs.
The internet is rather slow and keeps disconnecting which was a drawback!

The only nearby entertainment is the Lagoon and the mall. You could get pre paid taxi's at a more economical charge from the mall.

They have a wonderful large pool and gym where you could unwind.

Room Tip: The rooms on top does not have a balcony but the pool/lagoon facing rooms on the bottom floors have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anupsonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Fuzion has a variety of choices for their breakfast spread, did you manage to try Fuzion’s Nasi Lemak? The anchovy ‘sambal’ that goes with the rice is simply delicious. Let us know the next time you are back in Malaysia so we can assist you with the necessary arrangements for your stay or visit Sunway Putra in Kuala Lumpur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodend, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

When my colleagues and I are sent to KL, we are all put in the Sunway Resort and Spa. It is one of the better hotels we get put in. The architecture is cheesy at best, as it is for the shopping mall next door, but aside from that I find it hard to fault this hotel. The food tends to be excellent, with one of the better breakfast buffets I have come across. I find the staff hard to fault - they are always friendly and attentive. The rooms are also very good. The only real fault with this hotel is its location. It is in suburban KL, with no easy access to the transit system, meaning unless you want to shop next door in the large shopping mall, or go to the Sunway Lagoon fun park there isn't a great deal to do or see. Aside from that I would never hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the "club" area on floors 17, 18, 19, 20 & 21. The closer to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear mwinchester,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. On your next visit, you should definitely drop by the Lobby Lounge in the evening and enjoy some tunes from James Chew, our resident pianist.

Simon
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Level Contributor
278 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Sunway Lagoon & Resorts hotel - 22, 23 and 24 August. We went to breakfast around 8:30 am. Its located at Level 1 the
Fuzion restaurant. As you exit the lifts take a right ( the pool area is on the left).
The breakfast is top notch with several stations - egg, chinese (great noodles and peking duck), bakery, Indian (veg curry, dhal, paratha, etc), japanese. Etc. I particularly enjoyed the hummus, baba ganoush with arab pita bread. Lots of fresh fruits, dried fruits, etc. Service
Was a tad bit slow as we had to call the cleaners to take away used plates.
One piece of advice. Make sure you get
There before 8:30 latest. Lots of Arab families with lots of kids who really take up a lot of room. Infact, when we were
Leaving the restaurant at around 9:30, there was a huge line of families waiting to be seated. You Don't wanna be behind them ! Lol.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanuckinDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Hi CanuckinDhaka,

It’s nice to know that you enjoyed our breakfast spread at Fuzion. The next time you visit, you should try Chef Wu’s dim sum varieties for brunch that is served every Sunday or during public holidays.


Simon
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Hard to put into words how beautiful this hotel is.My husband and I and our two children(now 10and14)have stayed there three times and each time,just as good as the first.The staff,from reception to the front doorman and everywhere in between are courteous and always greet you with the warmest of smiles.The room(a premier rm with two dble beds)is lovely decorated and plenty big all the furniture and carpet is as new.The bathroom(has separate shower)is Also of a good size and clean.Had buffet breakfast included in rate and wow what a breakfast!The staff also very friendly and polite.Spectacular pool area,very good gym.Pyramid shopping mall next door brilliant,very upmarket looking but retail shops very reasonably priced.Plenty of eating options ,ice arena,bowling and cinema.Right next door to hotel(basically attached)is the Sunway lagoon theme and water park,great for all ages,even adults.Gets very busy ,best time to go is at Ramadan .I highly recommend this hotel,our last visit was in Sept 2010 and the kids still rave about it.
,

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Hi Lisa D,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased you had a good experience staying with us. It makes us smile knowing that our efforts are appreciated and that our guests are happy.

On your next trip, you should definitely try Fuzion’s dinner buffet for its extensive variety. You should also check out the latest rides offered by Sunway Lagoon, particularly the world's largest Vortex ride. Log on to Sunway Lagoon's site for information on the latest attractions. Please let us know when your coming next so that we can help you with the bookings.

Simon , Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were visiting family in Malaysia and the kids wanted to get away to swim and shop. We booked our stay at the Sunway Resort & Spa - initially it was difficult to find the entrance to the resort.
Once we arrived and we walked into the main entrance/front desk - we were blown away with the beauty and grandeaur of the property. It apparently was opened about 10-15 years ago. It was very well maintained and a pleasure to stay there.
We checke dinto our rooms (with adjoining doors) - the standard rooms were larage in size (about 550 sq feet) each. Each room had their own safe and bottled water (important to my wife!) We stayed on the 7th floor. The Front desk was on the 15th floor! Beds were comfortable and the channels on the TV were abundant. Loved the ability to access the internet with no additional charge.
We booked the package which included the breakfast the following day - what an incredible spread of Local and western offerings. My kids were in heaven (being able to get their favorite cereals) and I was able to enjoy some of the local favorites. (I grew up in KL, Malaysia). Service was very gracious.

The swimming pool was a great relaxing location for us to wind down. The waiter by the pool (did not get his name) - made the experience even more plesing. He was so accomodating in getting us our pool loungers and and keeping us "hydrated" with the different exotic alcoholic beverages. The kids got their juices and ice cream - he just took care of everything.

The Shopping Mall was a few minutes walk in a covered walkway from the front doors - the stores were just amazing - I would say between 600 - 800 stores. Restaurants galore and they even had an ice skating rink on the bottom floor.

We loved it so much we will not be going to Singapore on our next trip out and will plan to stay for 3 nights at this resort and not leave... everything was there for us to relax!

Room Tip: Book the packages they offer - worth the savings. Go to their website and checkout the offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Kim627,

We are glad that you had a great time at our resort and that we were able to meet your
expectations. It’s nice to know that you had a relaxing time at the pool. Did you know that we have a Balinese inspired spa (Mandara Spa) located at the same level? Perhaps you can book yourself an appointment when you visit us again.

We are looking forward to your next trip. Let us know if you need any help with the bookings.

Simon, Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Right beside both the shopping center and the water park, this is the number 1 place to stay in KL with kids. Its about 30min drive from the city center or 60min in peak hour.

Nice rooms clean and comfortable, very good service from all levels of staff.

Breakfast was a nice, with both Western and Asian options.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne_Oz_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Hi Wayne_Oz_me,

It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed the variety of food offered by our outlets. Our chefs often update their menus to serve their latest inventions. Did you manage to try our Ramadan buffet spread at Fuzion while you were here?

Perhaps during your next trip you can try our Creole and Cajun flavours from the New Orleans Bar & Grill and enjoy some nice jazz music as you dine.

Have a pleasant day ahead.

Simon
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaling Jaya
0.1 mi away
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
#6 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Sunway
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Su...
#12 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
5.3 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#4 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sunway Putra Hotel
Sunway Putra Hotel
#32 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Persiaran Lagoon | Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya 46150, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#3 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#4 Business Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 439
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The flagship hotel of this destination is the 5-star Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa that offers a collection of 439 well-appointed guestrooms and suites. The portfolio of rooms includes Premier rooms, Junior suites, The Club rooms and Club suites, Premier Executive suites, and an impressive Presidential Suite. All guestrooms are equipped with conveniences for the modern business and leisure travellers, which include broadband facilities, in-room infotainment services, satellite television and movie channels and numerous other facilities and amenities like a private electronic safe deposit box, coffee and tea making facilities and a mini-bar. Most rooms have a splendid view of Sunway Lagoon or the resort's skyline; some provide balconies with an opportunity to walk out to the gardens and swimming pool. The Club guestrooms and suites in Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa are designed for a lifestyle of added comfort, privacy and exclusivity with all the necessary facilities and services to cater for business executives and leisure traveller on-the-go. The Club Lounge offers business class conveniences with an experienced team to cater to guests' needs. The Club floor privileges include complimentary Continental breakfast, light refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes, butler service and private check-in and check-out facilities. The Club Floor rooms offer elevator key-access, affording guests with added level of security and privacy, supplemented by a boardroom and private lounge facilities at The Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Resort Hotel And Spa
Sunway Hotel Petaling Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing