We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Shining...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
Ranked #48 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“The Shining...”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed for one night because Permai next door did not have a cabin available until the next day. There was a total of approx. 6 guests in this huge place, which made it kind of creepy... We had a drink at the bar and ate in the buffet restaurant all by ourselves (both quite expensive by the way)!
The Cons: The Chinese restaurant was closed and the seafood restaurant was catering to a couple on the beach (finally - more people!), no other guests allowed. The pool was quite dirty, I wanted to take a swim and realized how cloudy the water was when I just dived in, sorry, really disgusting. All in all, there are no guests, so it seems like they do not bother with opening/cleaning all facilities too much. No idea what came first... I would never want to spend my entire vacation there, really creepy, but maybe it gets more crowded on weekends.
To end with the good points: The room (superior with balcony) was very clean, everything recently built/renovated. The location is great for Damai Beach, Sarawak Cultural Village and tours to Bako. The staff is nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trillian82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DPRS_Manager, Manager at Damai Puri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for your review of our Resort.

For your information, we do not have a Chinese Restaurant or seafood restaurant catering to guest on the beach as mentioned in your review. Our main restaurants are Elements which is all-day dinning whereas Ku restaurant is an Asian Restaurant but we do not have Chinese or seafood. All our restaurants are opened for operation as usual and none was closed. Moreover, we do not cater for private dining at the beach except for popular BBQ at our boardwalk.

As for our pools, we have two (2) pools; Infinity Pool and Family Pool with slides. We have not received any complaints on the quality of water in our pools and you can refer to other travelers’ comments who have had stayed with us during the month of May 2011.

In addition, our room configuration categories are Deluxe Rainforest and Deluxe Sea view. We do not sell “superior room” as mentioned in your review although most of our rooms have balconies and sea facing.

As such, we believed that your review may not be Damai Puri Resort & Spa and probably other nearby resort that we are aware of similar facilities as mentioned in your review.

Our management heeds our guests’ comments very seriously and therefore, we would sincerely appreciate if you could provide us more information of your stay such as your name and date of stay so we can address your comments accurately and reply directly to you.

Kindly send your details to: gm@damaipuriresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    79
    94
    86
    75
See reviews for
118
130
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Having stayed at this resort many years ago when it was called Damai Lagoon, I was interested to see if the money they invested in refurbishing this place was well spent. Having read many of the reviews (both negative and positive) prior to arriving at Damai Puri, I was prepared to some extent for what was to come. What surprised me most about this resort however was the complete lack of atmosphere - much of which I put down to the uninspiring levels of service and complete lack of attention to detail.

What is most disappointing about this place is that given the natural beauty of the surrounds, this resort has amazing potential, but it appears doomed to go sadly unrealised. The work they have done on the adult and kid's pools is excellent. These are definite positives, as is the spa which is nicely furnished and reasonably priced. Unfortunately however, the effort that has gone into these areas has not been extended to the upkeep of the rooms, the quality of the food, the condition of the restaurants or the levels of service.

Very rarely have I seen so many hotel staff accomplish so little over the course of 4 days. What could have been a lovely beach was unfortunately littered with rubbish. It would have taken 2 or 3 people literally 30 minutes to clean this up, but for the entire 4 days I stayed at Damai Puri I lost count of the number of hotel staff I saw just standing around doing nothing.

One last quibble which I thought worth mentioning is the ludicrous amount they charge for parking your car near the reception area. Considering that the main carpark (which is free) is located a mere 20 metres away, to ask for RM 150 to park your car near reception is daylight robbery. Especially considering the entire time I stayed there I only saw 2 other cars in total. Not a major issue, but I think indicative of the attitude of the management of this resort. A nice fancy new pool and pretty website don't make up for the shortcomings. Disappointing to say the least.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blankii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Beijing, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed at Damai Puri Resort & Spa for a quick 3D2N vacation with the family in late July. Were given rooms facing the "infinity" swimming pool and the sea, which was very nice.
Definitely get a ocean-view room. Room facilities are spartan but clean. Decent LCD TV in each room with some cable channels.
Beach was a short 5 minutes walk from the room, very private and wasn't crowded at all.
Calling the hotel prior to our arrival to arrange transport and ask questions was pretty hopeless, but the overall experience made it very worthwhile. Did also try the spa, which was very good as well. Buffet breakfast, included with every room/guest, was from 6.30 - 10.30am daily, had a good spread of local and international fare.

The nearby tourist attractions include the Sarawak Cultural Village (where the Rainforest World Music Festival is held), Mount Santubong (jungle trekking), and Damai Golf & Country Club.

A few tips for potential guests:

1) You can hop into a regular cab from the Kuching Int'l Airport for RM$70 one way. If you have additional oversize baggage like golf clubs, you can ask for a MPV taxi (Toyota Innova) but it'll cost more per trip. There are at least 2 taxi/car hire companies at the airport so do check with either. I used RG Carhire on my trip, very reliable.

2) Staying at the Damai Puri, the biggest problem was transportation. The hotel has a shuttle to bring guests to and from Kuching city area, leaving the hotel daily at 10.45am and 4pm respectively to Kuching. The last shuttle back from Kuching to the hotel is at 8.30pm. The dropoff/pickup is near the Main Bazaar. It costs RM$12/person/one way.

The hotel staff doesn't always tell you about the alternative public shuttle that goes from Damai - Kuching every 2 hours, it costs RM$10 and provides pickup/dropoff from Damai Puri's lobby to anywhere in Kuching City. It's clean and safe, could get a bit crowded but is far more regular than the hotel shuttle. Last pickup from Kuching back to Damai is at 10pm from the front of the Grand Margherita hotel in town.

3) Seafood dinner. Kuching abounds with fresh seafood, being a coastal city. The best place for seafood is at Topspot, which is behind the Main Bazaar. It's relatively easy to spot, look for key landmarks: Parkson departmental store/Sarawak Plaza/Riverside Hotel. It's behind all of these, on the 6th floor of a carpark. It's not a restaurant, but a open-air food centre with many stalls selling seafood. Just pick any that catches your fancy. We ate at Stall No. 10, ABC Seafood, and were greatly satisfied with both the food and the prices.
Among the dishes you should try are: Midin (wild jungle fern) fried with Belachan (local dried seafood paste), Butter Prawns (crispy! eat the shells too!), Black Pepper Mussels or Black Pepper Crab (local specialty), Oyster Omelette, Steamed Pomfret. Dinner for 4 of us ranged between RM$100 - RM$130, including drinks.

4) There isn't that much stuff to buy, the usual tourist knick knacks include batik cloths, local biscuits/foodstuffs, pepper-products in abundance and some handicrafts. Prices are pretty standard throughout, just bargain for discount if you're buying more than 1 piece.

5) The beach at Damai Puri is lovely. The water is clean and clear. So do remember to bring your swimming gear and just laze away at the beach. Not much in terms of seasports available, but if you're looking to get away from it all. This place is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ocean-view, get a room that's on level 1 or 2 for easy access to the beach/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roastduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I stay here for one night on january 2011 and i have a best experince on my stay.they have a SUPER staff especially from the restaurant.Staff that i mention is Ms.Ernina from restaurant.The way She treat me like her know me quiet long.I and my partner really enjoy it.many thank for make our stay valueable.

Beside that we also enjoy the nice room with nice open south china sea.WOW!!! everyone should try that.make sure you make a booking with sea view.You will feel the different of your life.Really different from your own place.Best hotel that i stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saini85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We booked at the last minute and the Damai Puri is just next to the Rain Forest World Music Fest. The location was great, the pool refreshing and the beach beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmptyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

just stayed saturday and sunday in one of the 'sea view' rooms. there were three of us total so we got the room with two twin beds and requested a roll-away bed. there was plenty of room for the three of us. the view from the room was amazing. the room was about the equivalent of 100 usd (add another 30usd for the roll-away/night) which i thought was very reasonable for that kind of view. breakfast is also included and was very good. this place is definitely a place to relax. there were lots of families/kids there as well but it didn't bother us. the pool is very big and nice - right by the ocean. had a massage at the spa and that was great as well. they offer 20% off spa treatments b/t 10am and 2pm. this is my second time to kuching and it is a great quick trip if you don't have much time to get away, but need a vacation (i live in Singapore). 2 to 3 days is enough to relax and see some of the sights.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelsing13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

This place is a little gem in my opinion - especially given the price. Pleasant, bright rooms with a balcony giving stunning views over the South China Sea and Mt. Santubong.
Quite a quiet place, especially in the week. A stone's throw from Sarawak Cultural Village, and there is also an hour long trek through the adjacent rain forest; kayaking; various boat trips and Kuching about 30-40 mins. away. This is a great place for relaxing though, ideally with a good book with the 65m-long infinity pool on open side and the South China Sea on the other. Spa offers Balinese massage. Overall, a great place to relax.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrightonPeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#17 of 54 in Kuching
709 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,571 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#29 of 54 in Kuching
254 reviews
13.8 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Permai Rainforest Resort
Permai Rainforest Resort
#10 of 54 in Kuching
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damai Puri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Puri Resort & Spa

Property: Damai Puri Resort & Spa
Address: Damai Puri Resort & Spa Teluk Penyuk | PO Box 3058, Kuching 93762, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Damai Puri Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting Damai Beach at the foot of Mount Santubong in Kuching, Malaysia, Damai Puri Resort & Spa spans 207 elegant guestrooms, and boasts a Spa Village, 600-capacity ballroom, exhaustive recreation facilities, and 2 restaurants and 3 bars. It also hosts numerous activities for kids, couples, leisure travelers, and big groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Damai Puri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Puri Hotel Kuching
Damai Puri Resort And Spa
Damai Puri Resort & Spa Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing