We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a Gem !”
Review of The Village House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Village House
Ranked #5 of 82 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We've stayed here because of Sarawak Music Festival. The package prices include breakfasts, dinners and transfers to festival venue. And it was fantastic arranged !

The village house was beautiful, the bedroom was spacious, we got to walk to the village nearby and best of all, the warm welcome from the host and staff. Marina being an experienced traveller herself knows what travellers need and want. She is really a good host, we had amazing gatherings and laughters during our last night with other travellers.

The package price was not that cheap (of course because we've chose to stay in Rajah Room) but what we've experienced was magical. Definitely a good value.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InLadySg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 255 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2011

I've never stayed anywhere like Village House. Step inside the gates and you are transported to another world. The whole set up is something special, from the picture-perfect pool, the day beds and hammocks, the spotlessly clean rooms, the wild and beautiful beach footsteps from the front door ... Added to that the level of service and friendliness Laurence and his team provide is second to none.

The amazing thing about Village House is that even on a budget you can stay in luxourious surroundings. We stayed in the dorms, and you get your bed made and turned down in the evening (with tiny Cadbury chocolates left out for you), everything is cleaned daily, there are separate towels provided for the pool - it is a whole other level of 'home stay'. The breakfast that’s included is phenomenal: make sure you wake up hungry.

Go for relaxation, tranquillity, to meet some wonderfully friendly and knowledgeable people and to experience something else in a very special part of the world. Hang by the pool, watch movies and read in the upstairs lounge, drink at the bar, walk around the village, take a trip up the mountain or around the mangroves, the team at Village House have it covered. I just hope my lucky stars someday we can return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

From the web site, it is just the kind of accomodation that I love - well designed, easy going, strong local flavour, and the promise of good food. Village House is beautifully built - full marks for that - but I did not enjoy my stay at all. The room was way too small. The only windows open out onto the central "courtyard" area and you look straight into somebody else's room (they are all on same level). I couldn't sleep at night because you can hear all the noise that's coming from the bar. Outside the room, there is plenty of communal sitting area, but given it's all within a small property, there's not much to do apart from reading. The pool is extremely narrow so it holds two people max. There's a TV room upstairs but the roof leaks so the floor was wet when we went. As for access to "nature"? There's a very unattractive beach nearby and female guests are told not to walk around in swimming costumes. And it took us hours of walking along a major car road to reach a badly maintained "rainforest walk". The food was quite good though.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HYT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

For me Malaysia has always been about the people and tt's nature. The Village House really reflects the people tha own it. Donald and Marina arre excellent hosts, both clearly well travelled and in love with their hometown. They gave us a really warm welcome and many good insights into what to do in the local area. The Village House is in Santubong village itself, interesting to walk about and close to the cultural vilalge, permai Rain Forest and beaches at Damai - you'd not consider Santubong's beach as very attractive, but this is not a beach holdiay place.

The Village House is traditionally built and furnished, our room was spactious, although you can see some are smaller, overlooking the pool with our own balcony to sit on. People come to chill and relax here, and we have to say the evening meal was superb, a fusion of cultures which could have come from a many star hotel.

I'll confess to being a city stay person - but the Village House did make me consider other options. Good value and freindly, I think it' was well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen_Lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of August, meant as a little break to relax between exploring around Kuching and before we went off to Sabah. We were originally just booked for 2 nights, but extended to 3 because we had a slight change in plans due to me injuring my foot. So it was a great place to relax and rest my foot and rebuild my energy for the rest of our trip.

Our room was really nice. Very clean and nicely decorated. Although the bed was really squeaky with any slight toss or turn. Maybe it just needed to be tightened up.

Everyone there was very accommodating, particularly Marina and Laurence. We didn't explore too much of the surrounding area in Santubong, but we did do the evening cruise. It was just us with Laurence, so Donald and Marina (the owners) decided to tag along. We saw a few dolphins and proboscis monkeys. Fireflies galore, but no crocs. They were good guides and companions.

The pool is great, with plenty of little areas and chairs to relax and read a book or play a board game. The beach is just maybe 5 minutes up the road. We didn't swim, we heard it was a bit dirty, but it was a great looking little beach.

We also went to Bako from here for a day trip. We'd meant to do it from Kuching, but because of my foot we had to delay it a few days. It was a bit more expensive to have Laurence shuttle us there than to take the bus from Kuching, obviously, but it only took about 45 minutes. So if you're thinking about just coming here, Bako is definitely doable as a day trip from Village House.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rek731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We were initially booked for three nights but extended our stay for an additional night. Fantastic place, great food, great pool.

Laurence, Marina and all the staff could not do enough for you.

The peace and quiet of this place was fantastic after a day out sightseeing. It is 30 minutes from Kuching and about 10 minutes from the Cultural village but there is a shuttle bus, or you might want to think about hiring a motorbike.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H-Kaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Wow, this is an amazing place! First of all the service was absolutely excellent (they even managed to wash our dirty clothes in less then 12 ours;)), thank you Laurence for your amazing enthousiasm, we would have loved to stay and relax here a little longer. Second the whole building is set up so nicely and the rooms are fabulous and there's a cool 'exploring beach' just a few steps away with lovely sunsets...
Also we loooved the food!!! Seriously highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irisspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.9 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#15 of 55 in Kuching
730 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
11.9 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#26 of 55 in Kuching
264 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
208 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Marian Boutique Lodging House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village House

Address: Off Jalan Pantai Puteri, Kpg. | Santubong Peninsula, Kuching 93756, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: $70 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden down a dusty track, just 100metres from the beach in the friendly village of Santubong, The Village House offers the tranquility and service that most travelers crave. The traditional Malay-style stilted rooms and the many chill out areas are decorated using local materials and Sarawakian handicrafts, and this together with the warm and friendly staff ensures that you too feel the welcoming hospitality for which Sarawak is famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Village House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village House Hotel Kuching
The Village House Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing