We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of The Village House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Village House
Ranked #5 of 84 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2008

Village House is a fantastic place to stay and was definately one of the highlights of a recent trip to Malaysia. We stayed for 3 nights in Oct 08 and had a great time. Rooms are well appointed with ensuite and air conditioning, evening meals were some of the best we experienced on our trip and our hosts very friendly, and helpful.

Mountain bikes are available free of charge and the Damai area (cultural village, beaches and jungle walks) is easily accessible either by pedal or by shuttle bus (which the hosts will happily arrange).

The property is situated on the outskirts of a quiet village (easy walking distance to small shops) with the beach around 100 meters away.

We also stayed at Singahsana Lodge in Kuching (same owners), which is probably a better base for kayaking, Semmengoh and Bako, but Village House is a great spot for a more relaxing stay away from the city.

For the price, you would struggle to find anything better - would definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pete_and_Fay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 255 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2008

Four of us stayed here for 5 nights in September, and had a really great time. Two of us needed a relaxing break, and got it! The other two wanted a jumping off place for trips to Baco National park, and a two-day long-house visit, and it was ideal.

Echoing previous reviewers, you do feel like a guest rather than a customer here. The rooms are really excellent, and are beautifully clean; the pool is wonderful, and the cooking is great. But the welcome and the friendliness are what really set the Village House apart.

Minor negatives; food and drink are perhaps a little dearer than we expected, and the local beach isn't suitable for swimming. Also the broadband is horribly slow. And there are bicycles available free of charge, but they are small, and poor quality.

But these are negligible issues set alongside the overwhelming sense of welcome that envelopes you here. And what can you say about a hotel/restaurant where they are really happy to call the local Chinese fish restaurant for you ("the Beach"; excellent) and arrange for the restaurant to send a car to pick you up for supper? This is their competition for your dinnertime funds!

We loved this place, and can't commend it highly enough for anyone who wants a taste of real quality at what is still an affordable price.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grey.dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

I completely agree with all the other reviewers - this is an amazing find. We were only there two nights but we could have easily stayed for more. Donald and Marina were so friendly and helpful, as was their mother. The rooms were beautifully decorated, as was the entire hotel. It was quiet, relaxing - especially as there is a no-child policy. So difficult to find in Asia!

This hotel is amazing value for money and a fantastic place to visit the National Park from.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princess_Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

What more can be said about this place than it is a piece of paradise. The web site tells no lies; it really does look that beautiful of an evening!
Village House is a small family run place, run by Donald and Marina, a young local couple and Donald’s wonderful mum Daling. They and their staff are what really make this place so wonderful. We stayed in their wonderful Rajah Room for 5 nights in July, but we spent most of the time (when not enjoying the range of things to do around the place) lounging by the pool reading a book or talking with new friends.

The food was exceptional, especially the Rendang, but I would also recommend the 8 course “taste of Borneo” experience, which Chef carefully prepares and clearly takes enormous pride in!!!

Everything is very reasonably priced and they have a range of rooms from the best backpacker rooms I have ever seen (agreed by those staying in them) right through to the rooms we stayed in.

Activities around the area were easy to get to with Donald’s primary school friend recommended as a taxi driver. William didn’t disappoint and we were well looked after, travelling to the Orang-Utans, the wind and fairy caves and across to Bako National park. All of these were well worth the time.

Work from their friend and wonderful artist Ramsay Ong can be found around the place and we visited the gallery in Kuching and were so taken by one piece he did during his time in Sri Lanka we had to purchase it.

Enough said, the place was really wonderful and despite how glowing this report is, I really have no prior connection with Village House. We simply stayed there and loved both the people and the place. I do recommend that if you are in the area, give it a go!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank raldat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

After almost 3 months of traveling staying in various standards of accomodation The Village House was without a doubt the most amazing place we stayed by far. Donald and Marina were most welcoming and with their help and guidance we got to experience the real Borneo. The rooms were stunning, the food fantastic and even though the weather was pretty terrible we still managed to have a great time. We cannot recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank osue63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Stayed with some friends who live in Sarawak for one night and would echo the words of the two previous reviewers.

Each guest is certainly treated as an individual; so very different and refreshing from a normal large resort where this is impossible no matter how hard they try!

I would add that the location is also ideal for anybody attending the annual Rainforest World Music Festival which is held at the nearby Sarawak Cultural Village.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2008

This was an accidental and fantastic find and excellent value for money. We were trying to stay at their other place Singghasana in Kuching but it was fully booked so the owners told us about their new venture; The Village House - 40 minutes drive out of Kuching near Kampong Santubong (village) and at the foot of the stunning Santubong Mountains. This was far far better than staying in Kuching itself. The scenery is stunning, there is a beautiful natural beach 2 minutes walk away and the guest house itself is unique and the best place we have stayed in to date in over 3 months travel in SE Asia. The rooms are all new with sparkling brand new contemporary bathrooms, perfect showers, really comfortable 4 poster beds, wooden floors, lovely bed linens and mosquito netting, daily room cleaning and bed turn down in the evening with chocolates and bottles of water. The rooms are on stilts accessed by wooden stairs and overlook a central area with a perfect 15 metre long lap pool; drinks can be served to you in the pool whilst cooling off after a long day of sightseeing. The menu is great, better than any food we ate in Kuching and at very good prices, the bar is well stocked, the staff are excellent. The common room areas are beautiful and well thought out. A TV/lounge room with internet and DVDs and books and magazines to read whilst there. The quality of everything is 5 star and the interior design etc is of very high standards. The Malaysian owners, Donald and Marina, are keen and talented photographers and have travelled the world themselves and know what their customers need. There are hairdryers in the rooms, fresh towels, a fan and brand new air-con units. No safety deposit boxes yet but the premises are very secure with a locked main entrance gate and you could ask the owners if you have any particular valuables you wish to store. We just used suitcase locks in our rooms. William, is a taxi driver friend of the family and will take you to all the local sights, the Semanggoh Orangutan sanctuary which is a must, the long houses, the Wind and Fairy Caves which are both fantastic excursions and can easily be done in less than a day. Bako National Park is a great day out for jungle trekking and wildlife (most of it seems to hang around the lodge cafe though and not the jungle if you are not up for a trek!) but the overnight accommodation is pretty terrible so you may want to think of it as a very early morning day out and last boat (approx 3pm) return back to Village House. Everything is just as easily accessible from Village House as it is from central Kuching and the location is much better than being in the city. If in Kuching city, try out the funky, new coffee bar called Bing - really good drinks and excellent chocolate fudge brownie! We loved everything about Village House; if all hoteliers tried this hard to get everything right for their guests then travelling overseas would be perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Leza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.9 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#15 of 55 in Kuching
727 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
11.9 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
The Marian Boutique Lodging House
11.8 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#26 of 55 in Kuching
264 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village House

Address: Off Jalan Pantai Puteri, Kpg. | Santubong Peninsula, Kuching 93756, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: $69 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden down a dusty track, just 100metres from the beach in the friendly village of Santubong, The Village House offers the tranquility and service that most travelers crave. The traditional Malay-style stilted rooms and the many chill out areas are decorated using local materials and Sarawakian handicrafts, and this together with the warm and friendly staff ensures that you too feel the welcoming hospitality for which Sarawak is famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Village House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village House Hotel Kuching
The Village House Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing