We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“foods are good, ambiance also good, but the service is poor”

James Brooke Bistro
Ranked #8 of 575 Restaurants in Kuching
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“foods are good, ambiance also good, but the service is poor”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

i love the food here. all came with a quite big portions. also with the ethnic interior and exterior of this place is really nice.
the service was not really good. it took too long to serve food and the waitresses were not really nice. no smile.
but overall this place is really good for dinner since the dimmed light and good song will makes your food even more tasty

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank arizka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    356
    131
    52
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,136 reviews
428 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful location near the river for a drink or a meal. Good menu. Reasonable prices, nice atmosphere , good friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“yummy curry”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

ate here a couple of times whilst in Kuching. had options for the adults and the 5 fussy children who lack adventurous taste buds preferring western options. My friend had a laksa and I had a veg curry - delish. kids had the usual fish & chips, spag bol something for everyone. The local dishes were a fraction the price of the western meals I think the kids meals were about RM25 ish each and the curries around RM11!! Great setting in a garden by the river. seemed to be mainly westerners eating here so if you looking for a venue frequented by locals i'm thinking this isn't it.
we thoroughly enjoyed our meals along with some nice cold beers .............

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kawoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great location”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Despite not having a couple of dishes on the menu, we all found something we liked. The food was delicious and made with very fresh ingredients. The setting is lovely, right on the waterfront and service was fine. Not bad prices considering the locale.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pumpkinIzmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiza
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxed Bistro by the River”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I really loved sitting by the river in the brooke bistro seeing the world go by. The little boats on the river, families and youngsters strolling by...the bistro is very nicely decorated with exotic plants .,mainly visited by european people i had the impression.The food is an enjoyable mixture of european food and malaysan specialities. My favourite meal was the Brooke Laksa.very tasty and spicy.
One of the restaurants i liked the best in Kuching.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hanneloreIbiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James Brooke Bistro also viewed

 

Been to James Brooke Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing