We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood Heaven Kuching”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pinnacles Kuching Lodge
Ranked #38 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Kuching
Reviewed December 29, 2008

Overall clean, affordable hotel for budget travellers. Must go
& visit Topspot seafood rest which is just 5mins walk away. Convenient location to pubs, malls, waterfront with friendly staff. Continental breakfast provided but if you have extra dough to spare, I suggest having buffet breakfast at Hilton or Holiday Inn instead. No harm to splurge on breakfast as It's the most important meal of the day.

Much better location than other budget hotels around there. Do plan for a kayaking trip in the highlands once in Kuching.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JM070707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2008

We had booked to stay at the Pinnacles for 2 nights and stayed for 3, but on the whole we were disappointed. The room was very basic with bad fitting furniture for the shape of the room, and no bedside table. The carpet was worn with stains and there were hairs in the "clean" bed sheets, so we used our own clothes as pillow cases. Breakfast was "help yourself" and very basic, but from experience, I think that's generally the case in most places in Borneo. On the plus side the bathroom was bright and clean, there was airconditioning and the location was very central. Also, we were able to get our washing done through the staff at a very reasonable price.

Having said that, I would not return to this hotel as unfortunately we had an incident with the staff. On first arriving at the hotel we didn't have enough cash to cover the deposit plus two full nights accommodation (which they request up front). As this was a new hotel (or I'd say it's more like a hostel) they didn't currently have their card machine installed. We returned later on in the evening with the remainder of the money we owed. However, two days later when we asked to book another night (and immediately paid up front), they told us that we had not paid our deposit on the first night and disputed it when we insisted that we had. To cut a long story short, my partner spoke over the phone to the manager to persuade her that we had paid everything. This was not very pleasant as we felt threatened by the staff on reception, it was 9pm and we worried that we might need to find another hotel for the night and the following night. From this point of view, I did not find the staff at all professional, and during the day they seemed to be sleeping in reception or playing computer games with their friends whenever we passed through. The manager made an appearance at the end of our stay, and she was extremely friendly and helpful, possibly trying to make up for our lost confidence in our experience of the service.

If I was to stay again in Kuching, I don't think I would go back to the Pinnacles. I think the hotel is still in the stages of establishing its brand, and if I was the manager I would consider training up the staff to a more professional and courteous level.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ElsBellesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

A good budget option - lady on reception was very pleasant, & helped us arrange trips to Semmengoh to see the Orangs!
Clean basic rooms, nice a/c & hot water, free toast & tea for brekkie.
Good location, walking distance to all amenities & bars etc.

Only doubt was we think some money went missing from our room while we were out. (not certain) - could have gone missing before Kuching but unlikely, & it left a bit of a sour taste in our mouths - 1st time its happened in 4 years of travelling, but didn't mention it as i had no proof.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianGFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2008

We ended up staying in a couple of the twin rooms at Pinnacles (before and after a trip to Bako - which is highly recommended).

Both rooms were clean with minimal furniture (ie two beds and curtains) although the first twin had a simple hanging frame for clothes. The inclusive breakfast was toast and fruit (well fruit on every other day), but the location was lovely - a 5 min walk to the riverfront and close to the two little shopping malls.

You could hear that there were a few bars along the street outside over the weekend - but nothing you'd lose sleep over.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank eandtonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2008

fine place, good service, basic breakfast and room in good conditions. Air con working perfectly.
I would go back.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank albertet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2007

The lodge is conveniently located and it's walkable to most of the tourist attractions within the city centre. The staff is friendly and helpful, and ever-ready to assist when I was planning my short stay in Sarawak. Ambience is warm and welcoming, and their facilities are adequate. Overall good but they just need to provide bedside tables in the Private Twin rooms.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank GaiaDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.0 mi away
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak
0.2 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#12 of 55 in Kuching
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 55 in Kuching
2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinnacles Kuching Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinnacles Kuching Lodge

Address: Level 1 Lot 21, Block G, Taman Sri Sarawak Mall | Jalan Borneo, Kuching 93100, Malaysia (Formerly Pinnacles Lodge)
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Kuching
Price Range: $10 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pinnacles Kuching Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is Pinnacles Lodge which is surrounded by all five star hotels. We are located in the center of all restaurants, shopping mall, 24hrs convenience store, banks, entertainment and places of interests such as waterfront,cinema, bowling ally, supermarkets,health therapy, Souvenir shop, temples and church. These are all within walking distance. What's there more to ask for. Pinnacles Lodge serves budget accommodation for travelers (Backpackers, on transit,students and families) on the go where you can rest comfortably within your budget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pinnacles Kuching Lodge Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing