We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a visit”

Annah Rais Longhouse Adventure
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.99*
and up
Traditional Bidayuh Village Bamboo Longhouse Tour from Kuching
Ranked #25 of 87 things to do in Kuching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Annah Rais Longhouse is a large & old Bidayuh Tribe's Longhouse that houses over 80 families. Majority of the us here are still live in a traditional way of longhouse's living. It has 175 years old written history to date. Visitor may participate in our Longhouse Adventure Program, which include longhouse accommodation, traditional meals & tours to surrounding tropical rainforest in search for astonishing waterfalls & natural Hot Spring.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I combined this tour with semenggoh wildlife centre. It was very interesting to see how others live. The house with human skulls inside wasuite interesting, apparently a long time ago some tribes were head hunters. Very nice countryside

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    66
    52
    23
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cronulla, Australia
Level Contributor
382 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
“longhouse tour not much”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We did not stay the night in the longhouse tour our tour was short and not so sweet

Those that have written reviews and stayed overnight certainly enjoyed it more than our short visit

Our tour guide spoke very little English so explained nothing to us we wandered aimlessly around the bamboo huts saw a woman weaving were not offered a drink or anything else for that matter
we saw what looked like the main kitchen and inside some of the houses

our tour was not worth the money which was not much so I guess we got what we payed for but if you go make sure you are getting an English speaking guide

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank sassafraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“long house and hot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

just a simple long house.. and we've invited from the people there to be in their house and very great explanation about kuching..

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ayu_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enriching.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I had a wonderful time during my stay there and had gained knowledge about the beautiful history and culture of the Bidayuh community. The Bidayuh community really make me feel welcomed. No regrets, I'm definitely coming back here and extend my stay! :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Salihin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
237 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“A fun stay and neat experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

We did an overnight stay. Learn about the traditional ways of the longhouse people, ear some great food, hike to a gorgeous waterfall and, see how modernity has impacted the village. A fun overnight experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank MrBunnsBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annah Rais Longhouse Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Annah Rais Longhouse Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing