We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Permai Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dormani Hotel(Kuching)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveler rating
194
200
70
21
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
200
70
21
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housemangrove tourhigh ropessilver leaf monkeysfly screensflying foxrope bridgesarawak cultural villagethe south china seano alcoholpermai rainforestsaw dolphinssurrounded by treesbako national parkdolphin watchingproboscis monkeysclose to nature
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 508 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed four nights at Permai on our recent trip to Kuching. The units are set in a nice lush jungle at the base of Mt Santubong.

First the good - the jungle setting is nice and peaceful, and we saw monkeys and squirrels moving about the canopy. The tree houses are great - we had booked a cabin but managed to change to a treehouse for one night and it was a great experience, especially sitting on the deck looking out to sea and watching monkeys swing past in the canopy. Local options at the open-air dining hall were good, though there could have been a few more healthy options at breakfast. The small beaches had nice warm water for swimming although it was not very clear.

And now for the not-so-good .... While the setting is nice, the units themselves are very run down and desperately need some basic maintenance. Sheets were old and a bit scratchy, towels paper thin (and we didn't even get towels until the second night). There are tears and fraying in the mosquito screens so mozzies can fly into the cabins, which they did, and the electrics and plumbing are really old and dodgy. I got an electric shock turning on the lights in our cabin and suggest parents watch little ones carefully! Also the plumbing was dodgy e.g. leaking pipes and blocked drains. There was also some mould around the bathroom sinks and shower pipes. Also, service was a bit patchy - not unfriendly, but a bit random e.g. No towels first night, second night had to ask three times for a spare mattress.

I would stay again, but only in a tree house and max two nights.

Room Tip: The tree house rooms are a great experience
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Permai is a lovely spot to relax and unwind. We stayed in a cabin, which was neat and clean. Be advised that there is a fair bit of walking, as the cabins are up the hill from the beach. They are in a beautiful, tranquil spot, they are just up the hill in gorgeous, thick rainforest, and it is a bit of a trek to and from the cafe and the beach. The path is paved, however, so it is an easy walk. The treehouse cabins are closer to the beach. The cabins were fine. Our cabin had six single beds, a little living area, balcony and bathroom. Bring the mosquito repellant. The cabins could possibly do with some mosquito nets, as there were lots of mozzies inside when we got there. But since you spend most of the time outside, the cabins were fine. The cafe is a lovely spot overlooking the water, and it is reasonably priced with a good variety of Malay and western foods. They could just do with selling some pieces of fruit, like bananas and apples, etc, for people with kids, as the staff found it a bit hard when I asked to just buy some fruit. There is nowhere else around to buy any in the Damai area. The beach here is gorgeous. We spent most of the day on the beach and in the water. There are monkeys in the trees above, fish in the water, and we found a starfish too! It's just a ten minute walk to the Saraak Cultural Village, and the Damai Central shops where there's a 7.11 and some restaurants. Note the ATM at Damai Central does not take Visa cards. Bring cash with you. The staff at Permai were lovely and helpful, and we did a great boat trip at sunset to see proboscis monkeys and fireflies. The Wifi in the cafe is good. None in rooms. We had a wonderful stay. We have four year old twins and the kids loved it.

Room Tip: Pick a treehouse if you can, but book early. If you're in a cabin, ask for cabins closer to the cafe.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaisingExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

A night stay in the treetop resort was amazing and great. The resort is only 10 mins walk to the Sarawak Culture Center. As you walked along the pathway to my room, you are surrounded by trees and the sound of the leaves and sea. It rain in the evening after the sun has set while we are having dinner. On our way back, the leaves of the tree helped block the rain from getting us wet. Its definitely a great place for retreat.

Room Tip: Bring your mosquito repellent at night when having dinner, the mosquito there like your food.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We enjoyed our (too brief) one night stay in the treetops. The room was clean and had a kettle and tea/coffee making facilities, an ensuite shower/loo and aircon.
The setting is idyllic - up in the trees. We saw a huge spider over the path, and lots of squirrels, but (sadly?) no monkeys or pit vipers.
The beach is lovely - sandy yet with lots of big rocks, perfect for clambering over and rockpooling. We found crabs, tiny fish and lots of lizards.
The food was good: buffet for breakfast with tea/coffee, juice, bread/toast, as well as hot food. for dinner the children enjoyed the spaghetti!
There was loud music playing the night we stayed - a beach party from next doors resort apparently. However, this did not go on late and we were assured that it was a one-off.
We would like to return another time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdyt45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed a tree house for two nights. Very well appointed, looking straight at the water. Local establishment with a light footprint on the Jungle around it. Lots to do and a quick journal across the water from Bako National Park. Cost very reasonable indeed. Lovely little restaurant looking out towards the sunset. Staff very attentive. Would recommend highly..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stumack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews