We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of paradise in the treetops”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Permai Rainforest Resort
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A bit of paradise in the treetops”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here in March / April 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Contrary to some reviews it's a wonderful place to be and we couldn't complain in any way about the treetop cabin we were put in. You won't get a 5* wooden hut in the jungle for pennies, so why expect it - that's just daft!. If you want that then don't go on holiday. The accommodation is appropriate for the country and whilst outr views of the sea were a little hidden by the trees it was wonderful none the less. The food on site was simply delicious and we became so addicted to the banana pancakes for breakfast we now have them at home on weekends! The staff are so friendly it's untrue and the shuttle service to the airport and the nearby town is both convenient and good value for money. If you want a get awa with solitude and an eco friendly slant then this is a fab place to stay. We only wished we'd stayed longer than 4 days.

Room Tip: Book a treetop house - they're unique and you're unlikely to stay anywhre like this again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMarsden101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    185
    62
    19
    23
See reviews for
167
192
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was our first stop on our honeymoon - and it couldn't have been better! We arrived to Kuching airport and were promptly greeted by a Permai representative holding a name sign - the kind gentleman took our (heavy) bags into the Permai transport vehicle and we started the 60 minute trek (light traffic) to the resort. Upon our arrival we met with the property manager (who greeted us by name) and explained the different activities we had to think about during our stay. Our bags were carted off to our treehouse (WHICH WAS AWESOME) and we were thrilled to see that even though originally there were no queen bed options available (when we reserved) that we had a big bed instead of two single beds.

The view from our treehouse was something you'd see in a movie - and the sound of the water gently brushing against some rocks was quite soothing.

Our honeymoon package included breakfast, a dinner, an evening mangrove tour, and a beautiful bouquet of flowers for my wife. We had several wonderful (and very cost-effective) meals at the Rainforest Cafe, and enjoyed their free WIFI.

Our activities were staffed with locals who were full of knowledge about all things local - including while on our boat tour (DO THE 3-in-1, well worth it! Ask for Captain Jack and Rudy!) we saw dolphins, crocs, and surprisingly a probiscus monkey. We felt quite lucky!

The resort went above and beyond what we were expecting when they did all they could to help us get to our next hotel in downtown Kuching (so that we could get to the Orang Utan sanctuary and feeding time).

THIS PLACE IS A MUST FOR AT LEAST TWO NIGHTS, but more if you have the time. The treehouse was like nothing I had even stayed in before, and the option to turn on the AC at night was something that kept my mind at ease all day.

We spent time on both of their beaches and made it into the water about neck deep - the water was warm and refreshing, although a little cloudy.

There are many options in that part of Kuching, however we felt Permai provided the most unique experience of them all. I've traveled to many places (as has my wife) and this is indeed something special and suitable for about anyone.

Room Tip: Treehouse 2 was where we stayed, close to the entrance, food, and activity starting points.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FromtheWindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed in Treehouse #9 and paid $90 US per night. It’s a big splurge for us. But it was wonderful. Starting in Kuching, I had some digestive disturbance for about 24 hours, then felt kind of tired and weak for another 24 hours, so this place was a wonderful retreat to rest and relax. The bedroom in the treehouse was quite large and had 3 walls that were completely windows or sliding doors. All screened and all with wonderful views of the jungle canopy. Looking through the trees out the front of the room, or from the front porch, we could see and hear the waves of the South China Sea. The breeze was so nice that we didn’t need the AC. The bathroom was very large, clean, western style, with very hot water. A hot water kettle for coffee and tea and a minifridge were in the little alcove. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The manager, Hanafi, was very personable, friendly, and professional. He made sure that we were well taken care of and satisfied with our stay. The activities director, John, was very helpful in arranging exactly the type of river cruise I wanted. All in all, a wonderful little splurge.

Its really pretty here. There are jungle clad high mountains, rocky beaches, white sand beaches, rivers, mangroves and the sea, yet it is relatively close to Kuching. I routed us to the Damai Peninsula because my husband loves treehouses and because I wanted to go on a river cruise and visit the Sarawak Cultural Center from here. We were able to do both. Through the resort, I arranged a boat cruise to the mouth of the river to try to spot Irrawady dolphins (with the disclaimer: “no promises, maybe we be lucky”) Well we were very lucky, we had at least a dozen sightings. Some of those were the same dolphins, I am sure, but we saw at least 6 different ones at 3 different areas of the river. Then we went on a slow cruise through the mangroves looking for crocodiles (same disclaimer “no promise….maybe we be lucky” Once again we were very lucky (and our guide, Maheini (I haven’t a clue how to correctly spell his name) had quite an eye.) We saw 3 really big crocs along the riverbank. Every time we tried to get close in the boat, each one jumped into the river. So we got no photos, but we have great action shots in our minds. Next, our boatman, Sabrini, took us to a little local fishing village: built up on stilts, no running water (rain water tanks everywhere) and only generator electricity, but we did see satellite dishes. We had lots of fun with the local children who followed us around. The trip lasted about 3 ½ hours and got us back to the resort in time for us to walk to the Sarawak Cultural Center.

Room Tip: we loved treehouse # 9. I think there are only 10 treehouses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissKimBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This place is in my opinion, one of those best kept secrets/undiscovered gems, that will delight you if going back to nature, being away from technology and its binding/blinding nature, being part of the green movement and just relaxing in your own little paradise is your idea of a holiday. There are no posh front lobbies, well equipped gyms, or swanky restaurants. In place of these, is a truly rustic and charming place, the perfect platform to enjoy the wonders of the tropical rainforests, and the surrounding natural environment, like the mangroves, where crocodiles and other wildlife reside in their natural habitat. Incorporated in the resort is a high confidence course, manned by facilitators who are well trained, dedicated and willing to go the extra distance to make sure participants learn resilience and to get a healthy sense of adventure. My 11 year old and 7 year old, despite howls and tears of fear, later on admitted they enjoyed it tremendously. The tours to catch the irrawady dolphin, and to visit the turtle sanctuary, and other wildlife were live classrooms for children to learn about the environment and the importance of taking care of it. Special mention have to made of the staff who guided us and who piloted our boats, namely Mohaini, Ros, Cindy, Rudi, and one other guy who was the coxswain for two of the boat trips we unfortaunate forget the name of. Thanks guys! Last but not least, despite what many downhere who talk about less than ideal service from the front desk, my family was greatly assisted by one Hanafie, who from the start of our online correspondence, till when we finally met in person (he could identify me, while I was sitting at the restaurant, without any obvious form of identification!) impressed me with great professionalism and friendliness, even as he deals with an eye condition he got just before we arrived at the resort. The sight of him walking around the resort and greeting and attending to guests while having his sunglasses on to shield his eyes from the sun, is just awe-inspiring. The probably more junior front desk staff could do with better English ability, but that is an aptitude that can be developed whereas the service attitude cannot really be bought. Bring yourself and your children to this place. You should be glad you did.

Room Tip: If your joints and limbs are up to it, ask to stay in a treehouse, and specifically, ask for Treehou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kurabumada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed in a tree house, which was a wonderful experience. Nothing compares to being so high up, right in the forest, feeling the sea breeze and seeing animals in your front porch! Staying in a tree house is an experience in itself!

The room was very spacious, the beds were comfy and there was even a small sitting/desk area. The nets on the windows and the doors kept the mosquitoes out, so we never had any problems with that. AC and ceiling fan (we mostly used the latter) kept that heat down in the room.

While at Permai we organized a trip from the front desk to the Bako National Park, which was a great experience. The driver was very friendly and even played the part of a tour guide on the way there and back and we were lucky enough to see some long nose monkeys whilst on two of the easiest trails.

The restaurant was OK, nothing spectacular, but everyone was very friendly. Make sure you ask for the breakfast menu that they make, don't just use the buffet.

Wi-fi is only available near the front desk and in the restaurant area, but who cares when you're in the jungle? :)

Room Tip: Get a treehouse, it's totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neferia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apia, Samoa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

After leaving behind a high stress job of six years on the trot, I was looking for peace and tranquility, and some sense of return to myself spiritually. I took a trip to Malaysia for this and for a bit of exploring, and the visit to Sarawak and the week long stay at this resort became the return to peace and self I'd been looking for. The tree house I stayed at was excellent, clean, and surprisingly very homey; a cabin nestled in the tree tops, it affords great views and sounds of forest life, and waves breaking on the beach below. It was almost surreal in a way to have that physical juxtaposition and am sure this is likely the only resort that will offer you this. For eats and drinks, the cafe is recommended for its variety of tasty meals on menu (my personal favourite is their very own style of pineapple fried rice, try it!). The resort also offers a range of activities and I took up the guided evening/night safari through the mangroves looking for crocodiles and other wildlife. If your theme is a return to peace, go here, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for the tree house with the larger, two level balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Reservation not found!! Even numerous attempt to reserved the chalet and the reservation staff told us they have ample of rooms available and just come!! We don't think this is right so we decided to just go on the actual day and found out that we been stopped by the security guard. So, we insist to see the receptionist and straight deal with them and last they found our booking and told us that their mistake for not giving us the reservation number. So? what do you guys think?? Poor management?? is it?

A group of 5 peoples stayed in one of the family chalet and the standard beyond unbelievable. Room bad musty smells, Bedsheets, Pillowcases, mattress, pillow, towel all are extremely unpleasant smell. The extra mattress just kept below the bed uncovered and it was filthy with obvious stains and dusts.
Bathroom no hot water to showered even we have individual water heater installed in the shower room.
The security was poorly maintained. Some windows the locking system faulty and obviously no attempt to rectify the in room security system. The balcony floor dirty with dead leaves and cobweb along the wooden divider. I had to do the sweeping before actually relax sitting down on the stool at the balcony.
So bad can't sleep well as the bad musty smell extremely strong that took control over my sensitive nose.
Having lunch at the cafe, the fruit salad unbelievable substandard served!! How could a fruit salad with whitish creamy topping on top? We dislike the fruit salad and the burger fries totally oily and unacceptable standard of foods in terms of quality.

Need serious improvement in all area and this will be our first and the last of our stay in this so call Permai Rainforest Resort!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CosyTraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.5 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#16 of 54 in Kuching
709 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,572 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
994 reviews
14.0 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
1,994 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kuching
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Permai Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Permai Rainforest Resort

Property: Permai Rainforest Resort
Address: Teluk Penyu, Kuching 93050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Permai Rainforest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permai Rainforest Resort is an eco-resort set in pristine Borneo rainforest located by the beach at the foot of mystical Mount Santubong, Sarawak. Carefully designed to minimize impact on the natural environment, it offers a unique rainforest experience and a variety of activities from dolphin watching to high ropes courses and guided kayaking tours. Just 40 minutes from the Kuching, its an ideal way to experience Borneo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Permai Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Permai Rainforest Hotel Kuching
Permai Rainforest Resort Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing