We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice vibe and nice accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Singgahsana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Singgahsana Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice vibe and nice accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We used the prepaid taxi option from the airport and arrived at the lodge with ease. It location is great. Right at the water front and rubbing shoulders with the heavy hitting hotels! We booked a double room with a bathroom. It was very clean and comfortable. Walls are very think so you hear your neighbours easily - however was not a big issue.

the lodge is extremely well run with a stream of people moving through it. The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly and respond to queries about everything!

They have a lovely bar upstairs - so if you want a beer - go upstairs - great view and chilled atmosphere. We went to Bako national Park from here - which was very easy as the bus stop to Bako is just at the back of the lodge. The lodge also has a left luggage area which can help if going out for a few days.
What a great please! Great stay!

I recommend you simply miss the breakfast - it is not worth it - a piece of white bread, watermelon and coffee. Rather head out and find an alternative.

getting a taxi back to the airport - simply walk across the street to the upmarket hotel and jump into one of the waiting taxes!

I would recommend Kutching as a base and take day trips and allow for at least a day for Kutching to see everything you would want to see.

Very nice relaxed feeling in this little town

Room Tip: There are about 5 rooms with attached bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 192RoseM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    115
    35
    19
    6
See reviews for
36
118
50
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karlstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Absolutly great hostel in Kuching. Great location, friendly helpful staff, cheap water, awsome roof bar, okey breakfast (as a swede I don't ever consider toast and jam as breakfast), clean rooms! Top Notch!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olof_Melin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Room was clean and didnt feel like a hostel but like home. Common Toilets were clean and dry and towels were provided. Breakfast simple toast, fruits and coffee/tea. Just a short walk to waterfront to enjoy the scenery. Will definately stay again if in kuching.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eva865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

2nd best hostel i've ever stayed in. Good location, cheap bar and lots of open common spaces. Kuching is a bit naff but the hostel is really worth staying at.

This is not a party or meet people hostel. Most are English nature tour groups or single serious tourists.

Hostel does loads of tours and is cheaper than the surrounding tour offices

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RazorBFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Spent three nights at this nice, clean and well "air-conned" place with the whole family of four. Reasonable rates. Like the shower rooms with plenty of warm water and dispensable body/hair shampoo. Seemed we were the only locals but the atmosphere was friendly with many backpackers from other lands. The music was wee too loud for the first night as we were just below the rooftop bar. However, the following nights were okay.

Room Tip: If want less noise, take the first floor rooms instead the second floor after the rooftop bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isasaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Lodge is located at the water promenade and near to many restaurants, bus stop and quite not far away from the airport. Rooms are nice with ac, wifi. The place provides a bar on third floor with drinks and music. It also has tour operator that can help you set your activities around Kuching. Atmosphere is good, many backpackers visit this place, it's clean and the staff is helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontianak, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed in both the twin rooms and the dorm, and both were clean, safe places to sleep with AC and towels. Bathrooms with hot showers were excellent, breakfast was good and staff were friendly and provided lots of useful services, info. Free wifi. Best part by far was the rooftop bar - Fantastic vibe, pool table, dart board, cheap beers and a really good atmosphere. Met plenty of good people here, and had a few late nights too. Was a really great place to stay for a few days. The prices got a little steep over the rainforest festival, but with such a good location we kept the costs down by going to the great hawker food spots all around it.

Room Tip: More important to book in advance - we had to move 3 times as we wanted to add extra nights.n you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.6 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singgahsana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singgahsana Lodge

Property: Singgahsana Lodge
Address: 1 Leboh Temple | 1 Temple Street, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Singgahsana Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singgahsana Lodge is a concept guesthouse by travelers for travelers. Guests wake up each day knowing that they are in exotic Sarawak, Malaysian Borneo in rooms tastefully fitted out with local arts and crafts collected from the 30 or more ethnic tribes of Sarawak. Travel information abounds and the generous common areas are most conducive to sharing travel tales and information with others. Singgahsana has become the haven for travelers to Kuching and is highly recommended in all guide books. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Singgahsana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singgahsana Hotel Kuching
Singgahsana Lodge Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing