We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel but good for RM150 per night”
Review of Harbour View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

For the price of RM150 it is worth the stay. Located strategically (walking distance) to the waterfront.

Booking and check-in process was fast and professional.

The only flaw is that the hotel need major refurbishment throughout especially the rooms.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank i_az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 192 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

stayed here for two nights in january 2014. location is good .. it's near the river and nearby to food outlets and souvenier stalls along the sarawak river. did not sample the food at their restaurant. service was quite good and room is acceptable at the price charged.

however, was not happy as unfortunately there was a power trip during my stay. a colleague who stayed at the 8th floor has to use the stairs and he was quite unhappy. should divert power to their in-house generator (if any) if there is a power shortage. quite dangerous if anybody is trapped in the elevator.

overall i would say its average.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I have stayed at the Harbour view many times over the years and have been reasonably happy with the staff and the facilities , but sadly the condition of the hotel has deteriorated to the point where not even it's excellent position in Kuching will have me stay there again . It has become run down dirty and tired , the bathrooms are a disgrace , and even the hitherto great breakfast has become stale and old hat. Lift your game Harbour View you are capable of better .

Room Tip: There isn't one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

It's been a year and a half since I stayed in this hotel and this time it wasnt a great experience. Its in a really good location right in the middle of the city, close to bars and the shopping mall but there were several things about the room that were not so nice and gave the impression of a run down hotel.


1. My bathtub filled with water up to my ankles when I took a shower
2. The shower water wasnt that hot
3. the toilet wasnt easy to flush, you had to physically lean against this big round silver button to flush each time
4. My room smelt musty the entire time i stayed there
5. I have dust allergies and the room was quite dusty so I sneezed a lot, plus the rooms are carpeted and the hotel is old so a lot of dust was still in the carpet
6. NOISE - you can hear every door close from the rooms upstairs, downstairs and on your floor - so if you're a light sleeper like me, you better bring ear plugs because from 6 am onwards you can hear doors closing, showers running etc.
7. The aircon controller was broken the first night I was there and I was freezing at night and then they had to completely replace the controller and it still wasnt quite right in terms of temperature adjusting - this is very frustrating the entire time I was there - it was either too hot or too cold!! Not comfortable!

GOOD THINGS

1. Service was fast and helpful - everything i asked for the staff did correctly, like bringing me bath towels, once i asked for salt...
2. The food at this hotel is surprisingly tasty, the nasi lemak is good

ROOMS

If you want to stay at this hotel, try to get the rooms facing the waterfront - I stayed in those rooms last time and I had a much better stay than this time.

Room Tip: If you want to stay at this hotel, try to get the rooms facing the waterfront - I stayed in those ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLydster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Pros:
- Strategically located in Kuching city
- Cooperative staff
- Commodious room and bathroom
- Very clean hotel
-

Con:
- Aging hotel. Need some refurbishment in the room

Overall: Highly recommend :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omiriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We started our tour of Borneo in Kuching, and stayed a total of 4 nights at the Harbour View hotel. Overall the hotel has a good value for money. That doesn't mean all is perfect, but if you can live with those few negative points, you'll have a good time at the Harbour View hotel in Kuching. During our stay (it was local school holiday and weekend) most guests were local people, and we were almost the only foreign guests.
Some more detailed information:
LOCATION:
perfectly located, close to the city center, easy to go around to 100ds of shops, bars and restaurants (our preferred one was the James Brooke bistro, just across the hotel) in the nearby area and in malls. There's a well furnished supermarket around the corner, 100m from the hotel.
RECEPTION:
good basic service, communication in English possible. Housekeeping also friendly, and concierge services perfectly do what's expected from them
ROOMS:
basic rooms, with quite some worn furniture and doors, yet all worked in the bathroom. Airco worked well and was not too noisy. There can be some noise from nearby rooms and also from the street. For us it was still acceptable and anyway we always take ear plugs with us when travelling
INTERNET ACCESS
Wifi was also working well (sometimes you need to "help" a little bit...). If your closest Wifi access point doesn't work, just switch it off and then back on again after a few seconds. You'll see the switches close to the ceiling and these are connected to the access points hidden in the double ceiling.
BREAKFAST:
good choice, both of local dishes and more western breakfast options. Due to the high number of guests at the hotel, it was often difficult to find a free table, and we shared table with other people a few time - no problem with that.

Overall, a good value for money, with some flaws, yet we'd certainly recommend this hotel to our friends if they'd go to Borneo and Sarawak.

Room Tip: take a room in the higher levels (11-13th floor), facing the river to avoid tto much noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was the final stop after two weeks of travelling through Sabah and Sarawak - and what a treat! Hotel is spotlessly clean and staff are extremely helpful. The rooms are spacious and on both visits I had harbour views. Imagine my delight when, on the second last night, they closed Chinese New Year with a fabulous display of fireworks. No credit to the hotel in a way, but location is all. I would happily go back again and again. Good breakfasts, good wifi. Central location and wonderful walks, sites and sights at your doorstep.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.4 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#12 of 55 in Kuching
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,009 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#26 of 55 in Kuching
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
1.5 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
1.3 mi away
M Hotels
M Hotels
#35 of 55 in Kuching
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Hotel

Address: Lorong Temple, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range: $31 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Kuching
Harbour View Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing