We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Hotel”
Review of Harbour View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location Hotel”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Huge room with 2 queen beds. Superb location with outstanding view of Kuching river and waterfront. No comments on food as we did not have any at hotel's restaurant. A short distance walk to waterfront and surrounding malls. Had 32" LCD TV in the room with a few Astro channels. Very clean room.

(-) points : Old furniture and looks like a rundown hotel. Broken marbles in bathroom. However, I have not seen a single cockroach during my stay as per earlier comment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaifulAzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    86
    67
    11
    7
See reviews for
31
45
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sibu, malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for an official trip just 2 days ago. The check in was smooth, and we are able to check in early. But there seems to have problem with our room key. We cant access to our room everytime after we were out of the room. After many access card exchanged, the hotel had decided to change our room. But the room we were changed to was smaller, and we noticed a small cockcroach in our room at night. Basically the rooms and facilities are old, especially the toilets definitely need some refurbishment work. However, to my surprise, their food provided for our event( breakfast, tea breaks, lunches and dinners) are good, a lot better than other hotels i stayed before. Another plus point is this hotel is at the city centre, easy access to everywhere, near to waterfront, Merdeka Plaza, Star cineplex and a few famous eateries in kuching.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stellalittrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The standard room are really old and dirty. In the bathroom we found everywhere mould! And it smelled really
bad like a sewerage.
but the ultimate sin was the cockroaches everywhere in the bathroom and under the bed!
And for that we paid 195 RM for one night!!! We will never come back again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Asia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
* Location (right near the waterfront)
* Awesome view (from the river view rooms)
* Good buffet breakfast
* Rooms were adequately sized
* Quiet

Cons:
* As others have mentioned there were a few cockroaches in the room (small brown ones not big black ones)
* Hallways smell a bit musty

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkittlesInAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I just felt dissapointed with this hotel...i booked this hotel for my in law n family members during my wedding..i thought a hotel with such a good location and view should'nt be any problem! But i was shocked and felt ashamed...when my in law saw cockroaches almost immediately after we stepped into our room. THIS HAS LEFT A VERY BAD IMPRESSION OF SARAWAK. HOTEL MANAGEMENT, as a sarawakian i really hope you can do more on the cleanliness... until you do so i wouldnt recommend anyone to stay in this hotel....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cockroachesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

A group of us stayed here for 2 nights and sadly, the hotel has seen better days. Rooms were basic and slightly dated; the room I was in was alright although a member of our group did remark that she had to kill a few cockroaches in hers. Breakfast was basic and food was average. I would advise against consuming their fresh fruit served at breakfast as I spotted a fly in one of the dishes. There is a need for the hotel to up the standards of their food safety.

The hotel is ideal if you need a basic, simple place to sleep for the night - definitely not the place to go if you're looking for a luxurious stay in Kuching. Having said that, the location of the hotel is ideal and is within walking distance of Kuching town and its shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineMayYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is the hotel for you if you like creepy crawly cockroaches. I was offered a change of room but there were also cockroaches in the second room. I thoroughly inspected the third room and reluctantly accepted it as it was quite late and we were too tired. The next day, we found a dead cockroach in the mini fridge. Gosh!!

Otherwise, the hotel has some good points
- The location is superb
- The bed is soft and comfortable
- The room is pretty big
- It is pretty quiet
- The price is reasonable
- The staff is friendly

Some things can be better though
- The room is quite dark and a little run down
- The hotel needs renovation and upgrading
- The hotel should supply better quality shower gel and shampoo
- The wifi is terrible especially at the higher floor

Room Tip: Check for cockroaches Lower floor for better wifi Bring your own shower gel and shampoo
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unclebao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.6 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
1.5 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.3 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#25 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Hotel

Property: Harbour View Hotel
Address: Lorong Temple, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Kuching
Harbour View Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing