We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Sri Aman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Harbour View Hotel is centrally located in Kuching. It is within walking distance to Kuching Waterfront, which is along the banks of the Sarawak River. The Kuching Waterfront is a popular tourist attraction. You can stroll along or can sit down on the benches and enjoy the scenic view of the Malay kampong across the river. The river is very clean and the calmness of the water gives you peace of mind. You can also find food stalls selling drinks and food there.There are many hotels of international standard around here. The Parkson Plaza is close by. Just opposite the hotel, you can visit the oldest temple in Kuching. There is also a cinema close by. There are many local restaurants nearby. I enjoy my stay at the hotel, though I spent only one night there.

Room Tip: Choose high level room. You can have scenic view of Kuching Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Ahmad A,

Thank you for your review!

We are glad that you enjoyed your trip to Kuching and that we were able to be of service to you. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you required any assistance. We look forward to welcoming you and your guest again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    84
    64
    11
    7
See reviews for
32
45
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at the " The Harbour View Hotel "a number of times and have always found it to be clean ,convenient and with staff who view serving the public a privilege. The first time I was there the bathroom was not " up to scratch " my complaint to the manager brought an immediate apology and a change of room to a far superior one . Their breakfast is one of the highlights for me , and always sets me up for a day of touring.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Ray A,

Thank you for your review!

We are glad that you have stayed with us on many occasion. However, we do apologise for any setbacks you experienced. The management will look into the matter seriously.

Do contact us if you need any assistance. We will be glad to be of service to you again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gombak
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Was in Kuching in March 2013 for business trip. First time in Kuching and really hoping that the hotel will be nice and comfortable. The location of the hotel is really strategic, as it is situated really in the heart of Kuching. The view from the room is over looking the river and Hilton, Riverside Majestic was just in walking distance. It was a decent sized room which is alright for a Deluxe but it was a bit gloomy. Everything was alright until i squashed a creepy crawly wandering around the table. At the end of my stay, three of those creatures have been squashed by the provided Astro magazine. Suggestion to the management : Please do some upgrading to your lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chekodok_Pisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We do apologise about the creepy crawly incident. We have called our pest treatment team to look into the matter.

Rest assured that we are constantly looking into upgrading of the hotel, products and services to provide better service to all our guest. We hope that this incident will not hinder you from choosing us again on your next trip to Kuching.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here with an Exodus group in Feb 2013. The room was small but adequate, but ours overlooked the road and there was a lot of traffic noise, even on the 5th floor! Good choice for breakfast, good location near waterfront, eating places and the bazaar. We ate at Brookes bistro, just around the corner. The food was outstanding.

Room Tip: Try avoid rooms over-looking the road, the traffic is non-stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holmefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for choosing us and for your review.

We do apologise about the noise from the busy streets. However, we are glad that you enjoyed your trip to Kuching and the food here.

Should you return to our hotel, do request for a higher floor facing the riverfront instead. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Reasonable price hotel in Kuching? You may opt for Harbour View Hotel which located conveniently in front of waterfront. Very accessible to other attractions in Kuching. Rooms are clean. Elevator space quite limited. Please request for river view, awesome! Overall,if you're looking for average price hotel, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poobritney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and your compliment! We are certainly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you had a great time in Kuching.

We hope to see you again soon. Do contact us if you need any assistance or enquiry.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Pros - Quiet, clean room, water pressure is good, walking distance to chinatown, waterfront and eateries.

Cons - With the kind of hotel rates, they should provide daily newspaper. From the exterior looks, it is definitely not a backpacker hotel but they charge for extra coffee and tea bags (a very small item) .... I rated it below average.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Mr Thomas,

We thank you for your review but apologise for the shortfall. Daily newspaper is available upon request during check in for the whole duration of the stay. Our staff have been reminded to inform guest on newspaper request.

We only charge a very minimal amount for 2nd refill onwards during the day and we also apologise that the daily complimentary coffee and tea provided in the room was insufficient for you.

Rest assure we will look into these shortfalls and hope to improve in our service to you. Should you need further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skivarp, Sweden
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Harbour View is a low price alternative in Kuching perfectly situated by the basars and the riverside.
Rooms are clean and all you need is available except a good Wi-fi. Wi-fi is sometimes available in the lobby but sometimes not at all and always with a low speed connection. It is thus hardly usebale as business hotel. The highlight is the breakfast in Sarawakan style but with an excellent omelett cook always ready to meet your own demands for spices etc.To change money there are many facilities a 100 meters away bur compare prices they are really different. The 7th and 11th floor are smoke free which by some chinese or malay people is interpreted that they can smoke in the corridor outside the smoke free room. When I made the staff aware of it they sent someone to let fresh air into the corridor. The staff is very friendly so if they only could install a working Wi-fi this could also be a nice business hotel.

Room Tip: try floor 7th or 11th like 1115 or 615 a little bit away from the lift and with nice view over the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and your compliment on our service. However, we do apologise on the shortfall. Glad to inform that we are in the midst of upgrading our wifi service.

We hope to have you with us again in future. Do contact us if you have any enquiries.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.6 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#11 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
1.6 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.3 mi away
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Hotel

Property: Harbour View Hotel
Address: Harbour View Hotel Lorong Temple, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Kuching
Harbour View Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing