We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A return booking is proof of satisfaction.”
Review of Harbour View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at the " The Harbour View Hotel "a number of times and have always found it to be clean ,convenient and with staff who view serving the public a privilege. The first time I was there the bathroom was not " up to scratch " my complaint to the manager brought an immediate apology and a change of room to a far superior one . Their breakfast is one of the highlights for me , and always sets me up for a day of touring.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Ray A,

Thank you for your review!

We are glad that you have stayed with us on many occasion. However, we do apologise for any setbacks you experienced. The management will look into the matter seriously.

Do contact us if you need any assistance. We will be glad to be of service to you again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 190 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Was in Kuching in March 2013 for business trip. First time in Kuching and really hoping that the hotel will be nice and comfortable. The location of the hotel is really strategic, as it is situated really in the heart of Kuching. The view from the room is over looking the river and Hilton, Riverside Majestic was just in walking distance. It was a decent sized room which is alright for a Deluxe but it was a bit gloomy. Everything was alright until i squashed a creepy crawly wandering around the table. At the end of my stay, three of those creatures have been squashed by the provided Astro magazine. Suggestion to the management : Please do some upgrading to your lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chekodok_Pisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We do apologise about the creepy crawly incident. We have called our pest treatment team to look into the matter.

Rest assured that we are constantly looking into upgrading of the hotel, products and services to provide better service to all our guest. We hope that this incident will not hinder you from choosing us again on your next trip to Kuching.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here with an Exodus group in Feb 2013. The room was small but adequate, but ours overlooked the road and there was a lot of traffic noise, even on the 5th floor! Good choice for breakfast, good location near waterfront, eating places and the bazaar. We ate at Brookes bistro, just around the corner. The food was outstanding.

Room Tip: Try avoid rooms over-looking the road, the traffic is non-stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holmefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for choosing us and for your review.

We do apologise about the noise from the busy streets. However, we are glad that you enjoyed your trip to Kuching and the food here.

Should you return to our hotel, do request for a higher floor facing the riverfront instead. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Reasonable price hotel in Kuching? You may opt for Harbour View Hotel which located conveniently in front of waterfront. Very accessible to other attractions in Kuching. Rooms are clean. Elevator space quite limited. Please request for river view, awesome! Overall,if you're looking for average price hotel, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poobritney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and your compliment! We are certainly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you had a great time in Kuching.

We hope to see you again soon. Do contact us if you need any assistance or enquiry.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Pros - Quiet, clean room, water pressure is good, walking distance to chinatown, waterfront and eateries.

Cons - With the kind of hotel rates, they should provide daily newspaper. From the exterior looks, it is definitely not a backpacker hotel but they charge for extra coffee and tea bags (a very small item) .... I rated it below average.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Mr Thomas,

We thank you for your review but apologise for the shortfall. Daily newspaper is available upon request during check in for the whole duration of the stay. Our staff have been reminded to inform guest on newspaper request.

We only charge a very minimal amount for 2nd refill onwards during the day and we also apologise that the daily complimentary coffee and tea provided in the room was insufficient for you.

Rest assure we will look into these shortfalls and hope to improve in our service to you. Should you need further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Harbour View is a low price alternative in Kuching perfectly situated by the basars and the riverside.
Rooms are clean and all you need is available except a good Wi-fi. Wi-fi is sometimes available in the lobby but sometimes not at all and always with a low speed connection. It is thus hardly usebale as business hotel. The highlight is the breakfast in Sarawakan style but with an excellent omelett cook always ready to meet your own demands for spices etc.To change money there are many facilities a 100 meters away bur compare prices they are really different. The 7th and 11th floor are smoke free which by some chinese or malay people is interpreted that they can smoke in the corridor outside the smoke free room. When I made the staff aware of it they sent someone to let fresh air into the corridor. The staff is very friendly so if they only could install a working Wi-fi this could also be a nice business hotel.

Room Tip: try floor 7th or 11th like 1115 or 615 a little bit away from the lift and with nice view over the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and your compliment on our service. However, we do apologise on the shortfall. Glad to inform that we are in the midst of upgrading our wifi service.

We hope to have you with us again in future. Do contact us if you have any enquiries.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

i, for one, whenever i have time to go to Kuching, be it on vacation or on official business, will go to this hotel first. Not unless it's full, or beyond my means, only then i go for another place, with a heavy heart, of course. I love HarbourView @ HV as it is known locally.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burung898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for your compliment and glad to hear that we are your number 1 prefered hotel in Kuching.

We look forward to welcoming you again at "HV"!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.4 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#12 of 55 in Kuching
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#28 of 55 in Kuching
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuching
0.3 mi away
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Hotel

Address: Lorong Temple, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range: $30 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Kuching
Harbour View Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing