We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Kuching
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Near to food and shopping and a Cinema right next to it. My usual hotel each time I'm in Kuching. Just across the road is the river taking a stroll by the river is relaxing or having a cup of coffee by the river to help clear the mind.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KW1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for your time to review our hotel. We are also glad that you liked our location and you were able to relax at the waterfront.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    81
    62
    11
    7
See reviews for
32
44
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have read in the "lonely planet " about this hotel and expected a good hotel. But is was not more than 3 star. The room we had was very small and all the things looked a bit worn out. The service staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast a bit meager.
Positiv is the center location of this hotel, but that it is really. Do not expect to much.
This hotel was part of a round trip, so I cannot say anything about the price relation.
Good enough for a stay of 1 or 2 days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laird43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loomis ca
Level Contributor
384 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stumbled on this after returning early from Bako. It was recommended by a guide we ran into. Good mid range price, modern, nice amenities, beautiful view, pretty clean. We were very pleased and would definitely return. Great location just a few blocks from the esplanade. This hotel seems to cater to Asian families rather than westerners. A definite plus. They seem to know good value

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

The hotel location is so strategic. We rented a car for our holiday but decided to walk bcause it is very near to the main bazaar n the watefront!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haizani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketapang
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent, and puts you within a few minutes walk of everything downtown - taxis are always parked out front if you need to go further afield. I chose this hotel over others that looked to have a bit more character because it looked well run and had complimentary internet in each of the rooms (my partner had to work for some of our trip so this was important). Internet access can of course be patchy anywhere, but it was frustrating that this was advertised as a feature of the hotel, but once we got the hotel there were notices everywhere that internet is never guaranteed and may not work. It didn't work once in our 4-day stay. It would be more honest is this was published up front at the point of booking, or not advertised as a feature at all.

Highlights are that the breakfast is good with a good combination of local and western options, if a little expensive at 20R extra per person per day, and the beds were really comfy. Low points were the cockroaches in the bedroom and bathroom, and the bathroom being quite run down overall.

Overall, it it actually a comfortable place to stay and the location is great, but it's worth checking out other options before booking.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a view of the river - be sure to ask for one if you want to see sunset over the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnakKuchil22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I can't comment on value for money as my stay in this hotel was part of an organised tour. But the location is fantastic, they offer an adequate breakfast in the mornings (although it is very busy and they are somewhat slow to replenish. The coffee is best left alone). The room was a great size, very clean, lovely bathroom and the shower had good pressure. There are lots of restaurants near by as well as the 'shopping district'. I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleCurrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My excellent rating for this hotel is very much influenced by the excellent service I received for the modest price I paid, everytime when I checked in. It is quite surprising my first choice city stay in Kuching will remain to be this 3-star rated hotel. Do not expect extravagance when you enter Harbour View; the environment conforms to her 3-star rating. But this hotel vigorously pursue excellence in her core business, which is service, and making you feel comfortable away from home. Checking in and out is never a problem. Room quality is very good value, but request for higher floor and river-facing rooms for a more comforting stay. Buffet breakfast is very modest, however a la carte menu more than makes up for this insignificant shortcoming....after all, my eating choices when in Kuching are well-pampered by the excellent restaurants nearby. The location offers the best walking distance (compared to other major hotels in the area) to the water front shops, but above all, the staff here will always do their best to make you feel at home....this pretty much seals the deal :-)

Room Tip: Request for any number 12 room from 9th floor onwards - 1312 the best. The most panoramic view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DendangPerantau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#12 of 53 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
0.6 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 53 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#10 of 53 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 53 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 stars 1,292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.3 mi away
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Hotel

Property: Harbour View Hotel
Address: Harbour View Hotel Lorong Temple, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Kuching
Harbour View Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing