We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location location location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbour View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“location location location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed at Harbour view for 4 nights over New Year and it was an excellent base for (re)visiting Kuching. The room was quiet, large, clean, comfortable and had a great view across the river. We did not have meals there but there is no shortage of restaurants in Kuching. Sure, the wifi (labelled "lobby") only worked in the lobby, and when it was not functioning, the staff reset the system straight away. Staff were friendly and let us use our computer in the restaurant outside of meal times.There were always taxis available if we needed to go further afield than the waterfront, main bazaar etc. The only complaint was the smell of someone else's cigarette smoke in the hallway, but the hotel cannot be blamed for other guests' lack of courtesy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieKuching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    85
    65
    11
    7
See reviews for
31
45
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
257 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

The bedroom itself was fine, if somewhat utilitarian, but the bathroom was in serious need of attention with the tiles mildewed and caulk rotting. Breakfast was good, however.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NovaOrbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

When we arrived, the lobby was fine, receptionist was polite and hospitable. Our room was at level 10 with river view, considerably spacious with a 2-seater sofa but i wouldn't sit on it as it looked too old to me.

The only new item in the room, probably the flat screen TV! Channel could be intermittently stop.

There were no tooth brush and slipper provided. Toilet with mould at the sides of bath tub and the mirror, frankly it was OK to me, the most irritated me was hair left behind the toilet and at the side of my bed! They would not do thorough clean up everyday.

TODAY, there was a long hair sticks at the hair dryer, it wasn't ours as we don't have such long hair!!!!

The shower head was fixed at the wall, the lower water outlet was mainly for bath tub, so I have to wash my hair when I have shower, otherwise there is no way I can just wash my hair! Hot water was just higher than body temperature, if someone wants to have a hot bath, no chance!

On the first night, it was heavy rain whole day, we wanted to borrow an umbrella, the one who supposed to serve us was went out to have a puff, when he returned, he looked like reluntantly lending us an umbrella, wrote a demand slip for RM60, in case we lose the umbrella, we understood it was the procedure but just his face showed unhappily!

Wifi, sometimes strong and often very weak or terminate automatically!




  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csy_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuching hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed at the Harbour View for a couple of nights and had a lovely stay. The rooms are simple but perfectly fine. Nice bathroom with a good shower. Breakfast was fine. There was a small spread of bread, cakes, savoury curries etc and a chef serving eggs to order. The staff were all very pleasant. I would stay here again.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tashap10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

The in room wifi is atrocious, ended up changing rm 3 times. My 2nd room phone line was also faulty and beyond repair. 3rd room offered had an old TV with screen discoloration.

No airport transfer offered or available even though they hv a hotel van.

In room carpet and sofa are dirty, guaranteed to cause a itch with skin contact, I had to cover it with a towel to sit on it.

The only pros are its located just beside a cinema and smacked between the old shops and new shopping belt.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hushpuppy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

My stay was not a good start, I was given a smoking room(when I have requested a non smoking room when I made the booking) upon arrival and was greeted with the strong cigarette smell when I step in the room and request to changed immediately. Was given a higher floor and was pleased with the changed, however we have problem with the wifi and time was waste trying to detect the wifi. Approached the counter lady for help, she gave a rude replied and request the guest to use the wifi at the lobby as it is the strongest there. But I requested another room change because the wifi is really terrible. 2 night of stay change room 3 times. Stay was terrible. Bathroom was dirty not a pleasant sight. Definitely not going back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loser4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

This was more than satisfactory. The rooms were large, although we had two single beds rather than a double, despite asking for double. And we couldn't push them together! Having said that, I probably had the best night's sleep I've had in months! The bathroom was good, the shower was fine, the soap. Tea/coffee, a safe in the room, big tv set, and a fridge. Free wifi too, although it was intermittent. Great place, good location - right at one end of Chinatown and three minutes walk to the waterfront. Stay here. It's really good.

Room Tip: Ask for a river facing room. You'll get a wonderful moonrise too if you're lucky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoff101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.6 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
1.6 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.3 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#26 of 54 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Hotel

Property: Harbour View Hotel
Address: Lorong Temple, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Kuching
Harbour View Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing