We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Partytime at Somerset”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ranked #27 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I have stayed in Somerset for 2 nights when I was in Kuching for my Business trip. The Hotel is in a very good location , in the heart of the city, walking distance from The riverbank of Sungai Sarawak, walking distance from shopping centre. The room was spacious, room service was excellent. In front of the Hotel, alot of pubs are located where we spend nights playing snooker and chilling with beers with beautiful ladies hanging around there. I would recommend this hotel as its cost effective and its prime location near to the pub area where night life is excellent and very lively.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cool-Bubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 265 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2010

We spent two nights here its really well located in the middle of town, close to the river and within stones throw of shopping centres and restaurants.

Quick efficient check in and the apartment was a great size for us, as a family of 5, to stay in with two seperate bedrooms and a good sized living, dining area and kitchen. Unfortunately the apartment was particularly clean and everything felt a bit grubby (the settee was a beige colour and filthy). The bathroom was quite dirty around the edges and we had to ask for towels, toilet rolls and toiletries. This were then handed over by a knock on the door from the disgruntled, put out cleaner.

The air con was super noisy so we gave up trying to sleep with that on in the end.

The views from the apartment were amazing though and there was a nice little rooftop pool with panoramic views. Breakfast was simple but fine. And there was free internet access. Also a hidden gem is the super clean, super cheap, super fab foodcourt on the 2nd floor of the building. You access it across a car park so do ask for directions from the friendly front desk staff. (The hotel shares the building with banks, car parks and the foodcourt from what we could make out).

It was reasonably priced and if it had a bit more attention paid to cleaning the place it would easily score higher on the grades I've given it. I would stay again as it was so convenient and easy with the kids.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jellyjack75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

We had a two bedroom apartment which had a queen bed in one room and two single beds in another on the ninth floor of the Somerset Gateway Kuching. The apartment also had a living room, dining area, kitchen, bathroom and laundy cupboard with washing machine and dryer. The laundry in the room was handy to get our washing done in the middle of our holiday. The apartments are within walking distance of the waterfront and easy access to plenty of cheap eating spots. The best place for great seafood is the Top Spot Food Court which is behind the Somerset on the roof of our multi-level carpark. It can be accessed by the door in the lift lobby of level 2 of the Somerset.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ready2travelagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

5 of us (me, husband, daughter and my elderly parents) stayed at Somerset for two nights in feb 2010. We liked this hotel very much. Its clean, spacious, comfortable with good amenities. The living room was lovely with nice beige sofa, kitchen was basic but good enough for a short stay. The room even had washing machine and dryer although it didn’t work when we tried to use it. We decided not to be bothered as not to spoil our holidays. We stayed in a two bedrooms apartments, the master bedroom was quiet spacious although the 2nd room was a bit small and the downside was there was only one bathroom to be used by everyone of us.

The front desk staff were friendly and very helpful. My husband left his handphone in the airport taxi while we were on our way to the apartment. The staff were kind and helpful enough to call the taxi operators and paged the driver of the taxi. And the handphone was returned in less than half in hour and we were very grateful.

The apartment is in close proximity with the most famous seafood restaurant in Kuching called Top Spot sea food restaurant. Its located adjacent to the apartment, you just need to go down to 2nd floor, go through the glass door, enter the multistories carparks, go one level up and there it is. So for seafood lovers, this is the opportunity that shouldn’t be missed.

Breakfast is simple but what do you expect for RM14 per person. There is no bell boy to carry your luggage so you have to do it yourselves. The lobby was at the 4th floor so once you arrived, you need to get to the lift with your luggage and go up to 4th floor to check in. Again nobody helped you with your luggage and you have to maneuver your luggge through the narrow corridor to reach the lift to your room. But we are quiet happy with the room so no complain there.

The apartment is located in a hilly area of Kuching and 15 minutes away by foot to Kuching Waterfront. The location is rather good since there were a lot of places to eat at the nearby area.

Internet is free, the front desk staff will inform you of the password for their wi-fi. Very nice!

We like it here and we don’t mind staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lemongrass08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

overall service was good with excellent information gathered from the hotel's staff except for lousy breakfast

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azlin_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 22, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 14, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#6 of 55 in Kuching
53 reviews
0 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,720 reviews
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#13 of 55 in Kuching
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Riverside Majestic Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariva Gateway Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariva Gateway Kuching

Address: No 9 Jalan Bukit Mata, Kuching 93100, Malaysia (Formerly Somerset Gateway Kuching)
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $28 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariva Gateway Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariva Gateway Kuching is nestled in the heart of Sarawak's Golden Triangle. It is a well appointed twin tower complex integrating modern offices and serviced residences from hotel rooms to well equipped apartments within the Central Business District. It is centrally located within a myriad of major shops, international restaurants and entertainment center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ariva Gateway Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariva Gateway Kuching Hotel Kuching
Somerset Gateway Kuching
Somerset Gateway Hotel Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing