We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ranked #27 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed June 7, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for Ariva Gateway Kuching
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 257 reviews

An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed June 1, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed May 31, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Stayed here with my elderly mom for 2 nights. It's located within an office tower and you need to climb some stairs to enter the building. There is no walk up ramp for elderly and heavy luggage. You need to take the office tower lift to level 4 to reach the hotel reception. There is another lift lobby within the hotel (secured area) for access to rooms. The furniture and furnishings are dated but well maintained. Towels and sheets were spotless and housekeeping services were prompt.

There is no restaurant within the hotel, but food outlets are within walking distance from the hotel. However, there is a small lounge area where a very basic buffet breakfast is served. Both mornings, the area was crowded and we even had to wait for an available table on the second morning.

The fitness center and swimming pool is on the rooftop and has great views of the city. Though not located along Sarawak River, it is near enough to walk to the river, the Main Bazaar, the shopping district and various other attractions that are located within the city center.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happijoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

We had trouble booking initally as the serviced apartments now only appear to be booked via their webiste. We were a little disappointed with the rooms, the beds were fairly uncomfortable and the apartment was quite basic with a musty damp smell that seems to be common to much of the accomodation in Kuching. Having said that we got a really good internet deal and all in all it was fine. We stayed for 3 nights in a deluxe apartment which have a fridge, washing machine and tumble dryer, microwave and plenty of crockery and cutlery if you wish to self-cater. There were 2 bathrooms with an en-suite to the main bedroom, air-conditioning in lounge and bedrooms and are very spacious. We did find it noisy in the mornings and evenings with the coming's and going's of guests but it wasn't unbearable. We were the only Westerners staying in the hotel for the fist two nights and certainly seemed to get plenty of interest from the other guests at breakfast, but it wasn't unfriendly - just curiousity! The pool is actually very good and they also have a fitness centre which we didn't use but looked very modern. the breakfast was ok and all areas were very clean. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. All in all if you are looking for a good honest and good value place to stay with a good location this is the one for you! We did struggle a bit with places to eat in Kuching but you really must pay a visit to Blah Blah Blah - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeriJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed April 24, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

we booked a 2 bed apartment with a connecting double room and an extra bed for a family of 7. The rooms were clean and comfortable but a little worn. We made good use of the washing machine and dryer in the apartment (although you could only plug in one appliance at a time). The cooking equipment provided in the kitchen was very basic, but it was so cheap to eat out this did not matter. The buffet breakfast offered a limited choice of asian and western food, but there was always plenty and we enjoyed it.
It is not 5 star accomodation but was good value and suited us very well.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#12 of 55 in Kuching
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariva Gateway Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariva Gateway Kuching

Address: No 9 Jalan Bukit Mata, Kuching 93100, Malaysia (Formerly Somerset Gateway Kuching)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $28 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariva Gateway Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariva Gateway Kuching is nestled in the heart of Sarawak's Golden Triangle. It is a well appointed twin tower complex integrating modern offices and serviced residences from hotel rooms to well equipped apartments within the Central Business District. It is centrally located within a myriad of major shops, international restaurants and entertainment centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ariva Gateway Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariva Gateway Kuching Hotel Kuching
Somerset Gateway Kuching
Somerset Gateway Hotel Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing