We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large spacious apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ranked #27 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed 7 nights in the 2 BDRM Premier Apt on the 8th floor with wife and 2 young kids. Very large spacious apts a little old & worn but that didn't worry us one bit. The staff were brilliant, very helpful, smiling and genuinely nice. The rooftop pool is great to cool down, its shallow approx 1m deep but ideal. Awesome views of the city from the pool area. 5mins walk to the waterfront, 2mins to Top spot. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigTone72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArivaGateway, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

Ariva Gateway Kuching offers great value to your stay in terms of location and facilities. We are pleased to update that we are currently undergoing progressive refurbishment works for our Superior Rooms and hope to be able to make arrangements to refurbish our Apartments after the completion of the Superior.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken note of your comments. Your valuable feedback is gift for us to constantly strive for improvement.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Chai Chiew Ping
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for Ariva Gateway Kuching
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 257 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had 3 x 2 bedroom apartments, they where very spacious and clean, the roof top pool was great to cool down and also for the view.

Great to get the tours done from and was only a short walk to chinatown or fast food places and shopping centres, was very close to topspot seafood.

I recommend and would go back hear as nothing to complain about, but remember that reception is on the 4th floor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kerrien19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArivaGateway, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

Our sincere apologies for responding late to your favorable comments and we are very glad to hear your enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased to update that we are currently undergoing progressive refurbishment works for our Superior Rooms and hope to be able to make arrangements to refurbish our Apartments after the completion of the Superior Rooms.

Your valuable feedback is a gift for us to constantly strive for improvement.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Chai Chiew Ping
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

The room was clean and beautiful. Easy access to many hot spots. The staff overall were very friendly and helpful. Love the amneties. Breakfast is really bad though, hence the 4 stars. I wish I could give 4.5. We checked out late at 5pm and only paid RM50 so it's very convenient. The housekeeping, gym guys and maintenance were excellent and helpful. Deserved the tips :)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArivaGateway, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

Our sincere apologies for responding late to your favorable comments. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and complimenting our Housekeeping, Gym and Maintenance team.

We are pleased to update that we are currently undergoing progressive refurbishment works for our Superior Rooms and hope to be able to make arrangements to refurbish our Apartments after the completion of the Superior Rooms.

Your valuable feedback is a gift for us to constantly strive for improvement. We are continuing to monitor our breakfast items provided by our vendor in ensuring the standards and quality of food and service.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Chai Chiew Ping
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The location is good, easily access to town, restaurants and hot spot.
Rooms are spacious, clean, well furnished but not well maintained. However apartment of 2 rooms with only one bathroom. It is good to has TV with ASTRO but the channels are limited.

Hotel is quite big and it was too crowded, especially during breakfast. Not enough seat and guests have to wait. Breakfast menu very limited.

The front office staff has serious problems to respect guests. No welcoming greetings and not pleasant.

Room Tip: Choose the highest level and you can see the city view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzliaDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArivaGateway, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

We are pleased to update that we are currently undergoing progressive refurbishment works for our Superior Rooms and hope to be able to make arrangements to refurbish our Apartments after the completion of the Superior Rooms.

Our sincere apologies for responding late to your comments. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us despite some issues with our breakfast and front line staffs.

The 2 Bedroom Deluxe apartment is our smaller unit at 76sqm which comes with 1 common bathroom in the apartment. However, we have bigger units, the Executive (95sqm) and Premier (101sqm) that comes with 2 bathrooms.

We are continuing to monitor our breakfast items provided by our vendor in ensuring the standards and quality of food and service.

We are also ensuring that our front line staffs are constantly trained especially on service deliverance.

Your valuable feedback is a gift for us to constantly strive for improvement. Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Chai Chiew Ping
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Rooms filthy, doors rotting beds as hard as rocks. Area dark and scary at night, disgusting smell in the lifts. Washing machine broken, pool too dirty to swim in..just don't stay there, not worth it. Even the staff at reception were not that helpful. I loved Kuching but would never stay here again. The breakfast was shocking with only a couple of choices..toast was all not even fresh eggs just boiled eggs on offered...just yuck

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melbbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArivaGateway, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching. Our sincere apologies for responding late to your comments.

We are pleased to update that we are currently undergoing progressive refurbishment works for our Superior Rooms and hope to be able to make arrangements to refurbish our Apartments after the completion of the Superior Rooms.

We have made available a common Laundry Area on Level 16 for our guests staying in the Apartment units whilst waiting for the parts to repair the machines in the apartment unit.

As we have an outdoor pool on Level 16, at times depending of weather condition we have rain water flowing into the pool hence our efforts in ensuring the pool is vacuumed daily and regular scrubbing is done.

We are continuing to monitor our breakfast items provided by our vendor in ensuring the standards and quality of food and service.

We are also ensuring that our front line staffs are constantly trained especially on service deliverance.

Your valuable feedback is a gift for us to constantly strive for improvement. Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Chai Chiew Ping
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

When you arrival at Ariva building, you need to find yourself how to go to lobby Ariva Gateway. The hotel should mention the hotel lobby located at level fourth of the building on Booking.com website. need good signage at level 4 too. The hotel staff friendly and I get great view from hotel room facing Sungai Sarawak. The room was big spacious but unfortunately old fashioned. The breakfast was average. Very helpful staff at reception upon check-out but i didn't get my hotel receipt, the staff should ask the guests either need a receipt or not (overall the staff was great).
looking forward to stay here again.

Room Tip: Look for room facing Sungai Sarawak
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taycp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArivaGateway, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching. Our sincere apologies for the late response to your comments.

We are pleased to update that we are currently undergoing progressive refurbishment works for our Superior rooms and hope to be able to make arrangements to refurbish our Apartments after the completion of the Superior Room.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken note of your comments. Ariva Gateway Kuching is a Serviced Apartment concept hotel cum apartment hence we do have the norm of a Hotel Lobby on the ground level. We have ample signage on the Ground Floor and in the Service Lifts as well as the Lobby Level that Ariva Reception is on Level 4. We will, however, re-look into this matter due to frequent comments.

Your feedback is a gift for us to constantly strive for improvement. We are currently monitoring our breakfast catered by our vendor in ensuring the quality and service.

We are also conducting regular training to our front line staff in ensuring the standard of our service deliverance.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable feedback and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back with us again.

Yours sincerely
Chai Chiew Ping
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Booked into the Ariva Gateway Hotel today (01/22/2014) and was advised there would be an extra charge of 16% on top of the internet agreed prices. I was handed a page with extra costs and advised the website got the pricing incorrect. After standing my ground I was able to "provide" evidence that stated the total amount.

BEWARE when dealing with this hotel because they will add fees and charges after an agreed amount.

On a positive note the staff did try to help after they identified I was not going to pay the extra amount.

Lets see how my stay unfolds, I will submit a final review at the end of my stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you print off your booking details for evidence
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank havenfunin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArivaGateway, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching. Our sincere apologies for responding late to your comments.

We are pleased to update that we are currently undergoing progressive refurbishment works for our Superior Rooms and hope to be able to make arrangements to refurbish our Apartments after the completion of the Superior Rooms.

We are continuing to monitor our breakfast items provided by our vendor in ensuring the standards and quality of food and service.

We are also ensuring that our front line and housekeeping staffs are constantly trained especially in service deliverance and the up-keeping of the room conditions.

Your valuable feedback is a gift for us to constantly strive for improvement. Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to experience the difference we have made since your last stay.

Yours sincerely
Chai Chiew Ping
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#12 of 55 in Kuching
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariva Gateway Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariva Gateway Kuching

Address: No 9 Jalan Bukit Mata, Kuching 93100, Malaysia (Formerly Somerset Gateway Kuching)
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $28 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariva Gateway Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariva Gateway Kuching is nestled in the heart of Sarawak's Golden Triangle. It is a well appointed twin tower complex integrating modern offices and serviced residences from hotel rooms to well equipped apartments within the Central Business District. It is centrally located within a myriad of major shops, international restaurants and entertainment centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ariva Gateway Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariva Gateway Kuching Hotel Kuching
Somerset Gateway Kuching
Somerset Gateway Hotel Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing