We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff. Near amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ranked #28 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during business trip. Room was ok. However they messed up the room as at first they said they did not have twin sharing but at the end they gave me one. Nicely located in town center with lots of amenities. 7 eleven and a lot of eateries are nearby. There is also one shopping mall but still not fully occupied yet. Friendly staff.

However I've been told that ariva area is hot spot for criminals- bullies and pickpockets at night. So be careful when you are getting in or out of the hotel at night

Nice experience overall

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank azizyaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArivaGateway, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching. Our sincere apologies for the late response to your comments.

We are pleased to update that we are currently undergoing progressive refurbishment works for our Superior rooms and hope to be able to make arrangements to refurbish our Apartments after the completion of the Superior Room.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken note of your comments despite the mess up on your booking requirement for a twin room.

One has to always be cautious of our surrounding areas while overseas and would recommend not to take back alleys or short cuts while walking along a quiet street.

Your feedback is a gift for us to constantly strive for improvement. We are conducting regular training to our front line staff in ensuring the standard of our service deliverance.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable feedback and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back with us again.

Yours sincerely
Chai Chiew Ping
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 259 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed for 3 days with a friend and have no real complaints. Breakfast is a little stingy with very small cups and glasses. Staff was very helpful with all of our questions. I reported the air con leaking water on our last night there but it was not fixed so I put a pot from the kitchen under the drip. Not the newest facility but was clean and at a good price.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Soclwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArivaGateway, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching. Our sincere apologies for the late response to your comments.

We are pleased to update that we are currently undergoing progressive refurbishment works for our Superior rooms and hope to be able to make arrangements to refurbish our Apartments after the completion of the Superior Room.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us despite the issue with your room's air-conditioning.

Your feedback is a gift for us to constantly strive for improvement. We are constantly monitor the breakfast catered by our vendor in ensuring the quality and service.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable feedback and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back with us again.

Yours sincerely
Chai Chiew Ping
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

You arrive at the upper ground level, walk up the stairway to the lift and make your way to the 4th floor to the reception. Check in is a breeze.I think you could drive to the ground floor if you got many luggage and stuff.

Stayed in a two-room apartment. My family of 6 is happy as the place is comfortable. On entering the unit, we notice a bit of stale smell but opening the windows for good ventilation fix the smell. A good room freshener might do wonders. The amenities are well kept and much appreciated.

The breakfast is not much but you got what you paid for. Enough to get us going for our excursions. We saw only 2 persons manning the place but we are always early so there is no crowd.

The wifi is terrible. I have to resort to my broadband instead. There are many complains on this but the management has not done much it seems.

The best thing is the direct connection to Top Spot, the seafood heaven. On the 2nd floor you could walk straight to the 4th floor of top spot and only a level down from the food court. Really convenient. There is also a few other eating places and a convenient store across the roads

A bit far from the waterfront but not by much. Only a few minutes walk and well placed crossings.

I'd recommend the place for a small family.

Room Tip: Try to get the room opposite of top spot as the dings might go on till midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezamshah65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArivaGateway, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching. Our sincere apologies for the late response to your comments.

We are pleased to update that we are currently undergoing progressive refurbishment works for our Superior rooms and hope to be able to make arrangements to refurbish our Apartments after the completion of the Superior Room.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us despite some issues with the breakfast and WiFi.

As Ariva offer Free WiFi, the line may get congested at times when the hotel is running a high occupancy or when there are a vast demand on movie streaming. The Management has installed a Bandwidth device to control movie streaming and this has tested with improvement for our guests for browsing access.

Your feedback is a gift for us to constantly strive for improvement. We constantly monitoring the breakfast catered by our vendor in ensuring the quality and service.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable feedback and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back with us again.

Yours sincerely
Chai Chiew Ping
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Good location, within walking distance to the River front & old town areas. Room is a bit old though quite clean. The shower head was broken & need to hold it to shower. Quite unbelievable that the hotel does not has any extra pillow! I do not know that they refuse to provide or they really don't have any. Breakfast was terrible - few choices, crowded, tables not cleared promptly when guests left, running out of coffee. Just messy! Probably short of staff as I can see them running around. The worst is, due to lack of choices, most guest take hard boil eggs & there is only 1 bottle of light sauce (pic attached) to share around! You can see guests looking around for it. Not likely to go back if I have other choices.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alphonsus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

at the time of texting im now at ariva stay 3 pay 2 promo in 2 bedroom apartmen.as the previous reviews says alot of this premise and i agree most of the reviews.well manage and maintain rooms which is clean and well kept but a few things to be improve like breakfast which is not enough.free wifi they offered is not stable in certain rooms and have to hunt for best signal available.overall its a good stay with the room rate.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank tank_khoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The building is properly one of the most recognizable building in the city of Sarawak. I can visibly see the Green awning roof top from as far as the airport and while I was on the plane. Please see one of my pictures posted.

Rooms are spacious and very clean. Sufficient lighting and good air condition. Strong power shower. Hand, face and bath towels are provided with the daily housekeeping. Good quality teas and coffee sachets served. Odor free washing machine cum dryer are a plus asset for family with children or those who choose this apartment hotel as the last exit from Kuching.

Check-in at level four. Can ask the taxi to drive directly into the parking lot and stop at one and only lighted area, which has the lift that takes you all the way to the level four.

One minor hiccup during our stay was the breakfast. The hard boiled eggs were mixed with the raw egg. Did inform the waiter. The Nescafe dispending machine didn't actually dispensing the real Nescafe products.

I do recommend this property for quality sleep and safe environment.

Room Tip: get the premier room for better comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inxpekto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

the location of the hotel is good, easily accessible to food, convenient stores , and next to Hills mall. Pullman and Hilton hotels are nearby, walking distance within town area. Oh, it is right next to the famous Top Spot seafood center, just take the lift to G floor, exit to carpark and cross to the carpark of Top spot, super near. some rooms in the hotel are old, carpet old and smelly. if one get a decent clean room, it is a good place to stay, for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmikanuyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#12 of 55 in Kuching
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,003 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#6 of 55 in Kuching
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariva Gateway Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariva Gateway Kuching

Address: No 9 Jalan Bukit Mata, Kuching 93100, Malaysia (Formerly Somerset Gateway Kuching)
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $29 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariva Gateway Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariva Gateway Kuching is nestled in the heart of Sarawak's Golden Triangle. It is a well appointed twin tower complex integrating modern offices and serviced residences from hotel rooms to well equipped apartments within the Central Business District. It is centrally located within a myriad of major shops, international restaurants and entertainment centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ariva Gateway Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariva Gateway Kuching Hotel Kuching
Somerset Gateway Kuching
Somerset Gateway Hotel Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing