We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Overall I had good experience with Ariva.
1.shower leaking.. maintainance guy come right away after being told about it.
2.email prior to arrival responded within a short time.
3.walking distance (connected via carpark) to topspot.. a very reasonable seafood. We went to stall no.25. Cheap and nice.
A special thank you to Marie for the great birthday suprise cake!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuhanaShafieIzaluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund L, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

Ariva Gateway Kuching is the most ideal accommodation choice for leisure or business in Kuching. The surroundings of the Hotel have much to offer in terms of great shopping, fabulous Top Spot Seafood Centre which is adjacent to Ariva Gateway Kuching, local delicacies and other entertainment. We are glad to know that you had a great experience with Ariva Gateway Kuching.

We received your heartfelt appreciation and we are happy to have met your expectations.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edmund Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    116
    66
    28
    14
See reviews for
83
31
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stay for 2 night in ariva kuching, hotel location is in a gateway ocbc building. check in lobby in 4th floor, quite fast and eficient, no bell boy. must take two times lift before can go to the room, first time take lift to 4th floor pass the lobby and change lift to the room. So if have alots luggage is not too convinient. Still use old model key not a card for open the room. The room is quite old but is clean. Get balcony in the room. Breakfast is simple. Poridge, friedrice, noodle, bread, local cake, cornflake, juice and coffe/tea. Location is good near to hills shopping center and walk able to the waterfront.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edisalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund L, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your valuable review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

We appreciate your kind comments on Ariva Gateway Kuching. All our Superior rooms have a balcony where you can enjoy the scenery of Kuching and walk to many of these attractions and amenities.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edmund Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

No fuss and easy check in.

Clean toilet, although the hot water bit off in the morning...
Comfortable bed, surprisingly I managed to sleep well the night through.

Location wise is quite alrite, almost everything is located within walking distance.

But... Being right behind Top Spot seafood restaurants... At night it was noisy, they play the music a bit too loud.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NKeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund L, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

We appreciate your comment on the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms. We are delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay with us. The location of Ariva Gateway Kuching is superb where all amenities are within walking distance.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edmund Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked the 2 bedded room apartment stay and the complaints that i have are that the

1) Bathroom towels are not change after 2 days and when we requested to change the towels the Reception told us that there is no towels at all. Really not joking, NO towels left... Truly Amazing answer i got.
2) The bed sheets are not changed every day
3) The toilet papers are not replenished

Room Tip: The bed and pillows are surprisingly comfortable and that is the only good thing about the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stealeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund L, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

We have taken note of your feedback and have shared with our housekeeping department. We sincerely apologise for all the unpleasant encounters and making sure such incidents will not happen again.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edmund Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We went in a group of 8 and stayed in the 2 room apartment. They were large and clean, never felt ever comfortable. The washing machine took ages to start though. The location is quite convenient, right next to top spot restaurant which is a good recommend by trip advisor. Not the best seafood I have eaten though, but good value for the prices they charge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund L, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us in our spacious and comfortable apartments. Ariva Gateway Kuching is centrally located in the city of Kuching, an easy access to popular tourist spots and the ever popular Top Spot Seafood Center.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edmund Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I booked a 3 night special through Wotif for 2 superior rooms (4 single adults travelling). We arrived much earlier than standard checkin and were grateful that our rooms were ready and available to us. On our departure we were offered a late checkout and were able to store our baggage in their holding room until leaving for the airport that night.

The rooms were clean and spacious, beds were firm and comfortable. Breakfast is a fairly basic buffet, but included in the price. We ate here simply for convenience as we had a couple of early starts. If you don't like it, there are little cafe's just across the road you could try which would be very cheap.

The thing I liked the most about the location is that Top Spot is just behind the hotel!! Its an easy walk to money changers, 7/11 store, Lyns Tandori, 5-10 mins to the waterfront and souvenir shops. The staff were very friendly and helpful with all our enquiries. The rooftop pool was a bonus at the end of a long hot day touristing around. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TN007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund L, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

We appreciate all your wonderful feedback about Ariva Gateway Kuching. We are delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Ariva Gateway Kuching offers great value for money and is definitely a compelling accommodation choice in Kuching.

We thank you for your compliments on our staff, your kind feedback has been shared. We are always here to meet our guests’ expectations and to make our guests feel at home. Indeed, our rooftop swimming pool is one of best highlights featured in Ariva Gateway Kuching.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edmund Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I love tha ariva as besides being spacious and comfortable for 4 of us, the location is within walking distance to the various shopping centers, souvenir shops and Kuching waterfront. It is also easy to get food around the area and our favourite was Medan selera just across the river. Only 50cts to get on the sampan and barely 5 mins you will be on the other side.

Room Tip: High floor and Room facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolnymph2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund L, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching.

Ariva Gateway Kuching is the most ideal accommodation choice for leisure or business in Kuching. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. The surroundings of the Hotel have much to offer in terms of great shopping, fabulous seafood, local delicacies, souvenirs and many other types of entertainment.

Medan Selera is a short distance away from our Hotel, which is across the river. You will find lots of local food there while enjoying the beautiful view of Kuching City.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edmund Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.2 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#11 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.6 mi away
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariva Gateway Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariva Gateway Kuching

Property: Ariva Gateway Kuching
Address: No 9 Jalan Bukit Mata, Kuching 93100, Malaysia (Formerly Somerset Gateway Kuching)
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariva Gateway Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariva Gateway Kuching is nestled in the heart of Sarawak's Golden Triangle. It is a well appointed twin tower complex integrating modern offices and serviced residences from hotel rooms to well equipped apartments within the Central Business District. It is centrally located within a myriad of major shops, international restaurants and entertainment centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ariva Gateway Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariva Gateway Kuching Hotel Kuching
Somerset Gateway Kuching
Somerset Gateway Hotel Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing