We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand Continental Kuching
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed April 15, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 132 reviews

An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed February 26, 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

I'm travelling with my parrents and we've booked 2 rooms. The rooms are spacious and we can place our shopping bags & cartons inside. It's not recommend to old citizen since the location is 8 mins. walk to Waterfront. But, taxi services are available all day, except night time. The breakfast are acceptable and in room service food half cheaper compare to 4 star hotel at Kuala Lumpur. But, not so much choice of menu.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sayni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

It was down the list of preferred hotels in Kuching on this TripAdvisor website, but I went against instinct and booked it anyway as we were booking last minute and choice was somewhat limited. Interestingly, booking via wotif.com was cheaper than thru the hotel's website. We were very disappointed. The room was clean and the bed was pretty good, but that's about all on the plus side. There was no hot water (only luke warm), the airconditioning was not very effective and sounded like a water fountain was running through it. The towels were thin, small and had holes in them. The bath tiles were mouldy and needed a good clean. We had terrible trouble getting taxis to go anywhere. The concierge would call and they just wouldn't come. By contrast there were taxis queued at some of the other hotels in town. The breakfast buffet selection was small and poor quality - the worst "corn flakes" we've ever had! TV had only 8 channels and the best one for English speaking people, HBO, was terrible reception. They advertise a fitness centre which consists of a rickety old treadmill and exercise bike set by the side of the pool. Reception staff were somewhat helpful but didn't go out of their way and would pick up the phone rather than talk to a waiting guest. Would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acehadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

The Grand Continental was pretty unimpressive.
Our rooms weren't ready when we arrived, but we were allowed to put our bags in our rooms before we went out to explore Kuching. The hotel is about 5-10 minutes walk from the waterfront.
Breakfast was nice - toast, cereal, curries, etc. Pretty standard fare for Malaysia.
The staff were absolutely lovely - couldn't do enough for us, smiles all round.
Unfortunately my bed sheets had stains on and our bath leaked.
If you can get a room at the Hilton or Holiday Inn, go for it. Their lobbies were nice and they were right on the waterfront. If you can't get into those hotels, the Grand Continental will do!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank TropicalStormKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2007

The Lobby was unimpressive, and there weren't enough seats for you while you wait for your rooms to be ready. The elevators creaked, and the service was slow.
Is there an upside to this? I don't know really, all I can say is that it could have been worse. The stay was unmemorable, and I only stayed there for two days, most of which were spent gallivanting outside for work purposes.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BelleofAmherst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2007

Guest rooms very large and in good repair. Clean. A few minutes walk from the waterfront. Very friendly staff. This hotel bills itself as four stars, but I would give it a sold three. Best of all is that the rate I paid (110MYR) was comparable to much worse properties

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sr.rb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
630 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 55 in Kuching
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Continental Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Continental Kuching

Address: Jalan Ban Hock, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range: $28 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Continental Kuching 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the central business and shopping district of Kuching,this business-class hotel offers well-appointed, spacious and comfortable Borneo-styled rooms for the discerning traveller. Banquet and Conference facilities able to accommodate up to 500 persons, Gala Dinner. Resort-feel Poolside to unwind after a long day at the Office or sightseeing in Kuching. International & Ethnic Sarawak Cuisine offered at the Coffee House and 24-hour In-Room Dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Continental Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Continental Kuching
Hotel Grand Continental Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing