We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice small national park”

Kubah National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.00*
and up
Night Frogs Tour at Kubah National Park
More Info
$134.66*
and up
Matang Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre and Kubah National Park Tour from Kuching
More Info
$77.50*
and up
Full-Day Matang Wildlife And Trekking At Kubah With Lunch from Kuching
Ranked #9 of 89 things to do in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“nice small national park”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

only 30-45min bus drive to the park: bus number 21(politeknik) from the main bus station near the big mosque in kuching (8 am, 4RM pP).

20 RM entry fee per person.

Summit trail: very exhausting uphill trek on a concrete road. it took us 1,5 hours to go up but afterwards we were really exhausted. 45 min down. we had a nice view at the top. if you want to do this trail definitely do it in the beginning!

waterfall trail: 30min easy trekking to a really nice waterfall! you can swim there. apparently the current is quite strong in the main rainy season (jan-feb).

selang trail: we did the walk starting from the waterfall trail. it took 30 min to reach the view point (nice view) and then 30 min to the parks headquarter. the last part was mostly steep downhill steps, so we suppose its a challenging uphill hike if you start on the other end (at the headquater) :)

you can also walk the raya trail to the wildlife center, but we didnt have time for that. the last bus goes back around 3 pm. make sure to be at the station minimum 10 min earlier. if you miss the bus the park can call you a driver (40 per vehicle).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank 430travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    86
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park, Filthy Picnic Area”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

After visiting the Matang Wildlife Centre, I brought my family to the stream for a dip. The water was beautiful and the local families barbecuing at the stream were friendly. However, it was disappointing to see heaps of rubbish everywhere that attracted flies and even domestic cats! Perhaps there should be huge signs reminding picnickers to bring their rubbish home.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank meals1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What a place...”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I took the public bus service to Kubah National Park and had the best time in Kuching...
Made my way to the bus terminal in the morning to catch the K21 service.
To Kubah timing: 8am, 11am, 2pm, 4.30pm.
Back: 6.30m, 9.30am, 12.30pm, 3.30pm.
Bus timing is an estimate and buses do come and leave early.
My bus to Kubah left town at 10.50am and my return bus came at 3.10pm.
Fee is collected by the bus driver who double as a conductor and is 4RM each way.
You do not need to alight or drop off at a busstop...just tell the driver where you need to drop and he will do as told. The ride each way is about 45-60 minutes. Bus is comfortable and air conditioned.
The park itself is big and relaxing. I did not spot any wildlife but was preoccupied with all the plants. While i was there, it rained heavily but i continued my plans to track to the waterfall. It was a short walk and i did not see anybody at the place except for the entrance park warden.
I enjoyed the quiet and peaceful environment and had the whole place to myself! It takes about an hour to reach the waterfall and i had my lunch of packed meals/snacks there. After that, it was a quick track back to the main road to catch the K21 back to town. The bus came (early) just as i reached the main road and i managed to flagged it down about a hundred meters away from the bus stop! An hour or so later, i arrived back in town with fond memories of the great day out.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Teo_KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great staff and waterfall”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

waterfall is a mind blower.
accom is fantastic - says dorm, our dorm ended up a double bed room in a rainforest lodge all to ourselves.

mind - you cannot hike to Matang from here anymore!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank deadleg21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A love-hate relationship”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Went up twice actually. Once all the way to the top. Last one was up the Waterfall Trail. My title says it all. I hate the trek up as it's quite a hike (relentless and steep), but at the same time I love it. Once you get to the destination (be it at the top, or the waterfall) you get the satisfaction from beating the steep journey. Be warned (to those not-very-active people like me) you will feel mummified the next day. But definitely worth doing.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank AprilsAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kubah National Park also viewed

 

Been to Kubah National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing