We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top class. A experience you wont forget.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saloma's Villagestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuching
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saloma's Villagestay
Ranked #7 of 82 Kuching B&B and Inns
Kuching, Malaysia
1 review
“Top class. A experience you wont forget.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great home stay. Go there and you'll absolutely love it. Saloma is so passioned about it and she is doing so much for the village. Her family is welcoming and wonderfull. Great local food as well. Waterfalls near by, nice trekking and very peacefull.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasper_Vedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
18
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Getting there is not easy: a winding road up and down the hills. But when you get there you will be repaid.
A peaceful traditional Bidayuh village with beautiful houses and smiling people. Saloma's house is so warm and everybody there is so welcoming.
Please go, enjoy great moments and great local dishes and at the same time help Saloma with her project aimed to improve villagers' life.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckyluketorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Saloma's provided me with some amazing experiences for the end of my Borneo trip. Saloma was able to create me a custom itinery which involved an overnight trek, waterfalls, long houses and an genuinely authentic experience. During my 3 day stay I met many nice people including her wonderful family and tried loads of great local food. I noticed that the more well known home stays were very touristy at one point I saw a bus load of tourists stopping at one as we drove past. I am extremely glad that a chose Saloma's she is truly passionate about what she does and is doing great things for the local community.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family and I spend 2 nights and 3 days in Saloma's family. They are very kind and smiling people. It's a good way discovering the local life. Saloma is answering all your questions and share a lot of from her Bidayuh culture. You will eat and try different bamboo cooking taste (rice, tea, chicken, etc ...). Waterfalls experience is amaising; serenity and cold water. If you go in borneo, be shure you can stay in Saloma's house, far from the tourist mass. Thank you Saloma !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I did 2 stay in Saloma’s village stay (2010-2013) and I RECOMAND this homestay.
Very nice experience inside Bidayuh village in Borneo hills, 3 days tour with activities like hiking in paddy fields, waterfalls, Orang-Utans, local jungle food, tubing, bamboo village,…

Far away touristic track, it is nice to see longhouse life and spend time with villagers.

The homestay design is very original, quiet and relaxing to be surrounded by trees. Comfortable, local house but safe during heavy rain.
The family is simple and very welcoming; it is nice to share their life for a while.

I wish I could stay more longer.
Thank you so much. And see you soon!
En un mot: Génial!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrienNaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Essarts le roi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I went to Saloma's family before it became Saloma's Villagestay
It was wonderfull
We have disovered the life in the village, in the camps (paddy field), the waterfalls, other villages in the mountains
All the family was very happy about thi experience and we would like to come back ther

Olivier

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

i went jungle treking with saloma in 1999, the whole thing was brilliant now its a business i know she will have time to make the whole experence even better, amazing food, people, scenery and great fun, if you love the outdoors you love this.

Room Tip: its not about luxuary!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dannygoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
11.1 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
24.2 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#16 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
9.6 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
10.2 mi away
Basaga Holiday Residences
24.5 mi away
Permai Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saloma's Villagestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saloma's Villagestay

Property: Saloma's Villagestay
Address: No 75 Kampung Sadir | Jalan Puncak Borneo, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedrooms setting up from the old days of Bidayuhs' tribes style. Each room comes with a mosquito net, open windows, authentic lights and a fan. We have cozy and relaxing open balcony surrounded by green forest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saloma's Villagestay Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing