We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cat Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cat Museum

Cat Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.66*
and up
Kuching City and Heritage Tour
Ranked #15 of 87 things to do in Kuching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known as "cat city," Kuching is dotted with various feline sculptures and this unusual cat museum. Inside, see cat items from ancient times to "Hello, Kitty."
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cat Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

we enjoyed our visit to this establishment, It is very kitsch but an enjoyable afternoon out. There is a coffee shop and souvenirs. The view are worthwhile as it is up on a hill.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PaulaYves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    153
    182
    46
    24
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A place to visit if you a are a cat lover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

A good place to drop by only if you are a cat lover and if you are interested in cats. A few exhibits and write-ups on cats in history and in various cultures but could appear abit disjointed to some as there are a substantial number of cat artifacts.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank justagalSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
380 reviews
253 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“small display”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

within the premises of northern city government office. takes about half an hour as it is a very small museum with not much display. just watch the "cats" when you are at "cat city"

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank platinumSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overloaded on Cats.. and loving it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Entering the museum, we walk through, what I would describe as a giant cat mouth/ head. Here is where I know this is going to be one very interesting museum. Entry to the museum is free, but there is a small fee to pay for photography, and there is no way I'm passing up on this opportunity. You enter a large room that turns into the what appears to be a maze like room, where there a wall to wall glass cabinets of 'cat stuff'. Through the middle of the rooms there are glass cabinets, lined mostly with purple cloth I suppose to look royal, to walk around. The majority of these are filled with random 'cat merchandise', from ceramic statues, wooden cats, images of people holding cats, cat photo frames, plush cats and anything relating to cats. There is another cat statue, as well as a the cat mascot "Pesta Kuching", locked away in a cabinet. There is another cabinet with random cards they have collected with anything featuring a cat. There are cats upon cats and images and images of cats. I think my face had started to hurt from smiling.

There are some really interesting pieces and some really amazing pieces of art throughout the museum. Works that have clearly been produced by a professional artist and others that could have been done by a five year old, maybe younger. Either way, they are all very interesting, especially the large section they have of kittens dressed as characters. There are more hidden treasures and quirky pieces to be found in every corner of the museum.

The maze continued, for I don't know how long, with more strange and wonderful cat things. So far we've even found a cabinet full of Garfield memorabilia and Hello Kitty memorabilia, Egyptian art, Japanese art, Cats painted on rocks, Movie posters featuring cats, CATS the musical posters, Cat caves and a cabinet full of Friskies cat food. We come to more cat statues, more plush cats, more images. I've overloaded on cats.

If you really like cats, I recommend it. If your girlfriend loves cats, take her and you MIGHT enjoy it. If you dont like cats...then feel terrible, cause you're missing out.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Miow miow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

One will need more time to spend if you would like to thoroughly check on every collection and read through every single details. Hope they will renovate the place into a more modern set up, it is like 70s now.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yoke Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cat Museum also viewed

 

Been to Cat Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing