We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”
Review of Tribal Stove

Tribal Stove
Ranked #61 of 585 Restaurants in Kuching
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Great food although the service was at standard Sarawak pace - i.e. slow, but heh that's how they do things here.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Freddy_Fruitbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    37
    15
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Why so quiet? It is worth a search.”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This very ordinary looking restaurant serves great food. The menu is local, authentic and welcoming. On the evenings we were there it was very quiet, though lunch was busier. The adjacent verandah is pleasant, but tucked in a scruffy urban street probably doesn't help. If it is great local food you want give it a try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annie199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“An ethnic experience”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

As the restaurant's name implies, Tribal Stove serves traditional Borneo fare - some very tasty dishes at very reasonable prices. It is a shame that the restaurant often seemed to be quiet, as it was on the evening that we ate there. We were able to sit outside in a courtyard next to the restaurant proper, which was quite pleasant on a warm evening. Some of the dishes were "off" but the food that was available was very tasty. My veggie daughter had no difficulty in finding something. The service was OK, although we were rather strangely abandoned after we had eaten the main course.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Dining to the sounds of gentle sape music, and sampling Kelabit cuisine (delicious!), it is easy to forget that you are across the street from the Hilton. Set menus offer a nice way to sample several dishes (try the a'beng--shredded fish), or just choose the umai (think ceviche) and swoon. We didn't notice an appealing looking outdoor seating area to the right a few steps after you enter, or we might have sat there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeirutMoores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Slow Kelabit but worth the wait”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Love the wild tapioca leaves dish - so delicious and simple! They ran out of pansuh (bamboo chicken) which was disappointing after having ordered and they realised that there was not enough to go round the restaurant. Never mind, next time round.

The umai was a bit of a hit and miss. Once our umai was so delicious and not very spicy. However, on the next visit, our umai was extremely spicy. Based on the lesson learnt, we told them to make it to be non spicy. So, we had a delicious non spicy umai despite it had more water than I remembered in the previous visits.

Service was a hit and miss. If its very busy, be prepared to be disappointed with a slow service and/or dishes running out. However, I would still return as I love the dishes being simple without the overpowering flavours and they are simply delicious.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kakiayam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tribal Stove also viewed

 

Been to Tribal Stove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing