We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuppa for a joe”
Review of Black Bean

Black Bean
Ranked #6 of 589 Restaurants in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cuppa for a joe”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Nice and quaint coffee place for something other than Starbucks. Local coffee is available here with some tea if java doesn't tickle your fancy. The only place where even though it leaves a bitter taste in my mouth, I'd come back for more ;)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    77
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minusio, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Super coffee in Kuching”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

A really small original shop in a small, Chinese shopping street as we are used to the Italian expresso this Black Bean one was quit a good one.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ticino4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice coffee”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Its a nuce little place to start he day with a strong fresh brewed coffee. Very tasty! Eat some of the little cookies on the site. Very delicious.

Helpful?
1 Thank EAS_BP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice place to have a local brew”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

To start off, its a small shop with only a few tables in so one should be prepared as there might not be enough seats for the crowd.


It's one of the best place to have local brew apparently and after trying it for a few times, I am enjoying it after finding a little gem so close to home.

Helpful?
Thank Digitalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sarawak Coffee”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I didn't know Sarawak even grew coffee until we sat down here for one of the best coffees in Sarawak. Absolutely try the small cookies. We wished we had brought home a box of them.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bean also viewed

 

Been to Black Bean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing