We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ahhhh coffee...”
Review of Black Bean

Black Bean
Ranked #5 of 576 Restaurants in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“ahhhh coffee...”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

visited in june
after only a few days into the holiday my coffee addiction was realised. unable to gain satisfaction from any hot beverages so far mainly due to the use of uht (longlife) milk I sought expert advice from TA. Much to our relief we were recommended black bean. nearly walked straight past it, tiny little shopfront with just the 3 tables, we were lucky no one was there and we got 2 tables. the coffee was awesome, latte for me. this place is a gem, an excellent find and sated my coffee desire mmmmmm
if you need your coffee go to black bean
(is opposite a chinese temple at end of street, just in case you get a lil lost like us)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kawoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    76
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Unique little coffee shop”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great coffees and teas and be sure to try the gorgeous little cookies on offer too. Inexpensive. Very few seats so you may have to wait but worth it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pumpkinIzmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Afternoon break is best here”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Unique local coffee (and tea), very limited seating. They roast and brew the coffee on the same shop lot. We were invited in to have a look at the roasting. Very interested. The owner is very passionate about his coffee. Very reasonable price.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dasmayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Best cafe in town”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is my personal favourite place in town for a quality fresh coffee. Excellent value, for under RM5 you get a cappuccino and a little biscuit on the side. All in a relaxing atmosphere and with lovely staff to look after you.They only have three tables (two outside and one inside) but that helps make it nice and cosy. Mornings tend to be quieter than afternoons. Location as people say is great, just minutes from the waterfront.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KR_EDINBURGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely coffee!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great coffee, and such good value. Nicest cappuccino in Kuching! Great location near waterfront and lovely to sit outside

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bean also viewed

 

Been to Black Bean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing