We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, new and just an overhead bridge away from a new shopping mall.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines Uplands Kuching

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, new and just an overhead bridge away from a new shopping mall.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our family of 2 adults and 3 teens were in Kuching in June for a short break. Travelling as a family, we always like to stay in vacation rentals or service apartments so we can share common space watching tv, chatting and snacking together. The Citadines offers service apartments and is new, clean and modern though the space is rahter compact. Nonetheless, everything a traveller needs is found in the apartment and anything else needed can be bought in the mid- sized supermart on the ground floor. Breakfast in very simple and we gave it a miss after the first day. Cafes offering much better variety are just round the corner and all food is so cheap and affordable in Kuching.
There is a brand new shopping mall just across the street. Loads of shops and food.
I would say the only downside is that it is a good 10-15min cab ride to go downtown. In Kuching, cabs have to be booked by phone and one cannot just hail a cab from the roadside. But this applies to anywhere you go in Kuching, not specific to staying in this spot. In any case, if you book excursions, the companies are happy to come pick you at no extra charge. We booked a day trip and spent a fabulous day kayaking down an 11km stretch of the Sarawak River. All in, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Low K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    186
    57
    11
    8
See reviews for
154
56
26
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Bed and pillows are great (6 of them in fact!). Good choice of TV channels. Living room setup is good. Only downside I found, is the sink in the bathroom does not seem to work well. I had to remove the covers in order for the water on the floor to flow down the drain. Breakfast is poor, like previous stayers commented. Cold food and I didn't went down to eat on my 2nd day. Swimming pool looks great from the outside but it seems no people are using. Could be something not right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

It's a great place to put up. Ideal for families and children. They just need to set up their breakfast place sooner.. That was the only downside of my stay.
Great service, good pool and friendly staff. Will come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Anu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

1) new.. but a bit confused to find the hotel lobby n entrance. No signboard.. been opened since last year October.

2) Nice service apartment.

3) Lousy breakfast.. n disappointed. The breakfast served at the 3rd floor.. a corner for dinning.
1 toaster..1 pot of hot water...All the food damn... cold. The staff still doing her part. Check list on the guest name list.. No need to do so troublesome.. who want to have this kind of food. Cold...cold. Please upgrade !!! You are not cheap hotel.. but served all this.. Really a big jokes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onnonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontianak, Indonesia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Its my third stay in this property.its a nice spot in town. Though its not in the town area. But its located opposite a shopping mall with a connecting bridge across the street. Swimming pool are not so clean (alot of sands and even there are used newspaper at the bottom of it. And the water are bit salty.
Breakfast served are basic and not that good.
Coin laundry and dryer available at level 3 for rm7/cycle.
most of the staff are warmth and welcome. And did try to keep up with our needs.
But there was a problem that I'm not really satisfy of. In every of my last stays here, i understand that a washing machine was one of the standard equipment in every 2bed room apartment. But on current stay there is no washing machine in my unit.so decide to consult with the front desk. And being info that it was not a standard equipment or even a compliment. So dont want to reason further with the front desk lady.changed myself few coins. And headed to the coin laundry at 3rd floor.
so,make sure you get yourself a complete eqquiped apartment unit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kartono_huang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I am so glad I managed to be one of their first guests when they open earlier this year. Hotel though new and have some teething issues, service wise is excellent and location is even better. It was a steal to get to stay at their spacious one bedroom during CNY when they have their opening/launching promo.

Have stayed there a couple of times after that. Service was great. Though their lobby is at the 2nd floor, it is very convenient to go to your room direct. Felt safe at night as lift need your room card to operate. easy and convenient parking..right at the entrance..and it's free. Only downside are: breakfast(give it a go) and no porter/concierge service. You will have to go to the lobby (2nd floor) to call the porters to help you with your luggages.

Room Tip: Take the one bedroom instead studio..just a small difference in price but you get a lot of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmania2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Normally I don't go for high end hotels as I prefer more personal holiday experiences. However, I wanted some luxury after getting ill in a dorm.

The location of the Citadines hotel is fine, especially if you have a car. A taxi to town will cost you 15RM. That said, it's not far from the airport and "The Spring" shopping mall has everything that you need and the supermarket downstairs has a surprisingly good selection of products.

The pool area is nice but there is little shade for somebody as pale as me so I had a dip and got out quickly.

Breakfast was a disappointment and area which they need to work on.

The biggest plus were the staff. They were very helpful and friendly without that falseness that you get in some hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keebles67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
1.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
2.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kuching
Imperial Hotel Kuching
#8 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Uplands Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Uplands Kuching

Property: Citadines Uplands Kuching
Address: No 55 Jalan Spg, Kuching 93300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Uplands Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the culturally rich city of Kuching, CitadinesUplands is located in the prime location of Jalan SimpangTiga, a hub for education and local federal governmentadministration offices. Across is The Spring ShoppingCentre, one of the largest shopping malls in EastMalaysia, and this strategic location provides a quick10-minute drive to the Samajaya Free Industrial Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Citadines Uplands Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Uplands Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing