We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Clean & Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Batu Bata Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 82 Kuching B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Pat and her helper was helpful and the location is walking distance to all the important places you want to see in Kuching. The place is very cozy and super duper clean. They have cool balcony that you can chill out (smoke/drink) after long day of walking around. Very prompt in replying emails and answering any question you have about your trip.

Definitely coming back again.

Room Tip: Get a room not facing the road coz it can get a bit noisy (coming from the food stalls).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaiChee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Hi there Lai Chee..! Thank you for your lovely review. It is pleasure to have you and your friend as our guests here. We are delighted to know that you liked our place and most of all had an enjoyable stay with us. We value your comments and looking forward to see you again.

We wish you, and you partner all the best and good luck in all your travelling adventures and undertakings.

Regards from all of us here at Batu Bata Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 91 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to Kuching and the Batu Bata guesthouse. Patricia and her staff made our stay very pleasant and the atmosphere was very welcoming. The breakfasts were delicious and a great way to start the day. The staff were extremely helpful with local information and orgainsing transport and events during our stay. We had the fortune of having one of the double rooms with a window which allowed us to get some air circulation. The rooms were small and simple but very adequate for our needs. We also typically avoid guesthouses with shared bathroom facilities but these were very nice, clean, with hot water and lovely brick work. We would not hesitate to recommend Batu Bata to anyone looking for a good value and would definitely return if we were to visit Kuching again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hi there Gareth and Sherri! Thank you so much for the lovely review. So glad thay both of you liked our place. It is a pleasure for us as a team here to know that we did a good job making your stay a good one here in Kuching. We will improve on what that is weak, and provide the best in our services. 6 days of stay is a long time and we are truly happy that you have chosen Batu Bata Guesthouse as your accomodation!
We will miss you and really looking forward to see you and Sherri again soon. Thank you for the amazing comment on our breakfast too! :)

Thank you again for having us as a part of your travelling journey. Wishing the both of you good luck and all the best!
From all of us here at Batu Bata Guesthouse!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This guest house is located right in china town only one street back from the main bazaar and waterfront - perfect. The whole place was clean and tidy, with a lovely homely feel.
We did book a room with a window for the first night but it was too noisy and light from outside, the staff very kindly moved us to another room which was inside and that was perfect. All rooms have aircon. The showers are great and the staff are really friendly and helpful. We couldn't have found anything better!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hello there Ms. Alice! We are very pleased that you took the time to write a review on us. Thank you for such a wonderful and detailed review. We highly appreciate that you took much interest in our place and called it 'perfect' also because of the location, also its a good motivation for us to keep up with the good job and will never stop improving ourselves to have a happy and satisfied guests as a result. Your lovely remarks will always be in our heart. We wish you a happy and wonderful travelling experience where ever you go and back home safely. All the best and our Batu Bata Guesthouse door are always open for you. Take care Ms.Alice and husband!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Batu Bata Guesthouse is a very nice place. I stayed there recently with my girl-friend for a few days, and I really liked the cozy atmosphere there, which made the place feel familiar. The people are very friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean. Its central location was an additional plus. There is also internet, free coffee, and a laundry service.
- Florian, Germany

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hi there..! Thank you for your lovely review. It is pleasure to have you and your girlfriend as our guests here. We are delighted to know that you liked our place and most of all had an enjoyable stay with us. We value your comments and looking forward to see you again.

We wish you, and you partner all the best and good luck in all your travelling adventures and undertakings. Regards from all of us here at Batu Bata Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Warm & cosy place with friendly staff that are always ready to serve you. The bedroom though small is really cosy. The common toilets/bathrooms are really clean. However, it'd be great to have a signage outside as it wasn't that easy to spot the place. The common area outside would be awesome if there's a tv so us guests could laze outside & mingle. But all in all, it was an awesome experience & a strategic location too!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annezianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hello there! Thank you for taking your time to a write a review on us. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay here at Batu Bata Guesthouse. I have shared your comments to our staff and we appreciate it so much. We look forward to welcome you here again in the future! On the TV part, we will definitely put one there soon. We wish you all the best with your career and good luck!

Take care and see you again..! :))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Whilst travelling you find a lot of places quite grubby and not so clean, but this new guesthouse was really nice and clean with great showers, it makes a nice change. The staff were lovely, helpful and friendly and on hand to give you advice. Mr D and Patricia are very knowledgeable and glad to help out with any questions you might have or trips to book. I would definately recommend this guesthouse. :)

Room Tip: The front room can be annoying above the 7/11 as you can hear the doorbell of the shop and the sign...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstelleM423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hello there the lovely Estelle..! Thank you for the review. It is pleasure to have you and Stacy as our guests here. We are delighted to know that you find our place nice and clean. Good to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We value your comments and looking forward to see you again in the future! Thank you for choosing Batu Bata Guesthouse as your accomodation here in Kuching!
May you have the best of luck and all the best in all your travelling adventures and undertakings. Regards from all of us here at Batu Bata Guesthouse. :))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

In the middle of march 2013, we visited at least more than 10 GH in Kuching and Batu Bata was really the best for us, for many reasons :
- the location is ideal (close to the department store, close to the river and so many restaurants...).
- everybody here, the owners, a young and smiling couple, and the staff, is really nice, friendly and helpful, close to you if you are worried about something,
-the guesthouse is so cute, in every aspects, even though the rooms are quite small, some are with windows, the beds are really confortables, the colors of each rooms are originals with a great taste of decoration. We choose the one upstair. And the showers are outside, but it's convenient (not far)
- it s quiet, and there are 2 terrasses to have a nicetime to read or to have coffee (free)
- breakfast is like a real tasty lunch.
That's why we stayed there about 10 days.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALANL350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hi there Alan and Elly! Thank you so much for the lovely review. So glad thay both of you liked our place. It is a pleasure for us as a team here to know that we did a good job making your stay a good one here in Kuching. We will improve on what that is weak, and provide the best in our services. 10 days of stay is a long time and we are truly happy that you have chosen Batu Bata Guesthouse as your accomodation!
We will miss you and really looking forward to see you and Elly again soon. We will for sure have a new menu of breakfast for you to choose from when you come and stay with us again! :)
Thank you again for having us as a part of your travelling journey. Wishing the both of you good luck and all the best! From Mr. Has, me and our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.7 mi away
Basaga Holiday Residences
0.1 mi away
Marco Polo Travellers
Marco Polo Travellers
#4 of 82 in Kuching
191 reviews
12 mi away
The Village House
The Village House
#5 of 82 in Kuching
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Beds Guesthouse
Beds Guesthouse
#9 of 82 in Kuching
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batu Bata Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batu Bata Guesthouse

Address: No. 8 1st Floor, Carpenter Street | China Town, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: $12 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batu Bata Guesthouse offers you one of the best lodging you can find here in Kuching. We are here because we know we can provide you everything you need in a modest, yet efficient way. Assisting you with guides and informations, and also to make sure comfort and happiness is there during your stay. With a rustic concept, you can feel the ambience straight away as one enters the place. We appreciate bricks here as Batu Bata means bricks in Malay. There is cement screed floors and counters, antique vase, unique plants, handicrafts decor, classic radio and music player, photographs of tribal people and warriors, bamboo shelves, naked brick walls and many more. We have 30 beds here, and our beautiful outdoor balcony with amazing view available on both floors. Our amazing shower tops it off with high power flow from the ceiling shower head not only for a place to bath, but also to refresh your mind when taking a bath. Our amenities here are laundry service, book exchange, free Wi-Fi accessible through top floor, PC, TV room, breakfast area, kitchen, luggage storage and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Batu Bata Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batu Bata Guesthouse Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing