We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Start, stay in Borneo !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Batu Bata Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Batu Bata Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 82 Kuching B&B and Inns
Kuching, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Start, stay in Borneo !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Hi everyone,
I travelled a lot around Malaysia, Thailand etc. and this place is one of the best places I stayed. For me backpacking nowadays becomes sadly more and more a business that it sometimes Seems to be hard to find a good place to stay! I don´t really care about the conditions, but I realy appreciate good, characteristic, clean places!!!
First point allways seems to be the price ! Have a look at the List (2bed,dorm, aircon...)! cheap !!! on top you get these conditions -->

-The Location is perfect(restaurants, buses, activities) near by!
-People here are downright friendly! Help you for tripps etc... cheap rent-motorcycle...
-The House is also downright clean and has a great atmosphere(relaxing at the veranda, rooftop)!!
http://www.everyfinehome.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/Rain-shower-head-2.jpg
But for me the big point is the shower !!! awesome ! never, never found a shower like this on my tripps !!! even on my businesstripps, the hotles couldn't give me this comfort ! real luxus!
So if you guys heading to Kuching, I only can recommend Batu Bata!!!
Now I Start sweating again, blessing taking a shower !!!
peace Leo

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 321LeoLeo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hello there! We are very pleased that you took the time to write a review on us. Thank you for such a wonderful and detailed review. We highly appreciate that you took much interest in our shower and the place itself, also its a good motivation for us to keep up with the good job and will never stop improving ourselves to have a happy and satisfied guests as a result. Your lovely remarks will always be in our heart. We wish you a happy and wonderful travelling experience where ever you go and back to Germany safely. All the best and our Batu Bata Guesthouse door are always open for you. Take care Mr. Leo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    27
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
31
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed here for one night. The place itself is rustic and its located right in Chinatown in Kuching. It's perfect if you plan on going around Kuching the whole day and just need a place to sleep. Even though it's shared toilets, they're very clean. There's balcony where you can just sit down and hangout or enjoy the warm Kuching weather. It's close to every thing too, the museum, mall, waterfront, you name it. Oh, free Wi-Fi too.

Main entrance is pretty hard to spot at first, but they've put up a poster on the door before I left so you'll know you're there. It's right beside 7-eleven too and that's pretty convenient. The room isn't much but one does not expect the Bellagio here. I'd say it's worth the money.

I like the place, would definitely recommend it to my friends who are coming to Kuching.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicoabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hello there Nico! Thank you for taking your time to a write a review on us. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable and a comfortable stay here at Batu Bata Guesthouse even just for a night. I have shared your comments to our staff and we appreciate it so much. We look forward to welcome you here again in the future! We wish you all the best for your studies and upcoming career and good luck with everything in life.
Take care and see you again..! :))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in Batu Bata Guesthouse and we were really stisfied! Clean new rooms, great location in centre of Kuching. Stuff was wery friendly and they helped us with everything, we wanted to know about attractions in Kuching. Go there!

Styed for 3 nights, room for couples

Room Tip: Second floor was very nice with small roof garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kariterka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi there Kat and Michal! Thank you for your lovely review..! Loveto know that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We appreciate it so much for choosing us as your accommodation and included us into your travelling experience. Thank you for the lovely cupcake liners as a gift before leaving back home to Prague..we will be sure to use it for our next cupcake baking!
Looking forward to see you again and good luck in your career and all your undertakings.. See you lovely couple again and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Loved this homely little guest house. Exceptionally clean with the greatest feel to it. Very modern inside with great extra features. Reception staff go above and beyond to make your stay in Kutching and onward travel easy and relaxing. 10/10

Room Tip: they are all perfectly clean and modern and GREAT
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hello there Christian and Tim! Thank you for taking your time to a write a review on us. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable and a comfortable stay here at Batu Bata Guesthouse. I have shared your comments to our staff and we appreciate it so much. Thank you for coming back again after your trip to Sabah and we look forward to welcome you here again in the future! We wish you guys all the best for your travelling adventures and good luck.
Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hi..
Nazrul here.
Our first time stay on kuching was fantastic at this lovely guesthouse. The place is in the very strategic place where it's near to bus stop, restaurant, waterfront, museums and etc. The helpful staff is friendly and warm. A cute balcony in the back, incredibly sweet. Indo cafe and tea always to grabs. The small smart rooms are clean and without bathroom, also window. Can therefore be a little warm like sauna during the night, but if this bothers you, spring for an a/c room!. I would definitely recommend my friends and family's back home to come here as i know. I would the second time around I'll come to kuching. And also choose a/c room!

Nazrul and lovely wife

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nazrulazmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi there Mr. Nazrul and wife! Thank you for reviewing you recent stay here at Batu Bata Guesthouse. It is a pleasure for us that you have chosen our place for your first time trip here to Kuching. Your feedback on our place is truly appreciated that you liked the amenities we have here.
Thank you also for the lovely and cute small turtle gift when you left, it is now a decor we put on our reception counter. :) We hope to see the both of you again, goodluck on becoming new parents soon and wishing you all the best! :))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

My siblings’ and I were in Sarawak for the first time. The first stay in Kuching was fantastic at this lovely Batu Bata Guesthouse. The place is in the very strategic place where it’s near to bus stop, restaurants, waterfront, museums and etc. We stayed for 4D3N and really enjoyed our stay. We had double room and 2 dorm beds. The rooms are clean and comfortable even though small. Especially the dorm… The guesthouse deco was simple and nice with warm & calm theme. It’s so relaxing at the small n cute balcony and the rest place. The staffs there were superb friendly, nice and helpful too. They are always around to help and chit chat with us, guide us to the places to visit and etc.It is difficult to find words for their place. It’s kind of feel like it’s our home far from our home. We had a really good time at the Guesthouse. Overall a great place with great people. I would recommend it to anyone, very happy with my stay. A++

I really hope to visit them again sometime in the future.

Wish them all good luck!! 

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Achunitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Hello there you guys. What a wonderful and detailed review you have for us here.. Thank you so much! We are very happy and pleased to know that our place made your first trip to Sarawak a good one. We highly appreciate that you took much interest on our decor and the balcony.. I have shared your comments with my team here, we couldn't agree more that you 4 siblings are so sweet and friendly as well. Glad that you find our place a strategic area to all easy access walking distance place to eat, to the museum and etc.
Your lovely remarks will always be in my heart and looking forward to see you guys again! Wishing you all the best with your career and undertakings from all of us here at Batu Bata Guesthouse, Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Our first stay on Borneo was fantastic at this lovely Guesthouse. The helpfull staff is friendly and warm. The small smart rooms are clean and without bathroom. But shared bathroom is clean and I dare say that they have the best showers in Kuching. Breakfast is included and also coffee and tea. Location is perfect. Right next to 7/11 on Jln Carpenter.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Hello there..! Thank you for your lovely review. It is pleasure to have you and your wife as our guests here. We are delighted to know that you love our showers and most of all had an enjoyable stay with us. We value your comments and looking forward to see you again.

We wish you, and you partner all the best and good luck in all your travelling adventures and undertakings. Regards from all of us here at Batu Bata Guesthouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kuching Waterfront Lodge
Kuching Waterfront Lodge
#17 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.8 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batu Bata Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batu Bata Guesthouse

Property: Batu Bata Guesthouse
Address: No. 8 1st Floor, Carpenter Street | China Town, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batu Bata Guesthouse offers you one of the best lodging you can find here in Kuching. We are here because we know we can provide you everything you need in a modest, yet efficient way. Assisting you with guides and informations, and also to make sure comfort and happiness is there during your stay. With a rustic concept, you can feel the ambience straight away as one enters the place. We appreciate bricks here as Batu Bata means bricks in Malay. There is cement screed floors and counters, antique vase, unique plants, handicrafts decor, classic radio and music player, photographs of tribal people and warriors, bamboo shelves, naked brick walls and many more. We have 30 beds here, and our beautiful outdoor balcony with amazing view available on both floors. Our amazing shower tops it off with high power flow from the ceiling shower head not only for a place to bath, but also to refresh your mind when taking a bath. Our amenities here are laundry service, book exchange, free Wi-Fi accessible through top floor, PC, TV room, breakfast area, kitchen, luggage storage and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Batu Bata Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batu Bata Guesthouse Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing