We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tandoori Palace - CLOSED

Tandoori Palace
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good food here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We love Indian food, and were very pleased with the quality here. You can eat indoors, in the airconditioning, but no alcohol is served. If you want a beer with your meal, you can eat on the verandah, but the evening is recommended to avoid the heat of the day. We had chicken biriyani, potato/spinach and a good roman josh.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    23
    6
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sad service, food pretty o.k”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This is a sad way of running a restaurant. The location is good, the so called terrace looks even kind off funky for Kuching-standards en the food is o.k...if you get the chance to order some in the first place. Stranded here by accident en it took us fifteen minutes to order some drinks...not a problem, if we weren't the only guests. The guy who was supposed to work there threw our order on our table like a professional frisbee-player, and ignored us for the rest of the meal, and when we payed our bill. It was actually so sad that it became funny, so we went there a second time 2 days later. To bad there were 3 people at work right now who where all 3 ten times better in the ignoring-game then frisbee-guy. So after half 'n our we gave up and left. Don't go, it sucks.

Helpful?
2 Thank LuukFrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good naan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We ate at tandoori and had a nice meal. Both curries were very tasty mad the naan bread was fantastic. Good service

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Veggie Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Most restaurants in Kuching appear to have only one or maybe two veggie options and not particularly exciting ones so we were pleased to see this Indian restaurant with a whole array to choose from.
The restaurant was almost empty and we were told we had to sit outside if we wanted alcohol overlooking the main road, this we did and we were glad that we gave it a try as the food proved to be delicious. The portions turned out to be very generous which the staff kindly pointed out when we started ordering on the basis of normal UK portion sizes. The onion bhaji was particularly good, not the flat patties we were accustomed to but individual pieces of onion battered and deep fried which were to die for. One portion could easily be enough for two and cost 5RM...or £1. We could not believe how cheap the food was however alcohol as seems to be the same all over Malaysia is about the same as the UK.
The staff were extremely nice and helpful and we therefore returned the following night and tried some of the other veggie curries which were equally as good. We would therefore thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDudleyDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“tandoori?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

we lobbed here after finding the Junk closed on a Tuesday night. Place was empty and staff outnumbered patrons so service not an issue.

Beer was cold, samosas and biryani were good. Lamb was strongly flavoured- I suspect it was mutton but the dish was still good. the let down was the tandoori chicken, not tandoori flavoured as we know it, the middle of the chicken was soft as it was steamed so perhaps 2 things, flavouring not authentic and oven not hot enough?

anyway it warmed us up on a wet Tuesday night in Kuching!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maroon25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoori Palace also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing