We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”

The Great Orangutan Project
Ranked #15 of 88 things to do in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 2 or 4 week multi award-winning orang-utan volunteer project, based in the Matang Wildlife Centre, focusses on the conservation and protection of Borneo's most fascinating and enchanting species - the orang-utan. Please Note: This page is solely in reference to the 2 or 4 week orang-utan volunteer project offered by The Great Projects
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The volunteers were brilliant and I thoroughly enjoyed working there for the couple of days, even cleaning out the cages! The animals were fab!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine482013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adsjs, Manager at The Great Orangutan Project, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Christine, thank you so much for your kind review. We're glad you had a great time and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    32
    9
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A must see - very special”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

In the forest and with the animals swinging around you - have fantastic video footage. A special memory for these wonderful, intelligent animals.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Singquee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adsjs, Manager at The Great Orangutan Project, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Singquee, thank you so much for your kind review. We're glad you had a great time with the orangutans and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A must see all you will ever need to know about the demise of the orangutan. once seen never forgotten.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank redcapphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adsjs, Owner at The Great Orangutan Project, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind five star review redcapphil! We hope to see you again within the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“4 fantastic weeks at Matang!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Volunteering with the Orangutan Project was one of the best decisions I've ever made - I loved every minute of my time at Matang and came away with so much respect and admiration for what they do. I am booking again for next summer and absolutely can't wait. If people who are thinking of going would like to know what to expect, join the facebook group Project Orangutan to talk to past volunteers or read the Orangutan Project facebook page. But by all means book immediately, you won't regret it. :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinead R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adsjs, Director of Sales at The Great Orangutan Project, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for such a great review of your time volunteering with us, Sinead! We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great hour out to spend watching the Apes”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

You can with the Orang Utan rehab centre twice a day at feeding time. 8am & 2pm. This was the first thing we did since arriving in Kutching and it was great. We saw 7 Orang Utans coming quite close up to get to their feeding stations. There should be about 30 at the centre but it is good to know that they only come if they want to.
You are only able to access between the times mentioned above as the rest of the day belongs to the monkeys which gives you a good feel about it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adsjs, Director of Sales at The Great Orangutan Project, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello Tom, I believe you visited Semenggoh and not The Great Orangutan Project at Matang. Stop by when you're next in Borneo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Orangutan Project also viewed

 

Been to The Great Orangutan Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing