We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good spot for cheap local food”
Review of Damai Central

Damai Central
Ranked #29 of 89 things to do in Kuching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An innovative resort-styled multipurpose complex built in Sarawak ethnic-concept design. Built on a coastal land fronting the panoramic South China Sea and takes the advantage of natural ambiance of sun, sand and sea, all set against the backdrop of the lush tropical greenery of Mt. Santubong. Damai Central serves as an entertainment oasis enhancing lifestyle and holiday experience for both local and tourists alike.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good spot for cheap local food”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

As this place is only a 5 minute walk from the Damai Beach Resort, it is a boon to the hotel guests who wish to try local food at local prices! There are about 10 stalls selling cooked food, ranging from Western food like fish & chips to local fare and drink stalls. A plate of fried noodles cost from RM6 and a coconut cost RM5. This is no fancy place, just a canteen like food court.
There is also a 7 11 so you can buy some stuff if you wish. Besides that, there is a seafood restaurant, a souvenir shop and Escobar (open at night).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ValerieYeap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamaiCentral, Public Relations Manager at Damai Central, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review! It is indeed our commitment to ensure the public or surrounding hotel guests get to enjoy food and facilities at a reasonable city rate around the region. Aside from food, we now have more recreational activities for the public to enjoy. Coming up soon we will have Bed and Breakfast, Movie Nights, Bazaar and Art Gallery! We look forward to providing more for you and to receive more reviews from you upon your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    49
    63
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good place for camping and outdoor experience”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a church camp, just a small group. We had a great time. With the friendly and helpful service provided at all times made camping easier for us first timer!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Funandeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamaiCentral, Guest Relations Manager at Damai Central, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are please to hear that your group have had a great time at our BBQ and Camping site. We will be glad to receive your group on your next trip. Feel free to reach us for more recreational activities such as Mountain Hiking, local delicacies cooking lessons, kayaking and bicycle tours visiting landmarks of Santubong. We look forward to receiving your group again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely Jovely..”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I arrived Damai Central after dinner at the near by seafood restaurant about 7:30pm, nothing much there, very quiet, only few shops, few restaurants and a food court that served local food. At night not much scenery to see, very dark even the sea is pitch dark. We are able to have drink at Escobar and enjoyed the live band performance (not big, only 2 singers).

My friend advise the best time is to be there is about 4pm, able to wait and see the beautiful sunset and have dinner next to the sea.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZammRozzLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamaiCentral, Guest Relations Manager at Damai Central, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review! It is indeed the peak hour from around 4.30pm to 7pm in the evening by the beach at Damai Central. We value your opinions and we aim to provide more activities at night in the near future. Among a few to look forward for are Movie nights and also Arcade. You may stay updated with our events and progresses on Facebook. With more development to come, we are eager to enhance the lighting and ambiance for our guests at night as well. We look forward to providing you an improved experience at Damai Central upon your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A bit deserted”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Spent a few good hours there- great place to do a little shopping and get a bite to eat. However, feels rather strange and out in the middle of nowhere, mostly deserted other than weekends probably. But you will find all that you need there- including a wifi cafe (if you don't mind sugary drinks), a bar that serves decent food (but not much choice for vegetarians) and a Chinese Restaurant, a food court (good food, if you don't mind the flies), travel agent (which has discounted tickets for the Sarawak Cultural Village next door). There's also a nice beach with the sea calm and great to swim in.
Scored it 4 as it is a great escape from the resorts and can get cheaper food and drinks there. It probably serves the local community quite well- especially since the resorts staff accommodation is right next to it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank S_A_Wills09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Nothing Much, Should Come Early for Sunset”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I arrived Damai Central after dinner at the near by seafood restaurant about 7:30pm, nothing much there, very quiet, only few shops, few restaurants and a food court that served local food. At night not much scenery to see, very dark even the sea is pitch dark. We are able to have drink at Escobar and enjoyed the live band performance (not big, only 2 singers).

My friend advise the best time is to be there is about 4pm, able to wait and see the beautiful sunset and have dinner next to the sea.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Damai Central also viewed

 

Been to Damai Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing